We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant experience”
Review of Gibson Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gibson Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2012

On a recent visit to Apalachicola, I stayed at this hotel. It is a charmingly restored early-20th. century hotel, with a cosy lobby and bar, and a wonderful wrap-around verandah. The owners have done a nice job in up-dating the hotel without sacrificing its nostalgic charm. The regular rooms are a bit small, but the suites are great, and the location (easy walking distance from the shops and restaurants of this charming little town) cannot be beat. I would stay here again if I were to revisit the area.

Room Tip: Splurge and pick a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeeSyracuse_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2012

The Gibson Inn is an old-timey hotel that has been renovated-- like a previous reviewer said, it's like riding in a time machine. The rooms are well-maintained and clean, the service is great, and having a drink in a rocking chair on the porch there is the definition of laid-back. The bar there is said to be a good time, but we never went in there. My only complaint is that the wi-fi is a little sketchy, but no problem really because 3G service in Apalach is fine.

Looking forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fairlane63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Took the long way to get from Pensacola to Orlando and spent a saturday night in Apalachicola and stayed at the Gibson Inn. Wanted to get away from the spring break crowd, T-Shirt shops, and condos. Found the place in Apalachicola. As soon as I arrived, I knew I found it.

Gibson Inn was perfect. You feel like you went back in time 100 years while sitting on the porch and enjoying an adult beverage in the evening or your coffee in the morning.

The staff is very gracious and helpful.

Walked around downtown until dark. The most relaxing place I have visited in a long time.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hsmuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Stopped by this inn for an overnight stay on our way through town. Based on a review on this site, did not make a reservation (a bit of a risk, but it's off-season). We did get a lower rate than what is advertised. The front desk clerk was very nice & let us look at two rooms, a queen and a king, and allowed us to choose.
We selected the king size room on the third floor as it was a bit larger, and the bathroom was much larger with a claw-foot tub (great way to relax after spending hours on the road).
The house is over 105 years old and has it's share of creaks and a distinct smell (like my grandmother's house). It is conveniently located and within walking distance of shops, restaurants and the water. The inn has a great wrap-around porch. While we were sitting on the rocking chairs enjoying a glass of wine, the locals would stop and chat with us asking about where we were from and offering recommendations of what to see and do.
Great place to spend a day or two to just relax and enjoy the area.

Room Tip: Not sure what the rooms were like on first & second floor, but thinking with the creaks in the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenrainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

I like this hotel. Room was clean, a little small, but it did the job. Bed was comfortable. Wasn't too crazy about walking 3fls to our room. Other than that, everyone was friendly and we enjoyed our stay. Cool place.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BilrusandFriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

The good (this is the five-star portion of my review) ...

Nice old hotel in the center of town near shops and restaurants. The bar was charmingly old. The porch that surrounds three sides of the hotel is littered with Adirondack chairs and rocking chairs which make it just about perfect. We enjoyed a glass of wine at sunset on the porch before wandering through town to find a restaurant.

The hotel rooms and bathrooms are very clean and very nice, especially considered the age of the building.

The staff was most accommodating and friendly.

There is an adequate, but very basic, continental breakfast of muffins and coffee cake.

The not-so-good (this is the one-star portion)...

We paid too much by making a reservation. While hanging out in the lobby, I heard the desk clerk quoting rates over the phone that were $20-30 less than we paid. She confirmed that the hotel provides lower rates to walk-ins than to those who make reservations, and she could do nothing to change our rate.

The restaurant is closed. According to the desk clerk, "Our chef took his Katrina money and went to San Diego." Not sure what that means, but the restaurant is definitely closed.

Wi-fi hardly works. We had zero signal in our room and an intermittent signal on the porch.

Room Tip: Do not make a reservation. According to the bartender, peak season is in June and July. Surprise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

My bf and I went to the Gibson Inn for the Murder Mystery Weekend! Overall, we were very pleased with our stay. Upon check in, we noticed that the toilet in our room was not clean, but after a call to the front desk, someone came immediately to clean it. Our room was clean and we had no issues with it. Our room was right at the top of the stairs ont he 2nd floor, so we heard people coming up and down all night long. The noise was worse in the bathroom, but not too terrible when we were in bed.

As for the Murder Mystery Weekend, I did feel it was lacking a little for the price we paid. The actors were amazing. Food at dinner was alright, nothing spectacular. Breakfast was normal hotel breakfast food of pancakes, bacon or sausage. My boyfriend and I were the youngest people at the Inn (early 30s). The town is very quaint and had some interesting shops. It was a great getaway!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMM1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
0.5 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
396 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
594 reviews
8.4 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#1 of 2 in St. George Island
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
279 reviews
20.1 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
281 reviews
8.4 mi away
Buccaneer Inn
Buccaneer Inn
#2 of 2 in St. George Island
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gibson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gibson Inn

Address: 51 Avenue C, Apalachicola, FL 32320-2306
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Price Range: £102 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gibson Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gibson Inn is a fine example of Florida "Cracker" Architecture. This was the style of wood frame structure used widely in the 19th and early 20th century in Florida. These homes and businesses are characterized by metal roofs, raised floors, high ceilings, center hallways, and large wrap around porches. A widows walk and cupola crown the tin roof, all a reflection of the area's steamboat past. Built in 1907 of native heart pine and black cypress, the inn soon became known as a first class luxury hotel and was the only one between Pensacola and Jacksonville heated entirely by steam. Now listed on the National Historic Register of Historic Places. Many of the 30 guest rooms are uniquely appointed with authentic antique furnishings, cable TV, telephone, and wireless internet. Each guest room has its own full private bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Gibson Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gibson Hotel Apalachicola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing