We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay anywhere else”
Review of Gibson Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gibson Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have been going to Apalachicola for almost 20 years and always stay at the Gibson Inn and always get the same room. We love the charm of the place, love sitting on the porch after dinner. Woue stay as anywhere else.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Lori L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
There are newer reviews for Gibson Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

Loved a lot of what the Gibson Inn had to offer. The staff was friendly and the room was nice. We did not eat at the bar or the restaraunt but everything else was nice. I do however think some things could be improved. Wifi was awful. It needed to be stronger. Bathrooms are nice but a curved shower curtain rod would make the showers better, and water pressure was low. Would we go back? Yes!

Room Tip: Room 304 was nice a cozy. Thin walls though.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

On a recent road trip we booked in for one night - on arrival the staff were friendly and welcoming. The older pieces of furniture dotted about help retain the charm of this historic bed & breakfast and the lobby genuinely reflects the image of an old country house of the Victorian era.
Our bedroom was not very big (Which cannot be helped due to the age of the hotel and did not cause us any problems). Our bathroom was quite dated and in need of a little maintenance! Amongst other things the shower head was hanging off the wall which we reported to maintenance The free continental breakfast was very basic not the usual and they do not have butter! I would recommend a drink in the bar in the evening as you get to meet some interesting folk, the bar food was good and the Bar lady was lovely. Apalachicola was a wonderful place to visit with its laid back attitude, quaint shops, good restaurants and seaside atmosphere.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BeachyWaves30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The Inn transports one back to a gracious Victorian era. There are beautiful wood finishes, spacious rooms and quality bathrooms. We loved Apalachicola, especially the abundance of oysters and its old world laid back charm. It's unspoiled, we saw dolphins and pelicans in the bay, and enjoyed the museum devoted to Dr John Gorrie who discovered the process of Refridgeration

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Miranda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This was our tenth year staying at the Gibson Inn. My favorite thing about it is the vibe. It's not fancy but it's got amazing Victorian sea-town character. This place is laid back in an authentic way that reflects the old-Florida culture of the town itself. The innkeeper Sharon is a total pro and so nice. The housekeeping staff is super, duper great - the rooms are sparkling clean (not easy to do with 100+year-old rooms) and they are so helpful. The Inn is supposedly haunted by a sea captain that died on the third floor. Ask a housekeeper to show you the room if it's empty. Their star bartender, the multi-talented Betsy (local author, jewelry artisan and darned fine cocktail-maker) will tell you some stories about Apalach - she wrote a book on it! Her dry martini is perfect and my boyfriend loves her Gibson Breeze (their special tropical cocktail). There are a few rooms that are dog-friendly (with exterior entrances) and the staff is *super* dog-friendly. Dogs can stop by the "doggy drive-through" window on the first floor patio for a treat. Some of the rooms have been recently renovated but we like any room with a window at the Gibson (take a look at the floor plan on the website to choose your perfect room). We love to barnstorm down from Nashville for two or three nights, sit on the second floor wraparound porch in a rocker, drink cocktails and watch Apalach go by. Great restaurants and waterfront in easy walking distance. St. George Island is a beautiful beach about a 15-minute drive. The Inn has beach towels, kept in baskets in the hallway, for you to borrow. Gibson Inn, we will daydream of a quick return. Thank you for keeping it real.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have been recently renovated but we like any room with a window at the Gibson (tak...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Maggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

A very nice room with a four poster bed in a funky town in the panhandle. It was somewhat expensive.Traveling alone, the romantic aspects of the room were wasted on me. There are some good restaurants in town. Spent the night there and explored the town the next morning. Lots of history there from when cotton was king.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank iosilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

My boyfriend and I decided to "get away" for the week. He'd already stayed at the Gibson Inn but it was my first time. The hotel itself maintains a dreamy, bedroom community that's traditional and timeless. I have to mention Kimberly who went above and beyond expectations in every way from making sure all our needs were met to even helping me carry our luggage and toys (including a surf board, guitar, fishing rods, archery set, and six or so shopping bags???). You can say we like to really get our money's worth;)

In any event, I would recommend this hotel to anyone so long as they are not looking for your typical Holiday Inn. And to management - I would highly recommend considering a pay raise to Kimberly should they want to retain exceptional talent, professionalism, and customer service. Oh, and housekeeping did an excellent job, too. Plus they were so nice! In fact the only staff I never saw was management...interesting. I guess it's a good thing they have such a great staff!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Courtney T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
0.5 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
392 reviews
8.4 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#1 of 2 in St. George Island
190 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
277 reviews
20.1 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coombs House Inn
Coombs House Inn
#1 of 3 in Apalachicola
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gibson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gibson Inn

Address: 51 Avenue C, Apalachicola, FL 32320-2306
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Price Range: £101 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gibson Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gibson Inn is a fine example of Florida "Cracker" Architecture. This was the style of wood frame structure used widely in the 19th and early 20th century in Florida. These homes and businesses are characterized by metal roofs, raised floors, high ceilings, center hallways, and large wrap around porches. A widows walk and cupola crown the tin roof, all a reflection of the area's steamboat past. Built in 1907 of native heart pine and black cypress, the inn soon became known as a first class luxury hotel and was the only one between Pensacola and Jacksonville heated entirely by steam. Now listed on the National Historic Register of Historic Places. Many of the 30 guest rooms are uniquely appointed with authentic antique furnishings, cable TV, telephone, and wireless internet. Each guest room has its own full private bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Gibson Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gibson Hotel Apalachicola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing