We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd time around not as good as the 1st”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Certificate of Excellence
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“2nd time around not as good as the 1st”
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We have just gotten back from another Apalachicola trip, again staying at the Water Street Hotel. While we still enjoyed it, things were just not up to our expectations after staying there a year ago. The staff wasn't as personable, we had to contact them each day about something missing from our breakfast basket or some housekeeping issue. The yogurt they supplied in the breakfast basket was out of date, until we pointed it out to them and got some in date.

When you're paying top dollar, I just expect more. I was surprised at how high the rates were, considering the place was practically empty.

Does it mean I won't go back? Certainly not. But, I will adjust my expectations.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RKD909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WSHM, General Manager at Water Street Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Dear RKD909,

We are very sorry that you were disappointed in your stay with us! At the Water Street Hotel and Marina, we always expect a flawless guest experience for all of our guests’ stays. I wanted to take an opportunity to respond to your Trip Advisor report from your recent holiday vacation.

Our staff is basically the folks we had during your trip last year. I am sorry that they did not seem as personable as your last visit. Our staff and management take pride in treating all of guests as if you were guests in our own homes. It is our policy to call all the rooms on a daily basis to make sure all of our guests’ needs are met. It is unfortunate that your issues were not brought to our attention during these calls and that you found it necessary to contact us each day. We make these calls to our guests in order to provide us with an opportunity to correct any problems and to find solutions for your concerns, before it is necessary to call us.
In your Trip Advisor report, you stated that the yogurt we supplied in the breakfast basket was out of date, until you pointed it out to us and got some in date. I apologize for the oversight of the yogurts being out of date. We discovered that our purveyor had sent an out of date case and the case had to be returned to our supplier. Unfortunately, a few items were delivered to rooms. Normally, a “sell by” or “use date” is not indicative that a product cannot be safely consumed. However, it is not our normal business practice to place items for our guests outside of the stamped date on the product. We apologize for this minor incident, but this type of incident should not have adversely affected your stay.
Our rates vary throughout the year. Like most hotels, our rates are a little higher during designated holidays, such as your stay during the Christmas holiday. While you were surprised at how high the rates were, “considering the place was practically empty”, looks can be deceiving because during your stay our occupancy was actually at a high rate. That is the beauty of our property because when we are busy it does not appear to our guest as if we are.

Though we can't undo what has been done, we are confident that these issues will not be repeated. We do not want our guests to “adjust their expectations” in our hotel, we have high expectations in our ability to serve our guests and strive daily to maintain excellence results. We do appreciate your remarks on Trip Advisor and we hope to see you again soon!

For further assistance with this matter and future reservations, you may contact Leigh Coble, Operations Manager, (850) 653-3700 or email: Leigh@waterstreethotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    64
    23
    14
    10
See reviews for
90
205
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Great new place, try to be upscale in a tiny town. I only have one issue, for the price they should consider food service. The concierge was nice. Expect a call from a realator offering a "tour", but 2thumbs up, wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiloMWatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Well, OK, location, property, views, comfort, all great. But special kudos to front office staff, especially Nedra, top notch. From your suites, you can watch birds, boats and all kinds of activity. We can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: They are all good, but we like an upper floor.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FlyingHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Severn, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We just returned from a mini getaway to Apalachicola. We went for the Seafood Festival but the best part was this hotel. Spotless, separate bedroom, living room/kitchen and screened deck overlooking the river. We had to drag ourselves away to go into town.
Lots of restaurants, we had a lovely lunch at The Owl Cafe(good food, reasonable prices)and wandered through the shops. Older buildings, very pretty. It reminded us of Key West but much less hectic.
We parked our car upon arrival and didn't move it until we left for home. We'll be back for sure!
The prices are higher for the festival.....

Room Tip: I think all rooms have a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank butlertreehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This is a lovely quiet all-suites hotel right on the water. Each room has a screened veranda from which guests can relax and watch the marshes and river beyond. Our room had a large living area/kitchen combined with a flat screen tv, desk and couch and chairs. Our bedroom also had a tv. The second bedroom had a day bed but there are two full baths as well as a washer/dryer combo.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grandall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange Beach, Alabama
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I booked this property based on Trip Advisor's reviews. What a great place to enjoy some get-away time! Very quiet, well maintained, all the amenities of home. Our rental was a 1 bedroom unit with a bonus room. Very spacious, beautifully decorated. We felt right at home from the moment we arrived. We were greeted by the famous Nedra. Had some issues with the televison (my fault), she came immediately and got the issue resolved.Great place to take your pets. Can't say enough nice things about this place. Book here, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Ga
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed for seafood festival at Waterstreet marina. Nice clean floating dock. Power and water available. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Located down the creek so calm and not much boat traffic. Great marina.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank FishinFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
0.5 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
8.8 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#2 of 2 in St. George Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
19.7 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coombs House Inn
Coombs House Inn
#1 of 3 in Apalachicola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Water Street Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water Street Hotel & Marina

Property: Water Street Hotel & Marina
Address: 329 Water St, Apalachicola, FL 32320-1427
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Water Street Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thirty NEW upscale condominiums with all the services of a hotel! The minute you step onto the grounds, you'll lose track of everything but the beautiful natural wetlands and the lazy Apalachicola River. If you enjoy solitude, you'll enjoy this. One and two bedroom, two bath condos feature a living-dining area with fully equipped kitchen, stainless steel appliances, washer-dryer, flat screen cable TVs, high speed internet, private screened veranda overlooking the river, outdoor pool and daily maid service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Water Street Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water Street Hotel And Marina
Water Street Hotel Marina
Water Street Apalachicola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing