We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Kept Secret”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
LaSalle, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Kept Secret”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This hotel is fantastic. We walked into our King Room, to find that it's not just a room and bathroom, it's a condo: bedroom, two full baths, living room and full kitchen! Super clean. Really nice furniture, bed is very comfortable. Living room has a great flat screen tv. Definitely stay here for your next visit. Incredible price! This is like a high end hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boneman52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    65
    24
    15
    10
See reviews for
92
211
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Delightful and modern well-furnished apartment with balcony overlooking the marina and waterfront. The full kitchen and daily cleaning were features not often found in suite/apartment hotel properties. Staff were friendly and helpful. Cable was out for several hours because of overall outage in Mediacom's service area, which locals seem accustomed to. We loved this first class hotel in this historic marine town on Florida's Forgotten Coast!

Room Tip: All units have marina views
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kjcram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

I was very impressed and will stay anytime I am I'm the area. The "room" was a one bedroom, two bath, full kitchen with a living room and changing room and a huge screened balcony. The location was great too--on the water and close to town but just far enough away to stay nice and quiet.

As far as the front desk staff, a very friendly woman checked is in quickly and politely. We came to paddle the area and as she was a kayaker, she gave us tips as to where to go and what to expect at different areas. Wonderful.

We will be back and will modify our yearly trip to the gulf to allow more time at Water Street Inn.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hdvk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Review for Water Street Hotel and Marina


We stayed in Apalachicola for seven nights the beginning of December 2013, this is the off season for them and things were relatively quiet in town. We read the reviews and decided on the Water Street Hotel mostly because it’s newer. I called the hotel and requested a third floor room based on another review. The girl on the phone explained they would take the request but because there are three floors with many different configurations and they assigned rooms on the morning of your arrival by availability. Then my cell phone dropped the call so I booked on their website which had a box for requests.
The hotel was easy to find it’s sort of out on the edge of town but within easy walking distance. We got our third floor room and the view was a delight. Behind the hotel is what they call the Apalach River but you can’t much tell the difference from the miles of grass and water behind the hotel. Shrimp and fishing boats cruise quietly past the back of the hotel at different times depending on the tide.
Our room was a king with daybed. The daybed didn’t mean much but it was nice to have the second bathroom.
I would have to say the high point for this hotel is the staff. We found everyone who works there to be more than pleasant and efficient, even the brunette mentioned in another review (who it turns out is the general manager). Each night Nedra would call about 7:30 and ask if everything was alright. The rooms are set up sort of like condos with kitchens but you get daily housekeeping. Dawn was the lady who cleaned our room and she was a whiz, she zipped through the room and was gone before you knew it. Each morning they delivered a basket with muffins, yogurt and fruit cocktail to the room and there was coffee supplied that you could make.
We highly recommend this hotel it was quiet, very clean and kind of unique.
While in town we ate at Boss Oysters, Carolines, Tamaras, Café Con Leche and the Tapas Bar but those are separate reviews.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dicar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This is a superbly situated and well equipped hotel looking out over the water where you can watch the shrimp boats returning with their catch. Sadly, the A/C did not function well and nor did the WiFi (although it was free). The staff are willing but not good at getting things fixed. Plenty of interesting shops and restaurants in walking distance inn a charming, if rather dilapidated small town.

Room Tip: get one overlooking the river, but away from the Reception office - noisy corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Beautiful place to stay. We stayed in a two bedroom (King beds in each) that overlooked Apalachicola Bay. The entire "condo" is beautifully decorated and there is a large, screened in porch that opens off of the main living area and one of the bedrooms. The kitchen is beautiful with granite countertops. The staff brings in a breakfast basket with muffins, yogurt and fruit each morning. The staff is attentive to your needs. It is such a peaceful, wonderful place to visit that we make at least one trip to this hotel each year.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apalachicola, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We happened upon this place by accident as we met one of its employees while in Apalach walking around town. She suggested we dock our boat with them and as any good employee would do, bragged on its facilities. Although it is billed as Hotel and Marina, it should read Hotel and Dock. There is no pump out, laundry or fuel but there is 30-50 AMP electric and water at each slip. In spite of the typical services missing, it was a great place to spend our CHristmas this year while waiting on weather to proceed south.

We received our BoatUS discount at $1.35/ft (including electric & water) and decided to stay longer waiting on weather window so got another discounted rate of $7/ft monthly rate pro-rated for the less than month time period we were there.

There is a deep water channel and easy access to its nice floating concrete docks with plenty of berth for even the widest-beamed boats. There is a stationary bricked patio in the dock area with a charcoal grill & picnic table. Although there is only one bathroom/shower it is very large and has good water pressure. While there is no fuel, it is easy to get fueled at Apalachicola Marina which is at the entry to channel about 1/8 mile from the hotel then travel up the channel to Water Street docks. The scenery was lovely outside our cockpit with a view of the tall water grasses bordering the ICW.

An advantage to this spot was easy walk to all Apalach (as the locals call it) historic downtown. Great shopping, Tupelo Honey, gifts, home goods, post office, grocery, ice, coffee shop, beachwear stores and best of all..... FRESH OFF THE BOAT shrimp, scallops & oysters at Mile 13 Seafood Market.

The front desk personnel were very nice and accommodating. They made us feel very welcome and we will certainly stay here again. We highly recommend Water Street Hotel & Marina.

Room Tip: overlooking water is best view; other option is overlooking pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
0.5 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
377 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
587 reviews
8.8 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#1 of 2 in St. George Island
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
272 reviews
19.7 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
278 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coombs House Inn
Coombs House Inn
#1 of 3 in Apalachicola
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Water Street Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water Street Hotel & Marina

Property: Water Street Hotel & Marina
Address: 329 Water St, Apalachicola, FL 32320-1427
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Water Street Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thirty NEW upscale condominiums with all the services of a hotel! The minute you step onto the grounds, you'll lose track of everything but the beautiful natural wetlands and the lazy Apalachicola River. If you enjoy solitude, you'll enjoy this. One and two bedroom, two bath condos feature a living-dining area with fully equipped kitchen, stainless steel appliances, washer-dryer, flat screen cable TVs, high speed internet, private screened veranda overlooking the river, outdoor pool and daily maid service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Water Street Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water Street Hotel And Marina
Water Street Hotel Marina
Water Street Apalachicola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing