We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't go wrong!”
Review of Kelly Park

Kelly Park
Ranked #3 of 21 things to do in Apopka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Camp among deer and otter after you tube the river.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong!”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Love kelly park! For $5 for the whole car and less than an hours drive from orlando you can't go wrong even if you just go for a couple of hours! It's a great way to have a break from the 'touristy' orlando and the parks! Also great if you like wildlife...I've been twice now and seen a handful of wildlife including turtles and deer coming to the river for water. Such a peaceful place! Make sure you take water shoes, your own rings and a picnic!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Megan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    75
    17
    5
    16
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Park, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful Day at the quiet park”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Debated about going today with our 10 & 13 year old grandchildren. The weather was overcast with chance of rain and the temp was only 68. But we went, it's Spring Break. We had so much fun and stayed in the 68 degree water the entire time going back and forth in the springs, even walking back against the current. The cost was $5.00 for the 4 of us, we stayed about 3 hours. This is a place I have wonderful memories from my childhood growing up in Central Florida. Now owned by the State it is well kept and able to me enjoyed in this very natural setting.When leaving the kids asked when we would be returning.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank FloripaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Camping with family and friends”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The park is absolutely beautiful. The campsites are set up with fire rings and picnic tables are set up on concrete slabs. The springs are amazing, cold but refreshing. The grounds and restrooms are well maintained. Wildlife is abundant. Be sure to bring your own firewood or you will have to pay for it and what you get isn't worth the price. We brought our own tubes so no tube rental was needed but there are plenty of rental places outside the park.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Margie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
161 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Close-by, but bring your own tube”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The springs of Florida are pretty close to as awesome as it gets. There are only a few problems they have.

One is that you have to bring your own flotation device. This can be yourself, or it can be something external to yourself (tube, perhaps?). At Kelly Park, there are not one, but two places that rent tubes just down the road. The problem is that you have to rent the tubes before you get there. Don't forget to do so, because unlike other springs that are right next to the parking lot, once you get to the water, it's a bit of a pain to go back and do so.

Two is that since it's so close to population, it can get crowded. Other springs are not exactly far away, but they aren't that close either. Kelly Park is almost like a mall in the suburbs, in that it's where everyone goes to spend the afternoon, so it can be packed.

Three is that because it's not as secluded - in fact, there is a river connecting easily to the pool that forms the springs proper at the "park" - you might find yourself facing more wildlife than at other parks. Now most springs are not really cordoned off or anything. But due to the river, and due to the fact that some take this river to approach the springs, you could see yourself reflected in the gaze of a gator. Enjoy.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jayseae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apopka, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
703 reviews
419 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Great hiking”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Living close to Kelly Park is great. We go to the park 2 or 3 times a week for hiking. Perfect trails and we use the trail that is 2 3/4 mi. So small hills make the hike moderate and we often will see a deer.

One of the stops is by the river and we have seen a few very large gators. You can take an inner tube ride from the spring down to the (beach) swimming area. No fear of gators because the hustle around the swimming keeps the gators away.

There is a cheap entrance fee. We pay $3 for 2 of us but a car load is $4. They have pavillions and charcoal grills so make it a picnic for sure or just go and relax.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank thesteevesgroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kelly Park also viewed

 

Been to Kelly Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing