We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem at the end of the street”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I was stopping in Apalachicola to photograph some of the old buildings and to sample one of my favorite things - oysters. I was told there really was few choices in the way of places to stay. I found this hotel on the internet and thought the prices were low and though I wondered what I was going to find, I booked it. For $100 I had two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a sitting room, a kitchen, a screened porch overlooking the river. There was hardwood floors and an island for the kitchen. I was on the first floor and a view of the marina. This room was nicely furnished and very clean. The desk person was helpful and courteous, offering suggestions for dining since a number of restaurants were closed. This is a gem at the end of Water street. Now don't think that means you are way out of town, you are only 3 blocks from other businesses - easy walking distance and across the street from the public parking lot.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ldyhumbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (392)
There are newer reviews for Water Street Hotel & Marina
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

Delightful checking in staff who were very helpful. We paid about $100 for a suite consisting of 2 bedrooms, we only used one, large sitting room with kitchenette, balcony overlooking wetlands and estuary views. Wildlife and just perfectly quiet. we stayed there beginning December 2013. Just great value and a lovely place to stop on a road trip.

Room Tip: Breakfast consists of muffins, yogurt and fruit salad in fridge in kitchenette. But you could always...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Superpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The hotel is in a beautiful location. We had a first floor king suite with a lovely view from the screened in porch- watching the boats go up & down the river. The desk staff very friendly. There was wine being served when we checked in. The suite was very clean and nicely furnished. We enjoyed eating at Tamara's. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Relaxing place with great views! The room was very large and the screened in porch was our favorite part. Several restaurants very close. The staff was friendly and the room had all the amenities! The parking worked well for us with a trailer. The town was such a comfortable place to be, with such friendly people! The food in the restaurants was all good! We will definitely put this on our list of places to stay again!!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the first floor to look out over the Marina.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamelaT702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We had a 1 bedroom king suite with 2 full bathrooms.. Very roomy unit with nice furniture. It had a living room, full kitchen, washer/dryer, dishwasher, 2TVs. The 2nd floor has nice views. The very large screened in porch was great, with nice patio furniture. It was nice to find a basket with muffins, fruit & yogurt for breakfast, as well as coffee. Plenty of cookware if you eat in. One of tHe best places we have stayed that was very reasonably priced. Hope they keep up the good work because this place is a 'Gem'.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank verjim28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Upon check-in (our second visit here) the skinny long haired brunette chastised us for making our reservation through hotels.com (Expedia). She was very ugly about this and would only give us a room on the first floor, because she said she saved the better rooms for people booking directly through them. The next day she chastised me again for not booking directly. If they don't treat paying customers equally both the Inn and hotels.com should terminate their relationship. She has a horrible customer service attitude. Soured the whole trip for us. The room, with a kitchen and two baths was nice. However, if you provide a kitchen, they need to provide proper equipment too. Only one large plate, no wineglasses, nor a baking sheet just for starters. I would still stay here, DEMAND IN WRITING a second or preferably third floor room. Check the kitchen promptly and request any missing items immediately so you won't be surprised when you try to make biscuits the next morning. The location is great. Take the river tour from the Maritime Museum and go to Up The Creek for oysters, as well as The Owl Taproom for great unusual beers and bar type snacks/food. The other front desk staff, Evelyn, was delightful.

Room Tip: Third floor...insist on it
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ndestin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WSHM, Public Relations Manager at Water Street Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

We do apologize for any miscommunications and we are sorry that you perceived you were being “chastised” by our General Manager’s response to your questions. In smaller boutique and unique hotels, such as the Water Street Hotel, guests cannot “DEMAND IN WRITING a second or preferably third floor room” as you recommend. We do our best to honor guests` requests for a particular room or floor, but since we have many room configurations, our reservations are based upon room type. In your case, your reservation was for a two bedroom suite with a King and a Daybed (twin). Of our 30 rooms, we only have 8 rooms that are King with Daybeds, 3 on the first floor, 2 on the second floor and 3 on the third floor. During your stay, one of our long term guests was occupying one of these rooms on the third floor. This is a very popular room configuration. However, many guests will take any configuration, such as a Queen with Bunk beds, to try to get a 2nd or 3rd floor room. However, this dialog with the guest for special requests is normally done at the time of the reservation so that notes can be added to the reservation. When guests who make their reservations off our web page or through other electronic reservation systems, such as Expedia, these systems do not allow for flexibility or special requests or notes when making reservations. It is our policy to never guarantee a specific room or floor. This is strictly a business decision because many situations can occur, such as a current guest extends their stay or the unit may need a repair. We release 8 rooms to Expedia, only 2 of which are the King with Daybeds configurations. Unfortunately, during your stay we were unable to provide you with a different floor due to other reservations. However, based upon the information you provided indicated that by you booking through Expedia you benefitted on a special deal. We are also sorry for the few kitchen items missing from your unit. Once you brought this to our attention we did our best to correct the situation immediately. As you can see by our many reviews, we strive to maintain excellent customer service and wish all of our guests a pleasant stay, we are sorry that you were displeased.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My Fiancé, my Mother and I were traveling from Ft Myers to Pensacola, Fl. My Mom had never been to Apalachicola so we thought that it'd be great to show her the town. We happened to fall upon The Water Street Inn.
We cannot say enough wonderful things about our experience!
The location was perfect. The room was gorgeous. We got a two bedroom suite with a full waterfront lanai, and mostly the staff was outstanding!
Nedra was working the front desk and recommended us this particular room. She was so warm, inviting, and helpful that it made our experience even more wonderful!! She offered us a glass of wine in the lobby where we visited for quite some time!! I would highly recommend staying at this hotel again and look forward to our next road trip through Apalachicola!!

Room Tip: The two bedroom suite has two full bathrooms attached to each room. Also it has a full kitchen, dini...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
0.5 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
383 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
593 reviews
8.8 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#1 of 2 in St. George Island
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
277 reviews
19.7 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
281 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coombs House Inn
Coombs House Inn
#1 of 3 in Apalachicola
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Water Street Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water Street Hotel & Marina

Address: 329 Water St, Apalachicola, FL 32320-1427
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Price Range: £87 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Water Street Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thirty NEW upscale condominiums with all the services of a hotel! The minute you step onto the grounds, you'll lose track of everything but the beautiful natural wetlands and the lazy Apalachicola River. If you enjoy solitude, you'll enjoy this. One and two bedroom, two bath condos feature a living-dining area with fully equipped kitchen, stainless steel appliances, washer-dryer, flat screen cable TVs, high speed internet, private screened veranda overlooking the river, outdoor pool and daily maid service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Water Street Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water Street Hotel And Marina
Water Street Hotel Marina
Water Street Apalachicola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing