We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time on the river” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of King's Landing

King's Landing
Ranked #6 of 20 things to do in Apopka
Certificate of Excellence
Longwood, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great time on the river”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

I highly recommend Kings Landing for anyone interested in canoeing or kayaking in central Florida. The staff are friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The river (Rock Springs Run) is just spectacular with abundant wildlife. The 8.5-mile long float trip takes about 4 - 5 hrs, so be prepared for an upper body workout. Just floating with the current will take a little longer. It's an easy river (no whitewater), but it does have the occasional downed tree that requires a bit of skill to maneuver around. Overall, it's a great time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    12
    2
    3
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful Amazon-like river!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

The place is so beautiful that we came twice during our trip to Orlando, we tried the kayak and the canoe, and we had a blast! This river is full of life (turtles, aligators, river rays, beautiful bugs, ... We heard even bears and monkeys if you're lucky!)

There is a place where you can jump in the water from a swing rope, it's great fun too!

Daniel is a very nice fellow, he warmly welcomed us and helped us get into the kayaks, and gave good tips for a pleasant ride.

This place is really awesome and we highly recommend it!!

Thank you so much Daniel!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Maud112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Great fun, but you'll need some experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

I will say the trip was fun and exciting. You get to see many birds, deer, and gators. On our trip we got to see some bears. The scenery was fantastic and our end wait was short. About fifteen minutes, allowing for an excellent picnic.

However, I will say this is probably not a very good family activity. Some maneuvers require better coordination and strength just to get around trees that might have fallen or such. In our group we had two individuals who go kayaking maybe once every year or so. And two that have never gone kayaking. We finished the trip in 3 hours, despite our skill level. We would have spent longer if we could, but we had arrived later in the day and didn't have much time (arrived around 12:30).

The way isn't very well marked necessarily, but common sense and following the most obvious path gets you through. The safety briefing at the beginning could have been more thorough and the employee more clear on where we would be picked up, but overall it turned out okay. Like I said, stick to what is obvious and use some common sense, and you should be good to go. If possible, getting the small pamphlet that says the way to go and the pickup point at the beginning of the trip would be helpful.

Overall, it was a very enjoyable experience and was a great addition to our vacation. With a few modifications to the instruction of the trip, or some research before, the kayaking self guided tour can be a brilliant experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ktbug915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Such a beautiful place, it is my new favorite day!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We went to King's Landing, accidentally, and found that it was an amazing find. We went on a day that was very quiet and my boyfriend, sister, and myself found ourselves experiencing the most peaceful and beautiful kayaking that i have done yet!!! We didnt run into alligators, but I am from Florida and didnt need to :-) Special thank you to A.J for showing us a wonderful time!!! We look forward to our next visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Audra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best Canoe Trip in Florida”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

I grew up in Central Florida and have canoed and kayaked down the Rock Springs run for 50 years. This is without a doubt one of the best canoe trips you could ever take. You will see old Florida like it was before our state became populated. First a little about the river and the trip. You will leave from Kings Landing and you may paddle as far or as little as you like. First timers may find it more comfortable to just go downstream for an hour and then head back, swimming at one of the many swimming holes. Remember it is easier going downstream than returning upstream. For those more adventurous take the trip from Kings Landing to Wekiwa Island. It's about 8 miles, all downstream and will take you probably 3 to 5 hours depending on your abilities and the time you take to eat, swim, explore ect. When you reach the end you pull up to the Kings Landing ramp and they come and pick you up and take you back to your car that is parked at the beginning of your trip. While on the trip you will see alligators, turtles, fish, deer and a variety of birds and other wildlife. There are alligators in this river but I have never heard of them bothering anyone, just watch them from afar and don't bother them and you will be fine. The staff of Kings Landing tries to keep the river clear but from time to time their may be a difficult part of the river to negotiate due to a tree that may have fallen. Use common sense and you will be fine and have a memorable trip. Bring water and snacks and maybe a lunch to enjoy at one of the many spots on the river.
Now for the facility and staff review of Kings Landing. The facilities are rustic but clean and the staff is very friendly. They have a little store where you can purchase some snacks if you forgot to bring them. They will teach you how to paddle if you have not done it and make sure everyone has a floatation device. They will also give you river directions although all you have to do is keep going down river and you will find the takeout point at Wekiwa Island. All in all this is a trip to not to be missed if you are a visitor or resident. Leave the theme parks and see a little real Florida. Oh, the cost is a very reasonable $25 per canoe and includes your pickup and return trip at the end. Try it !!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank billmc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed King's Landing also viewed

 

Been to King's Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing