We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Beautiful lobby. Definitely not worth the money.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
One Ocean Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Ludlow, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location. Beautiful lobby. Definitely not worth the money.”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The people were friendly. The spa was awesome! The handcrafted cocktails delish. But what a disappointment in the room! First, we could not shut the bathroom door - the frame was visibly dented. Not that big of a deal but definitely inconvenient. We quickly discovered the "one touch" phone service for the "resort amenities" did not work for all 3 days we were staying at the hotel! Again, inconvenient as we had to call via our cell phone, until checkout. Then, even the main # would work. And no one seemed to care! We brought this issue up every day of our stay but the staff was very nonchalant. They could care less. Thus, the resort fee was a total waste. No coffee, valet or bellhop service from our hotel phone. My key did not work despite going to get a new one. Again, just inconvenient. What was unforgivable in my opinion, was the fact that our in room alarm clock went off in the middle of the night. We just wanted a good nights sleep and the idea that the maids did not check the alarm clock prove there was no attention to detail. This is my biggest pet peeve in any hotel.why do they never check the alarm? Way too pricey for this colossal mistake. View was of parking lot - a little ocean (different than what I expected from the hotel description.) they need to get focused on all the details - they have the potential of being a nice hotel. Charge more for the location of the hotel but don't charge us as a resort if you can't provide the service.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SileshiMengiste, General Manager at One Ocean Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Suzi H, thank you for taking the time to bring your concerns regarding your One Ocean experience to our attention. We place high value on the feedback of our guests and assure you that the matters you have addressed will be looked into. We apologize for the disruption you experienced due to your alarm clock, and will discuss with our housekeeping associates to ensure this does not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    640
    230
    100
    39
    47
See reviews for
230
417
51
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

A lovely resort hotel right on the beach. Public areas are beautifully decorated, and the service level is outstanding. There is a resort fee that gets you wifi, room snacks, turn down service, and omnipresent service staff. Valet parking is $20 a night, but the room fee we got was a good value.

Azurea, the in house restaurant was fantastic - and I've reviewed that separately. The hotel bar has a humidor if you need a cigar, and there are tons of eating choices only blocks away.

We also rented bikes for an extended ride - although there ate cheaper options nearby.

We will return here. We lived it and the whole surrounding area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank the_gambles10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SileshiMengiste, General Manager at One Ocean Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you, the_gambles10, for taking the time to share the details of your One Ocean Resort & Spa experience with us. We are glad that you were able to enjoy a meal at Azurea and a bike ride through Atlantic Beach - we are fortunate to be located in such a picturesque town. We hope you will choose to stay with us again when your travels bring you back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oviedo, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We sent this letter to One Ocean and thought we should share with everyone.

I would like to thank the entire Staff at One Ocean Resort for the most relaxing two days I have had in several years.

Recently my wife and I drove up from Orlando for a Birthday celebration with her mother. We decided to stay on the beach during our visit and try the Azurea for her birthday dinner.

From the time we stepped foot into the resort we were greeted by friendly and attentive staff. The room was exactly as advertised (spacious, luxurious, and with a great view of Atlantic Beach). When we went down to dinner we were again amazed by the attentiveness and courtesy of the staff. The head of the team that provided the meal for us was Shawn. Shawn proved to be a most knowledgeable and insightful host. We chose the Five Course Culinary Journey, which indeed turned out to be a journey. During the meal Chef Phillip came out to greet us and ensure all was to our liking. The meal was far and above the best meal I have enjoyed with the duck being our favorite course. Our Mother was attended to as if she were royalty with all of the members of your team wishing her a happy birthday at various times throughout the evening. Chef Phillip returned at the end of the meal and presented a signed menu along with warm birthday wishes from everyone. This meant the world to my wife, her Mother had recently lost her husband and this was her first birthday as a widow.

I did not think after dinner I could be more impressed, however; I was proven wrong. The next morning we had breakfast on the lanai. Once again the staff went above and beyond to ensure our every need (wish) was met expeditiously and with a smile.

In closing I would like to say thank you once again for the outstanding service we received this weekend.

Mr. and Mrs. Tod Zellers

Room Tip: Instead of reserving a room online, call the resort. They will make sure all of your wishes are com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HavingFunAt50Plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SileshiMengiste, General Manager at One Ocean Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Kimberly Z, your letter means a great deal to us. Our guests' feedback is of the upmost importance to us, and we want to thank you for taking the time to share yours with us. We are delighted to hear that you and your family had a relaxing stay at One Ocean Resort & Spa, and that we were able to make the special occasion as memorable as possible. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Atlantic Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We went for business meetings, but they made our stay so much better than a lot of meetings. The hotel is gorgeous. Seamless check-in when you get out of your car. Right to the room! We had a docent who took good care of us throughout our trip. The room was beautiful. Had turndown each night with soft lighting upon our return after dinner. Whatever you need, they can provide and without delay. The food was outstanding! Restaurant was very reasonably priced which was a surprise. I've stayed in a number of upscale hotels and their charge of $18 to $20 for a bowl of oatmeal will have you choking on it! This hotel charged me $8!!!! And it was wonderful. Instead of a continental breakfast for our 50+ group before our business meeting, we had a full breakfast buffet brought in. It was awesome! We will absolutely come back here for a weekend to just sit back and enjoy ourselves. A very hidden gem at the beach. Oh, and nice location with a lot of great restaurants and shops within walking distance of the hotel. I'm talking not even a block! Quiet, well maintained and a staff that goes out of their way to make everyone's trip the best it can be. I'm so impressed. Oh, and the $25 resort fee isn't really too terrible since everything in the snack bar in the room is included. Enjoy the Snickers bar among other things! Just exceptional place to stay.

Room Tip: Most any room has a view of the ocean, even if you're not oceanfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SileshiMengiste, General Manager at One Ocean Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear pfdb, thank you for your kind words about One Ocean Resort & Spa. We are happy to hear that you had a five-star experience while staying at One Ocean for your business meetings. We look forward to seeing you again when you return to One Ocean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greer, SC
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Not your typical run-down beach hotel....this is a beautiful place that really stands out in the mass of beach-front hotels in Jacksonville, Fl. My husband is down here quite a bit for business and always tries to find a nice hotel in a great location so I'm not stranded while he's working. Within walking distance to great eclectic shops & restaurants, an immaculate beach, lovely pool with high end comfy poolside lounge, a beautiful blue fountain outside that just glows at night, .and that's all before you even step foot inside! Massive castle-like wood doors open to an elaborate cream marble lobby with tasteful furniture balanced between art-deco and comfort. A winding staircase takes you up to their spa...sadly under renovation during our trip (I swear, my husband planned it this way!)...wish we had been told this prior to our stay ;-(.

But nonetheless, the rooms, although slightly on the small side for us, are beautifully decorated. The king-size bed is truly heavenly! Egyptian cotton? If not, it sure feels like it, and you drown in a sea of wonderful down pillows...you can never have enough pillows! Wish we had a balcony, that was a bit disappoint, as well as having a window that does not open....but they obviously have had enough comments on this, as the in-room alarm clock also has a built-in sound machine, properly set to "ocean waves" when you arrive ;-)

There is a daily $25 resort fee, but this covers free entrance to a well-stocked gym, pool, and a decent size refrigerator in the room that is stocked with beverages. We asked for no sodas but only healthy ones instead, and we were brought bottle water and several juices: orange, apple, and cranberry as well as a basket of fresh fruit. The drawer above the fridge is full of snacks and replenished daily...again, all included in the daily fee. The concierge service is ink used as well, need a recommendation for a restaurant, they can help and will make reservations for you. Need a shirt or pants ironed, they have steam/press service...again all included.

The entry to the bar downstairs...lets just say it will make you stop and want pictures taken there, as we've seen several couples do...it's just beautiful and unusual. The bar is well-stocked and the bartenders very personable. My husband invited a client to join us for dinner at their signature restaurant last night, Azurea. Had to write a separate review for the restaurant alone, in one word, it's spectacular! Pricey, but well worth it, probably the best meal I've had in some time. The rack of lamb was amazing, as was the sea bass. The client was told by co-workers to stay down the street at the local Marriott but after seeing Ocean One and having dinner & drinks here, he said he's a changed man ;-) and will be sure to pass the word to other travelers in his company who travel here frequently.

Room Tip: Don't really think there's is a bad room! The higher up you are, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SileshiMengiste, General Manager at One Ocean Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you, Dawn A, for taking the time to share with us your glowing review of One Ocean Resort & Spa. We are glad that you and your husband had a relaxing stay - it sounds like you were able to enjoy so much of what our resort has to offer. We apologize for the inconvenience of our closed spa, and hope you will choose to enjoy a treatment during your next stay. We hope to see you {and your husband's client} when your travels bring you back to Atlantic Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a pleasant surprise. Located in a quiet town the restaurants and stores make the feeling of being in Key West. There are happy hours at most places. The hotel staff is extremely friendly and helpful. There is a $25 daily resort fee which seems like a lot but it includes room service of tea and coffee every morning, snacks and drinks in the room and wireless Internet, well worth it. Their bathrobes in the room add a nice touch. The north side of the building had great views in the room. We upgraded one day to Ocean front for $80 extra and it was well worth it to hear the waves and watch the sunrise. Only complaint were all of the neighbors smoking on their balconies. Bathrooms are tiny but rooms are very up to date and luxurious. The restaurant has amazing breakfast. There martini are wonderful. You can enjoy a fire pit and couches around the ocean front view. The woman who runs the pool bar is very attentive. She makes a great drink and is not pushing food on you. The pool chairs are large and comfy. The pool is not big but there is plenty of seating. The spa is beautiful and has amazing views. We will definitely return. This beach was quiet very clean and there are life guards on weekends. There is a charge for beach chaise lounges and a $20 daily parking fee for a car. The spa was closed for floor repair which I wish they would have listed but we had such a great time it didn't bother me.(List it on your website if it is closed for a day. They told us it would be close the following Mon-Thurs too)It opened the second day we were there. This would be a great place for a guys or girls trip. There were only a few kids, not really a kids hotel which was great. We will definitely return in the off season. Their customer service is wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joli07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SileshiMengiste, General Manager at One Ocean Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
We were absolutely delighted to read your review about One Ocean Resort & Spa, Joli07, and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. It looks like you were able to enjoy so much of what our resort has to offer, from Azurea and The Spa at One Ocean to our Docents and One Touch service. Thank you for allowing us to host you - we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Everything was perfect! The car attendant met us with the keys to our room, and had already checked us in to the hotel. This was the kind of service that we experienced our entire 5 day stay at One Ocean. We left a bottle of wine in the car, and within minutes of checking in, the valet brought it up to our room in case we wanted it. We did want it, and he also brought us wine glasses. From that point on, we always had clean wine glasses in the room. My boyfriend's birthday was on our check out day, and upon arrival there was a delicious cheese plate in the room with a Happy Birthday chocolate on it. I did not ask for this, they simple put two and two together, and knew we were celebrating his birthday. Every morning we pressed the One Touch button on the phone, and fresh coffee was delivered within minutes. Staff noticed we opened up a pool umbrella, and they ran out to help us get it opened and in place. You are not bothered by morning housekeeping service in this hotel. They know when you leave, and take care of the room once you are gone. Buttons in your room change the doorbell color to alert staff you want privacy or "make up the room". The hotel is in walking distance to everything we wanted, and the easy beach access makes it a perfect place for vacation. We are already planning our next stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheri k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SileshiMengiste, General Manager at One Ocean Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
cheri k, we first wanted to say thank you for taking the time to write a five-star review of One Ocean Resort & Spa. We constantly strive to provide intuitive, top-notch service for our resort guests, and we are delighted to hear that we were able to make your stay that much better. We hope you will choose to stay at One Ocean again when your travels bring you back to Atlantic Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atlantic Beach
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/Oceanfront
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/O...
#3 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
1,512 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonvil...
#6 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
555 reviews
2.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonville Beachfront
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonv...
#2 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western Oceanfront
Best Western Oceanfront
#4 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
807 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville/Ponte Vedra Beach-Mayo Clinic Area
Hampton Inn Jacksonville/Ponte V...
#1 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
718 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedra Beach
The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedr...
#3 of 4 in Ponte Vedra Beach
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Ocean Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Ocean Resort & Spa

Property: One Ocean Resort & Spa
Address: 1 Ocean Blvd, Atlantic Beach, FL 32233-5262
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Atlantic Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — One Ocean Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Oceanfront splendor with luxury accommodations and intuitive service at our Florida vacation resort. The artful getaway is situated on the sweeping white sands and rolling waves of the Atlantic Ocean in Atlantic Beach, minutes from Jacksonville. Enjoy award-winning cuisine with ocean views at our Azurea Restaurant. Toast to an unforgettable evening with an ocean inspired cocktails, delicious martini or mixed drinks at our Azurea Lounge. Rejuvenate your body and spirit at The Spa at One Ocean. The luxury oceanfront resort luring guests in with its cobblestone streets featuring an eclectic mix of shops, restaurants, art galleries, ice-cream parlors and nightlife options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your One Ocean Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Ocean Resort
One Ocean Hotel Atlantic Beach
One Ocean Atlantic Beach
One Ocean Resort & Spa Atlantic Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing