We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay Away!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peace River Campground

Peace River Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arcadia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Peace River Campground
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stay Away!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

My husband and I were looking for a place to camp by the Peace River and hunt for sharks teeth the next morning. We pulled into the Peace River campground thinking it might be nice. If you enjoy ridiculous prices, drinking, ATVs running right by your tent, noisy neighbors, and absolutely no natural beauty, then this is the perfect place for you! We were shocked that they intended to charge us $30/night for a PRIMITIVE campsite. Access to running water was quite a distance from the campsite and only port-a-potties for restrooms. They also informed us that they were the only place to camp in the area and the nearest campground was in Naples... at least 60 miles away. THIS WAS A LIE!!! We high-tailed it out of there. After stopping at the nearby canoe outpost, we learned that you can camp for only $10/night right on the river at a local county park. We decided to park our vehicle at the park and kayak to a campsite along the river. It was beautiful, serene, and isolated... 100x better than anything the Peace River Campground offered.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else, this place is terrible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank OverStreetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    13
    5
    9
    21
See reviews for
30
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

My family went to PRC the week BEFORE 4th of July and it was empty! After our trip, I heard that this place is always packed but this was the perfect time to be there. There were about 10 other campers there and we were spaced out perfectly. We took an RV so we didn't have a bunch of 4-wheelers driving around our site near our stuff. We were close enough to the bathrooms, which were decent. Our dog pee'd on a blanket so we used the washer/dryer near the bathroom and all worked well. Good place to take the kids.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Live_Love_Beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

This is at least our 6th or 7th time at Peace River Campground. A few years back we use to go with friends and rent a primitive site...tents and sleeping bags. That sort of thing. Now however, we meet up with a family member who has and RV and lots of toys (golf carts, ATVs, motorcycles, etc). We had a great time... visited over Labor weekend. My only complaint for this trip was how crowed it was - but I can't hold that against PRC, after all it was Labor Day weekend. My one recommendation would be to never go to PRC and rent a primitive site. The ATVers and motorcycle riders have taken over that part of the grounds. People ride hard and FAST from sunrise to sunset. While me and my group had a great time on all our toys, I can't imagine that the people we (and everyone else) were zooming by in tents enjoyed it as much.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjbenitez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2010

My grandson and I looked forward to a tenting experience on the Peace River when we booked a fossil dig nearby. But the owners of this property rent four-wheelers to anybody old enough to drive one, and drive they do - all over the property. From 8:00 a.m. till 8:00 p.m. you hear nothing but the noise from those vehicles, which have also torn up the landscape into barren ruts. And the one port-a-potty near our tent site was grossly over-full and stank to the heavens. We couldn't break camp fast enough in the morning. We'd never go back.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sbemley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2010

This campground is a money hungry bunch. When your local friends have to pay $10.00 per person to visit you for a couple of hours you can forget seeing them. My son paid this fee to get in the campgrounds to visit friends for 2 hours. We reccommended the campground because it was close to us. However, we will not recommend them again because we are not paying a camping fee to visit. I will reccommend the Brownsville Park next time.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
11 Thank sanfije
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arcadia
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Arcadia
22.5 mi away
The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
#2 of 7 in Punta Gorda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
20.0 mi away
Peace River RV & Camping Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Knights Inn Arcadia
Knights Inn Arcadia
#2 of 3 in Arcadia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
2.0 mi away
Oak Park Inn
Oak Park Inn
#1 of 3 in Arcadia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peace River Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace River Campground

Property: Peace River Campground
Address: 2998 NW Highway 70, Arcadia, FL 34266-5439
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Arcadia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Arcadia
Number of rooms: 182
Also Known As:
Peace River Campground Hotel Arcadia
Peace River Campground Arcadia, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing