We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place and Staff”
Review of Gibson Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gibson Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Place and Staff”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

My family and I were scheduled to spend a week on St. George Island. The week was to conclude with the wedding of my son at our rental property.
Tropical Storm Debby got in the way and really messed things up for us. We called on the Gibson Inn to come to our rescue and they did a great job. Sharon and PJ at the front desk did a wonderful job of juggling rooms for several different families during the week. The staff was great to us and they really helped with the two pets we had with us.
I cannot say enough good things about the hotel, the staff and our stay. It is a slower pace, but really enjoyable. The Gibson Inn saved us and made it a great week for all.
We finally had the wedding ceremony on the beach and came back to the Inn for a great reception and dinner after the wedding. The staff was great in all respects.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    109
    29
    21
    18
See reviews for
42
215
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Love this place! Friendly and comfy. Our room had a wonderful slipper tub and they gave me bath gel to use, I picked my scent!. The atmosphere here makes you want to sit back and enjoy the porch. We even ran into an old friend traveling threw from Everglades city back to Michigan City.
How fun is that! I asked the best time to visit of the staff and they say the weekend of Thanksgiving is the best time, for the locals, Its a fun atmosphere and everyone is gearing up for the holiday. I plan to go back then.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swellstylew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

The Gibson Inn, located in the heart of beautiful Apalachicola, Florida embodies Southern Hospitality at it's finest. The dedicated staff do their absolute best to create a laid-back, relaxing environment reminiscent of days gone by. Our experience began at check in with PJ, who, after a warm welcome, shared a few recommendations on places to dine and shop. Later on, after settling in, we went down to the front desk for ice, where she not only filled our ice bucket, but offered us a couple of chilled glasses for our beer. After a quick trip to the beautiful, secluded beaches of St. George Island State Park (less than 15 minutes from the inn) my partner and I found ourselves in need of extra towels. As soon as we stepped out of our room, we met Tammy, who gladly provided us with a full set of towels and hand towels, and asked sincerely if there was anything else we needed. After relaxing for a while, we went down to the bar where Betsy mixed the finest Melonito I've ever had, withI fresh mint picked from the garden of the inn, it was absolutely mouth-watering. Finally, on our last morning there, check out was a breeze with Sue, the General Manager of the inn, who insisted that we bring our four-legged travel companions by the "doggie drive-thru" for a barrage of treats. The excellent service provided by the staff of the inn perfectly complemented the charming atmosphere set within the Gibson Inn, my partner and I felt almost like family. :) Our two nights there were the pinnacle of our vacation and we can't wait to go back. A big thanks to PJ, Tammy, Betsy, and Sue for an experience we won't soon forget.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BillyH214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Frankly I have nothingto add to the other reviwes They are entirely accurate We stayed there for a couple of nights on our way to Dog Island, which is just off Apalachicola The Court House [normally the centre of any small American Town ] is quite an imposing building just over the road and worth a short visit Watch out for the Restaurant sign about 100 ydsup the street [see photo ]

Room Tip: The ones to the rear have perhaps less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 290825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We stayed at the Gibson Inn for two nights while visiting Apalachicola and the beaches of St. George island. The historic hotel with the wrap-around porch and the restored interiors and rooms exudes the charm of the early twentieth century. Next to the lobby is a small watering-hole for the evening which doubles as the breakfast area. The rooms are a touch small, but clean and with indirect porch access.
Apalachicola has a number of good restaurants and is the center of the Florida Oyster industry, so it is worth staying for a night or two. A few historical bulidings along the waterfront have been refurbished into restaurants and shops.
The Gibson Inn is well worth a second look. Recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GermanyNeedtotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful 4 day weekend at the Gibson Inn. The location was great located close to the bridge and being able to sit on the beautiful porches and watch everyone pass by, or just relax in the shade and meet other guests. The staff was fantastic, friendly and made us feel at home. We had never been to the area and were impressed by the condition and cleanliness of the outside and inside of the hotel. The rooms were quaint and charming, furnished with antique and transitional decor. The bar was easily accessable and always staffed by friendly bartenders. We rented a golf cart next door and took in all the local attractions, which were just within blocks of the hotel, which you could easily walk to as well. Our daughter, who was in a wedding on St. George Island stayed at another hotel close to ours and was happy to move to the Gibson for her last night in town, she said it was "night and day" compared to the staff and charm of the other hotel and wished she had been with us the entire time! We highly recommend the Gibson Inn to anyone looking for a wonderful staff to make you feel like you are welcome and appreciated. Thanks to Sue and everyone for putting up with our crew!

Room Tip: We styed in room 205 and were extremely pleased, it was to the side street and not noisy at all, to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Preston B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, NY
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

On a recent visit to Apalachicola, I stayed at this hotel. It is a charmingly restored early-20th. century hotel, with a cosy lobby and bar, and a wonderful wrap-around verandah. The owners have done a nice job in up-dating the hotel without sacrificing its nostalgic charm. The regular rooms are a bit small, but the suites are great, and the location (easy walking distance from the shops and restaurants of this charming little town) cannot be beat. I would stay here again if I were to revisit the area.

Room Tip: Splurge and pick a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeeSyracuse_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
8.4 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#1 of 2 in St. George Island
187 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
583 reviews
0.5 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
268 reviews
20.1 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coombs House Inn
Coombs House Inn
#1 of 3 in Apalachicola
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gibson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gibson Inn

Property: Gibson Inn
Address: 51 Avenue C, Apalachicola, FL 32320-2306
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gibson Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gibson Inn is a fine example of Florida "Cracker" Architecture. This was the style of wood frame structure used widely in the 19th and early 20th century in Florida. These homes and businesses are characterized by metal roofs, raised floors, high ceilings, center hallways, and large wrap around porches. A widows walk and cupola crown the tin roof, all a reflection of the area's steamboat past. Built in 1907 of native heart pine and black cypress, the inn soon became known as a first class luxury hotel and was the only one between Pensacola and Jacksonville heated entirely by steam. Now listed on the National Historic Register of Historic Places. Many of the 30 guest rooms are uniquely appointed with authentic antique furnishings, cable TV, telephone, and wireless internet. Each guest room has its own full private bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Gibson Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gibson Hotel Apalachicola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing