We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic, charming and oh so friendly”
Review of Gibson Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gibson Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Certificate of Excellence
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
115 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Historic, charming and oh so friendly”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Wonderful staff greeted us as this historic hotel for a nice visit during July 4 weekend. The room was comfortable, well maintained and true to the historic character of the building. The bar was lively and a favorite gathering spot for guests and locals. We had a wonderful dinner at the restaurant which I understand is under the direction of a new chef. This is a special piece of Florida history and highly recommended if you want a historic and human touch which is a pleasant departure from most contemporary hotels today. Pull up a rocking chair on the veranda and meet a new friend.

Room Tip: Check out your room in advance online. Corner rooms offer great views, either of the downtown or ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thestogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    106
    28
    21
    18
See reviews for
41
210
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

This is a very neat charming B&B on the national historic register. Even though it is old it has all the modern consciences. There are only / rooms on the bottom floor so it was nice to be able to get one of those. Otherwise you will have to climb the stairs. I was afraid I was going to get hot but with the window unit in our room I got cold. It was very clean and the price was less expensive then I thought it was going to be. It is also within easy walking distance to the resturants by the river. A neat and charming downtown area as well.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We were trying to find a quick place to stay halfway on our way to New Orleans. We just stumbled onto Apalachicola and absolutely fell in love with this town. The Inn was so charming and extremely friendly employees. We loved how pet friendly the Inn was as well as the whole town. Would definitely come back and refer many people. also, don't forget to try the amazing oysters!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gogm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Relax on the veranda, walk to the many terrific restaurants nearby, cocktails on the deck....a great stay! We had room 309, corner room on top floor with view to the water...by the busy street side but that did not bother us (as long as you don't mind the stairs). A delightful place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arkarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dearborn, Michigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We've been to the Gibson Inn before and also to the much more modern Waterstreet Inn Condo and also older-style Coombs House B & B.
Though Waterstreet can be proud of the modern amenities, we really enjoyed staying at the Gibson Inn. We thought Coombs house was a bit oversold. Gibson Inn is old, of course, but for us that is part of the charm. It's very clean and and nicely decorated. The room was not that large, but the bathroom was well updated. I probably wouldn't choose a room on the 3rd floor again--no elevator and no one to help with bags-so be aware if you have health limitations. ( I knew it was on the 3rd floor ahead of time) It's wonderful to sit on the wrap around porch at the end of the day sipping a nice glass of wine. We were within short walking distance of the shops and restaurants-very convenient and more atmosphere than staying out of town. The bar is friendly-we ate a few meals there just because we didn't feel like being more formal. Gibson has a new chef who is wonderful! The meals were delicious.

Breakfast is a bit bare bones-the chef makes wonderful breakfast breads, but the menu was heavy into carbs-doughnuts, etc.There were yogurt cups, fruit and cheese sticks; some hard-boiled eggs would be nice so a protein breakfast could be pieced together.
And just one suggestion-most places have in-room coffee pots so you can have that first cup of coffee in your pajamas. Gibson Inn only provides coffee downstairs-I'm not whining, but it would be lovely and fairly easy to set up a tray on each floor with an insulated pot and coffee fixings.
In short, we enjoyed our stay--the room was comfortable, the Inn has lots of character, people were friendly and the restaurant was great. We would choose the Gibson Inn again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nelzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Gibson is a charming old hotel and we love to stay in them - but they do come with some tradeoffs. Our room was on the 2nd floor and the person above us paced and moved furniture around all night - (must have been coming down off something!) so we had a hard time sleeping - suggest you ask for the top floor - if you can carry your luggage up the stairs.

Staff was friendly and sitting out on the veranda having a glass of wine was delightful. We loved the town and all of the history (be sure to ck out the cemetery). And oysters were pretty good - not as good since the BP oil spill and the whole area is trying to recover from that - will be a couple of years before the oysters come back - hopefully. We drove down specifically for the oysters since Apalachicola is known for some of the best in the world. We actually had Texas (gasp) oysters in some places in Florida – shame.

Room Tip: ask for top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hankhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia Island, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Historic, modernized inn with character that fits this lovely little town. Big wrap-around porch with rocking chairs, cozy bar, attentive staff (who responded quickly to my need to keep some medication refrigerated). Room on second floor wasn't large but was adequate. A bit noisy during the day but fine at night. Not for you if you require a lot of amenities or a modern feel. (Hot and cold water taps were separate.) But Apalachacola isn't a modern town, and a hotel like that just wouldn't fit with the ambiance. We knew in advance that there weren't any elevators, so we packed small bags with just enough items for the one night we were staying. That way, we weren't dragging our bigger suitcases up the relatively steep stairs. We didn't eat at the inn's restaurant, although the menu looked good. Complimentary breakfast was quite skimpy so we opted for a cafe in town.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DGammel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
8.4 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#1 of 2 in St. George Island
186 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
570 reviews
0.5 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
262 reviews
20.1 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coombs House Inn
Coombs House Inn
#1 of 3 in Apalachicola
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gibson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gibson Inn

Property: Gibson Inn
Address: 51 Avenue C, Apalachicola, FL 32320-2306
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gibson Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gibson Inn is a fine example of Florida "Cracker" Architecture. This was the style of wood frame structure used widely in the 19th and early 20th century in Florida. These homes and businesses are characterized by metal roofs, raised floors, high ceilings, center hallways, and large wrap around porches. A widows walk and cupola crown the tin roof, all a reflection of the area's steamboat past. Built in 1907 of native heart pine and black cypress, the inn soon became known as a first class luxury hotel and was the only one between Pensacola and Jacksonville heated entirely by steam. Now listed on the National Historic Register of Historic Places. Many of the 30 guest rooms are uniquely appointed with authentic antique furnishings, cable TV, telephone, and wireless internet. Each guest room has its own full private bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, HRS, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gibson Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gibson Hotel Apalachicola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing