We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We had a 1 bedroom king suite with 2 full bathrooms.. Very roomy unit with nice furniture. It had a living room, full kitchen, washer/dryer, dishwasher, 2TVs. The 2nd floor has nice views. The very large screened in porch was great, with nice patio furniture. It was nice to find a basket with muffins, fruit & yogurt for breakfast, as well as coffee. Plenty of cookware if you eat in. One of tHe best places we have stayed that was very reasonably priced. Hope they keep up the good work because this place is a 'Gem'.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank verjim28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

Upon check-in (our second visit here) the skinny long haired brunette chastised us for making our reservation through hotels.com (Expedia). She was very ugly about this and would only give us a room on the first floor, because she said she saved the better rooms for people booking directly through them. The next day she chastised me again for not booking directly. If they don't treat paying customers equally both the Inn and hotels.com should terminate their relationship. She has a horrible customer service attitude. Soured the whole trip for us. The room, with a kitchen and two baths was nice. However, if you provide a kitchen, they need to provide proper equipment too. Only one large plate, no wineglasses, nor a baking sheet just for starters. I would still stay here, DEMAND IN WRITING a second or preferably third floor room. Check the kitchen promptly and request any missing items immediately so you won't be surprised when you try to make biscuits the next morning. The location is great. Take the river tour from the Maritime Museum and go to Up The Creek for oysters, as well as The Owl Taproom for great unusual beers and bar type snacks/food. The other front desk staff, Evelyn, was delightful.

Room Tip: Third floor...insist on it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ndestin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WSHM, Public Relations Manager at Water Street Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

We do apologize for any miscommunications and we are sorry that you perceived you were being “chastised” by our General Manager’s response to your questions. In smaller boutique and unique hotels, such as the Water Street Hotel, guests cannot “DEMAND IN WRITING a second or preferably third floor room” as you recommend. We do our best to honor guests` requests for a particular room or floor, but since we have many room configurations, our reservations are based upon room type. In your case, your reservation was for a two bedroom suite with a King and a Daybed (twin). Of our 30 rooms, we only have 8 rooms that are King with Daybeds, 3 on the first floor, 2 on the second floor and 3 on the third floor. During your stay, one of our long term guests was occupying one of these rooms on the third floor. This is a very popular room configuration. However, many guests will take any configuration, such as a Queen with Bunk beds, to try to get a 2nd or 3rd floor room. However, this dialog with the guest for special requests is normally done at the time of the reservation so that notes can be added to the reservation. When guests who make their reservations off our web page or through other electronic reservation systems, such as Expedia, these systems do not allow for flexibility or special requests or notes when making reservations. It is our policy to never guarantee a specific room or floor. This is strictly a business decision because many situations can occur, such as a current guest extends their stay or the unit may need a repair. We release 8 rooms to Expedia, only 2 of which are the King with Daybeds configurations. Unfortunately, during your stay we were unable to provide you with a different floor due to other reservations. However, based upon the information you provided indicated that by you booking through Expedia you benefitted on a special deal. We are also sorry for the few kitchen items missing from your unit. Once you brought this to our attention we did our best to correct the situation immediately. As you can see by our many reviews, we strive to maintain excellent customer service and wish all of our guests a pleasant stay, we are sorry that you were displeased.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My Fiancé, my Mother and I were traveling from Ft Myers to Pensacola, Fl. My Mom had never been to Apalachicola so we thought that it'd be great to show her the town. We happened to fall upon The Water Street Inn.
We cannot say enough wonderful things about our experience!
The location was perfect. The room was gorgeous. We got a two bedroom suite with a full waterfront lanai, and mostly the staff was outstanding!
Nedra was working the front desk and recommended us this particular room. She was so warm, inviting, and helpful that it made our experience even more wonderful!! She offered us a glass of wine in the lobby where we visited for quite some time!! I would highly recommend staying at this hotel again and look forward to our next road trip through Apalachicola!!

Room Tip: The two bedroom suite has two full bathrooms attached to each room. Also it has a full kitchen, dini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The physical plant was very nice, well kept & spacious. Enjoyed having the big boats right out our door. Good visit until check-out. I misunderstood the price when I reserved the place, so it was a shock to find that they were actually charging me 4 times their usual price!! I expected it to be doubled because of the festival, but not quadrupled. tried to talk to the manager, but she said that's just something they do on special w'ends w/o even an apology. I won't return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moe112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WSHM, Public Relations Manager at Water Street Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

We are sorry that you misunderstood about the rate during our 50th Annual Florida Seafood Festival. It is not unusual for hotel rates to reflect a much higher rate for special events, such as a sporting event, concerts, conventions, etc. We start receiving reservations for our special weekend a year in advance. We realize you are disappointed about the rate, but you were sent an email confirmation when you made the reservation which indicated the dates and the rate. Additionally, when you checked in, the rate was indicated on the registration card you signed. We are sorry that you expected an apology from our General Manager, but we disclosed all information before your arrival, upon your arrival and during your check out. Our rates for that weekend were available on our web page, the person taking your reservation indicated the rate and you were sent an email confirmation. As you can see by our many reviews, we strive to maintain excellent customer service and wish all of our guests a pleasant stay, we are sorry that you were displeased with our Seafood Festival rates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Accommodations exceeded our expectations. We had a large suite of rooms AND the hotel is pet friendly. The walk to town is short, and for such a small town, there are ample restaurants from which to choose. The hotel is located on a large canal, and sitting on the screened patio is heavenly - so serene.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FJebram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This was a wonderful weekend getaway for us. There was a mix - up with our reservation at another hotel and we switched very late at night to the Water Street Hotel. We could not have been happier with our decision. From the moment we checked in (very flustered and upset), we felt completely taken care of by the staff. Nedra was so calming and helpful that first night. She helped us pick the perfect room (first floor for our autistic teenager). We had plenty of space and spent a lot of time relaxing on the screen porch watching the boats go by. Everything (including the Running the Bay race) was close by. We just had a fantastic time and would return in an instant.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Disneyprofmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed here in August 2013. The hotel was very clean with large rooms. We had a full kitchen and a wonderful view of the boats passing by. Apalachicola is a safe, pretty town. We parked once and walked all over town. The restaurants and shopping were very good. It was a perfect stop for two nights. They've done a nice job restoring the town. Very relaxing weekend!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank USAROADTRIPPERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
0.5 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
389 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
597 reviews
8.8 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#1 of 2 in St. George Island
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
279 reviews
19.7 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
281 reviews
8.9 mi away
Buccaneer Inn
Buccaneer Inn
#2 of 2 in St. George Island
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Water Street Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water Street Hotel & Marina

Address: 329 Water St, Apalachicola, FL 32320-1427
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Price Range: £101 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Water Street Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thirty NEW upscale condominiums with all the services of a hotel! The minute you step onto the grounds, you'll lose track of everything but the beautiful natural wetlands and the lazy Apalachicola River. If you enjoy solitude, you'll enjoy this. One and two bedroom, two bath condos feature a living-dining area with fully equipped kitchen, stainless steel appliances, washer-dryer, flat screen cable TVs, high speed internet, private screened veranda overlooking the river, outdoor pool and daily maid service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Water Street Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water Street Hotel And Marina
Water Street Hotel Marina
Water Street Apalachicola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing