We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking for the waves”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
One Ocean Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Overall, One Ocean is a really nice hotel but a couple of things kept this from a 5* review. I booked One Ocean because I wanted to hear the waves. If you don't get a balcony room, the windows don't open. I could see them, couldn't hear them. The bathrooms are ridiculously small. I am not that big and had trouble moving around, not sure how a large person would fare or if 2 people tried to be in there at the same time. Valet parking and resort fee are way to much, especially for the value.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SileshiMengiste, General Manager at One Ocean Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Kevin H, thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay at One Ocean Resort & Spa. Thanks to a tremendous renovation from the previous hotel 5 years ago, One Ocean Resort & Spa was created. Because of some limitations with the original structure, several aspects of the resort's layout had to remain as they were, such as our bathroom sizes. We were able to compensate with luxurious features and services such as our One Ocean Docents, personalized amenity cabinets, indulgent toiletries and garment steaming, which are included in the resort fee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,092)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

649 - 655 of 1,092 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

Beautiful hotel, but their rooftop A/C machinery is very annoying. There is a high frequency buzz that penetrates the air for several blocks and bounces off surrounding buildings. Caused my room window to humm - keeping me up most of the night.

Room Tip: When brought to their attention, Management did not seem to care that their hotel was making a high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
6  Thank lou b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SileshiMengiste, General Manager at One Ocean Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Lou b, thank you for voicing your concerns and bringing the A/C issue to our attention. The comfort of our guests is of upmost concern to us, and we will look into this matter to ensure that no other guests are disrupted by this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The minute you pull into the hotel you are greeted with smiling and helpful people. Immediately we were handed our room key and helped with the little bit of luggage that we packed. The room was ready and waiting for us and the views spectacular. Minutes later the concierge introduced herself and asked repeatedly if we needed anything or if she could change anything not to our liking. Everything was wonderful and we enjoyed a cocktail on our balcony watching the waves hit the beautiful beach below. I must repeat that it is worth paying for a balcony room not a room overlooking the beach as the balcony is priceless. We used ours many times a day and the views were always stunning. As soon as we woke up , the first thing we did was to pull back the drapes and look at the ocean. The restaurants and bars around the hotel are all wonderful and all within walking distance. The hotel is not cheap, but you get far more than you pay for. I have never had a resort give me snacks daily and drinks for the resort charge. Usually it is just a charge that is a must when staying at a hotel. They always go far and above what is expected and always with a smile on their faces. This was our second visit and it will not be our last.

Room Tip: spend the money and get a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tracy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SileshiMengiste, General Manager at One Ocean Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear CataldoRiley, thank you for taking the time to write a glowing five-star review of your recent stay at One Ocean Resort & Spa. We always love to hear from return guests and are glad that your second stay with us was both comfortable and memorable. We look forward to your next stay with us when your travels bring you back to Atlantic Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

One Ocean is getting is right with attention to service, rooms and overall vibe. As soon as you pull up to the valets, they are equipped with your room keys to get you checked in immediately. The rooms are on the small side but very well laid out. You realize that with beach views are what it is about and the rooms are fine! They stock the rooms with drinks and munchies without charging you thru the nose, again, a small point but indicates the attention and dedication to the guest. Front desk staff is excellent. They try to think about serving and pleasing you by taking care if everything. If you are going to the beach, this is THE place to stay.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kenneth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SileshiMengiste, General Manager at One Ocean Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you, Kenneth K, for choosing to stay at One Ocean Resort & Spa while visiting Atlantic Beach. From our seamless check-in to tailored amenity cabinets, our associates always strive to deliver intuitive service and provide our guests with all of the comforts they would need. We hope you will chose to stay with us again when you find yourself in the area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

After a long, tedious drive to the Atlantic Beach area, I booked a room here simply because of the reviews on tripadvisor, and this hotel being ON the beach. I hadn't been to this part of Florida before, so I counted on reviews to guide me, and this place did NOT disappoint!

I've stayed in nice hotels before, but this was really an experience. From the valet, to the front desk, to the bartender and attendant to the beach/pool (especially those two! They went way above and beyond!), everyone was friendly, accommodating, and made my friend's and my stay incredible. Not to mention the beauty of the lobby upon entering, all the gorgeousness in the hallways, and the plush carpeting in the hallways to the rooms. Let's also not forget that the room was just beautiful!

We had a partial view room, and the view was beautiful. Just being able to open your curtains, and seeing palm trees overlooking the white, sandy beach, and the waves crashing is more than lovely. The beds were beyond comfy. I've never slept that well in a hotel. The bathroom was on the small side, but the double shower heads more than made up for the size of the room. The spa toiletries were wonderful, as well. The bottled drinks and snacks were also convenient.

Room service was a delicious luxury. Our meals were scrumptious, and our server was very nice, and on the ball. The steak my friend had was absolutely delicious, and my pasta dish was delightful. Top notch!

The only negative, and not a really big issue, was that we had to call for toilet paper and tissues because they weren't refilled by housekeeping, and our towels were replenished but the old ones weren't taken away.

I would most definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: If you can't afford an ocean front room, the partial view is nice, too.q You're on the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SileshiMengiste, General Manager at One Ocean Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Cyn H, we are very glad that you took the time to share the details of your recent stay with us. Our guests' feedback allows us to continue offering the most intuitive service possible. We will be sure to speak with our housekeeping associates to ensure that toiletries are consistently replenished and that all rooms are tidied in accordance with our guidelines. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at One Ocean and hope to see you again soon when your travels bring you back to Atlantic Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Everything about this Hotel is five stars. We have stayed here two times. The level of service we received was amazing. Anything we needed was attended to promptly even ironing your clothes is included.. I was stung by a bee poolside and asked if they had anything for a bee sting. The clerk that came to assist asked me at least 3 times if he could also drive to the local pharmacy to purchase additional items to help with the sting. Very genuine, friendly and attentive to detail service is provided at this hotel.
The Spa is amazing. The lounge area offers wall to wall windows of the beach with no other buildings in your site.

Room Tip: We upgraded to ocean front but booked with a 3 nights get one free special
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MACATAMARAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SileshiMengiste, General Manager at One Ocean Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for your kind words about One Ocean Resort & Spa. We are honored that you have chosen to stay with us twice and are glad that our associates have continually been able to a level of service warranting five stars. We hope you will choose to stay with us for a third time again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Officially the best bartender I have ever met, my friends live nearby and said you have to go and tell the bartender one or two things about yourself and he will custom make a drink for you. Well he sure did, he remembers everyone's names, I believe he has won awards for his outstanding service.

I brought my college age daughters, the beach was clean, staff so very friendly, and I chose this hotel because the online photos reeled me in. I am a fan of contemporary and this was cool, spa, neat and contemporary. It was pouring rain one night, the bellman loans you umbrellas, and when not raining a nice town to stroll around in. You must have dinner in the hotel. There were 6 of us, all ages and we all had completely different meals, everyone shared, and every plate spectacular. I used the spa 3 days in a row taking advantage of the spa specials. LOVED IT! There was a personal handwritten note in our rooms when we arrived. I will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CherylCrownRoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SileshiMengiste, General Manager at One Ocean Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you, CherylCrownRoyal, for writing a five-star review of your recent stay at One Ocean Resort & Spa. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the intuitive, personalized service that our One Ocean associates pride themselves on, as well as our dining and spa offerings. We hope you will choose to stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atlantic Beach
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/Oceanfront
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/O...
#3 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
1,557 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonvil...
#6 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
563 reviews
2.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonville Beachfront
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonv...
#2 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western Oceanfront
Best Western Oceanfront
#4 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
838 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville/Ponte Vedra Beach-Mayo Clinic Area
Hampton Inn Jacksonville/Ponte V...
#1 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
745 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedra Beach
The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedr...
#3 of 4 in Ponte Vedra Beach
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Ocean Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Ocean Resort & Spa

Address: 1 Ocean Blvd, Atlantic Beach, FL 32233-5262
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Atlantic Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Price Range: £168 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — One Ocean Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Oceanfront splendor with luxury accommodations and intuitive service at our Florida vacation resort. The artful getaway is situated on the sweeping white sands and rolling waves of the Atlantic Ocean in Atlantic Beach, minutes from Jacksonville. Enjoy award-winning cuisine with ocean views at our Azurea Restaurant. Toast to an unforgettable evening with an ocean inspired cocktails, delicious martini or mixed drinks at our Azurea Lounge. Rejuvenate your body and spirit at The Spa at One Ocean. The luxury oceanfront resort luring guests in with its cobblestone streets featuring an eclectic mix of shops, restaurants, art galleries, ice-cream parlors and nightlife options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your One Ocean Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One Ocean Hotel Atlantic Beach
1 Ocean Resort
One Ocean Atlantic Beach
One Ocean Resort & Spa Atlantic Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing