We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Terrific Ride” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Johns River Tours, Inc. - Day Tours

St. Johns River Tours, Inc. - Day Tours
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Astor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Depart from historic Astor, Florida at the Blackwater Inn for a leisure boat tour to the many tributaries of the St. Johns River. Where you will experience exotic plant and wildlife steeped in history dating back to ancient Indian and Spanish civilizations. On your St. Johns River eco tour you will experience a variety of wildlife, alligators, bald eagles, manatees, and plant life, air plants, ferns and large cypress trees.
Ocala,Florida, U.s.
Level Contributor
123 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A Terrific Ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We went with several of our friends, and I really did not know what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of this tour. We had Captain Josh, who was amusing and very knowledgeable about the area's history and the wildlife. We saw an abundance of birds, turtles, gators, and osprey. The tour lasted a full 2 hours and was worth every cent. This is a wonderful way to see the "Old Florida", and a great place to bring visitors. You will not be disappointed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LynneOcala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    17
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

A great excursion for those who enjoy seeing wildlife. We were hoping to see some manatees today, but no luck. However we did see many alligators, turtles, and many different types of birds. Captain Josh was very informative about the wildlife as well as the history of the area, which my group found very interesting. Our son, who is 7 years old, really enjoyed the boat trip as well. It's great for him to see the wildlife in their natural habitat, rather than at a zoo. We found this excursion to be well worth the price.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank FlamJambie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astor, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

A very scenic and informative trip along the St. Johns River. Captains know all about the area. See tons of wildlife.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank 258Russell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caledonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great boat tour to see manatees and gators”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

This is an awesome boat tour to see manatees and gators. We saw 5-6 manatees and many gators of all sizes up close. The captain Josh was very informative and knowledgable of the river and the wildlife we saw. Many birds were seen also. We went as a family and thought it was a great value and a great memory for our family.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank cathy0128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Capt. Chris was very informative. We had a great time. We seen quite a bit of wild life, which as anyone knows is unpredictable. The tour was just long enough to see and enjoy all that nature had to offer. Price was reasonable too. We would do it again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank IndianapolisSprky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. Johns River Tours, Inc. - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to St. Johns River Tours, Inc. - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing