We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I could live there.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

The pictures on the website don't do this place justice. I literally teared up with emotion upon entering the room - huge and beautiful. There are a couple of restaurants within walking distance but I would have ordered in if the hotel offeredthat; that's how much I wanted to stay in the room. It had two beautiful bathrooms, a nice kitchen, and a washer/dryer which we made use of - so convenient to throw a load in when coming back from the beach. Also loved the pool. We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliet Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

Beautiful property - condos on the waterway with boat slips. Most have 2 beds. They have a pool and hot tub. Nice screened porches for sitting out. Full kitchens. Nicely decorated. Could have been a bit cleaner. Just a matter of the maid not taking her time. They are very convenient however and newer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy32413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I surprised my boyfriend for his birthday with a trip to Apalachicola- neither of us had ever been there. We loved the Water Street Hotel. It's a tiny town, so you're within walking distance of everything, but the location on the river is perfect. The suites are huge and comfortable, each one with two bathrooms. Water pressure isn't great, but that's not the hotel's fault.

The full kitchen was great for us- we cooked breakfast each morning and enjoyed it on the awesome porch. The bed is comfortable, with nice linens. My only small complaint was that the A/C was really loud, but it definitely kept us cool.

Nedra at the front desk was super friendly and helpful. We enjoyed chatting with her as we had our complimentary glass of wine in the lobby. We'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

There aren't too many places to stay in Apalachicola. This year we decided to "upgrade" and stay here. We had a 2 bedroom (king and bunks). King was covered in pillows and very comfy. It was just gorgeous. APT size washer and dryer! Great news for beach-goers so bring a little detergent. There was a commercial grade coffee maker, filters and all of the utensils, etc. in the kitchen. The A/C was top-notch! There is a very pretty pool that is bordered by the back wooded area. The front of the hotel faces the river. There are sailboats and very large, nice boats docked. A couple of kids fished from the dock. We saw 2 alligators swimming right next to the docks. The marsh is beautiful and every room has a screened in balcony. Try to get the top floor if possible for the best view. If you are on the first floor, you'll probably just see the boats docked. Negatives: "Armenian? Ants". We were warned about them and told to keep everything edible in the fridge which we did. I saw some in the bathroom. These are kind or like "sugar ants" as they call them down south. Yes it was a first to see them in a hotel, but it is in a very wooded, moist area. Anyway, it wasn't a big deal, but I wouldn't even leave anything on the balcony (cooler, cups, etc.). We did have one blanket on one bunk with a big yellow stain at the bottom. To me it looked like a chemical stain, but they should check those blankets and remove them. I didn't say anything to mgmt. so I can't really say much more! The bunks need extra blankets.They gave us complimentary muffins on the first day (4), then 2 on the second and one on the third. It was like they were weaning us! The last "negative" were the towels. They participate in the water/energy conservation program where you put towels on the floor only if you want replacements. On the second day, I put 2 wash cloths and the bath mat in a pile. I got a bath mat and a hand towel (I already had 3) in return. I really needed the washcloths. Details do need to be watched. If you are there in warm weather, bring your bug spray for the mosquitoes- esp. for the pool and for walking to the restaurants/downtown. They'll jump on you quick! It was just such a nice place. I would love to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelin64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

Nice place and location for restaurants. Just messed up the small things. No toilet paper in one bathroom and a very small amount in the other. We had to ask for sheets and ant spray. Yes, ant spray. Lots of ants! Bathroom floor and the outside deck were bad. We put our cooler on the table on the deck and in under an hour it was covered. Evelyn was very friendly and helped as much as possible. We will try one more time. A 20$ discount was offered and accepted.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CorpsmanUSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My husband and I traveled the coast end of Dec. and beginning of Jan. Stopped in Apalachicola
stayed here and loved the town and hotel. Every morning we watched the dolphins from our screened in porch. Very satisfied!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vamcana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Trip Advisor has always provided the best guide to me as far as places to go and places to stay - I traveled solo to South Africa and info provided was spot on. I am compelled to talk about what occurred on my recent stay at the Water Street Hotel and Marina because of how my experience was handled by the general manager. My friends (who have worked in tourism for years) and I decided to take a week-end getaway "off the beaten path" We were warmly greeted by Nedra - very pleasant. She called after we had checked in to find out if we were OK. We said we were, but that was before we discovered the bed linen with body fluids and dirty stained coffee cups. Absolutely disgusting! I reported this to the general manager and asked her to "have someone from house keeping take care of it" She did come up to the room and quickly removed the evidence we had already photographed. Her way of apology was making an excuse for why the staff may not have noticed the stains and dirty linen. Quite shocking really. She clearly did not pass this information on to her team as upon check out I had to restate my dissatisfaction with what had occurred. Evelyn the lady who checked us out was clearly embarrassed when we showed her the pictures we had taken and offered us a discount on our stay. We have travelled the world, we have stayed in some of the best hotels and some that were just OK and so we are aware that there will be good experiences and unfortunate ones such as this, however the way issues are handled speaks volumes about the staff and the general culture of the place. The idea of the place is great, very peaceful by the water, however due to our experience I'm not comfortable recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank PortAntonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WSHM, Guest Relations Manager at Water Street Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

The Staff at the Water Street Hotel regrets when a Guest is not completely satisfied during their stay. Whenever a Guest reports a problem, we do our best to correct the situation as soon as possible. In this case, our General Manager acted promptly. She determined that housekeeping overlooked what appeared to be a beverage stain, such as coffee or cola, on the folded duvet coverlet. The duvet was immediately removed and replaced. The General Manager also had the coffee stained coffee cups replaced immediately. We regret any inconvenience that this caused our Guest. As our prior Trip Advisor reviews indicate, all of our Staff at the Water Street Hotel & Marina strives to provide excellent service to all of our Guests. We are sorry that this Guest was dissatisfied with their visit and would hope that it would not hinder their next visit to Apalachicola or the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
0.5 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
398 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
610 reviews
8.8 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#1 of 2 in St. George Island
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
282 reviews
8.9 mi away
Buccaneer Inn
Buccaneer Inn
#2 of 2 in St. George Island
230 reviews
19.7 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Water Street Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water Street Hotel & Marina

Address: 329 Water St, Apalachicola, FL 32320-1427
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Price Range: £93 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Water Street Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thirty NEW upscale condominiums with all the services of a hotel! The minute you step onto the grounds, you'll lose track of everything but the beautiful natural wetlands and the lazy Apalachicola River. If you enjoy solitude, you'll enjoy this. One and two bedroom, two bath condos feature a living-dining area with fully equipped kitchen, stainless steel appliances, washer-dryer, flat screen cable TVs, high speed internet, private screened veranda overlooking the river, outdoor pool and daily maid service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Water Street Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water Street Hotel And Marina
Water Street Hotel Marina
Water Street Apalachicola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing