We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
One Ocean Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This hotel was renovated a while ago and is great place to visit and have a good meal or drink. Parking can be hard to get. Nicest place at Nepture Beach. give it a try the next time your there. Wlaking distance to lots of fund places

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sileshi_M, General Manager at One Ocean Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review One Ocean Resort & Spa. We are glad you enjoyed our prime location in Atlantic Beach along with our signature restaurant Azurea. We hope you join us again the next time you are in the Atlantic Beach area.

Best,
Sileshi Mengiste

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,099)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

553 - 559 of 1,099 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

My family and I traveled from South Carolina for a mini vacation. When we arrived, we received a warm greeting from the valet guys. We really enjoyed the seamless check-in, where the valet gave us the keys to our room. The property is gorgeous, so we were blown away at the entrance. When we got to our room (#403-a balcony oceanfront), we did our usual bedbug check. Nothing. No bugs so we were good. I was impressed with the added features of pressing a button for room service or not. There was also a doorbell, nice bathrobes, and snacks that was replenished when were out. There is an extra $50 per night added to our bill for valet & resort fee (included the snacks). However, I was a little disappointed that we did not receive turn down service the first night, nor were we greeted by our docent. We had to figure things out on our own. This is something they advertise so I expected to receive it. The next day we ate breakfast in the Azurea. The food was not worth the money. We spent $53 dollars for pancakes & french toast that did not have a taste. The ambiance and service was wonderful. Afterwards we rented 2 chairs and an umbrella for the beach at $49. The beach was nice and not so crowded. You have to be careful not to disturb the Sea Turtle Nest. That was kind of neat. There are fish and baby sea turtles being washed up along the shore, so don't be alarmed. We spent 4 hours on the beach and then an hour at the pool. The pool furniture is really nice. I also think it's nice to have an exercise room overlooking the beach. After spending 5 hours enjoying the beach and pool, we got back to an uncleaned room. We missed our dinner reservations because we didn't have any clean towels and had to wait nearly 25 minutes for someone to bring some. Housekeeping can be better. I was very disappointed. However, they apologized with a bottle of wine and a handwritten card. That was nice. My 14 year old gave the hotel 2 stars and my 9 year old says that this is not a kid friendly hotel. We had to evacuate due to a fire alarm. The customer service is superb. I "may" consider going again, if it is just me and my husband. There are also an awful lot of fees (resort fees, resort tax, county, city, & state taxes). This hotel is very pricey and needs to beef up the quality of their service for the money they charge. Oh, I can not leave out the small bathroom. The mat on the floor will get in the way when opening and closing the door because there is absolutely no room. If you are over 200 lbs., you will likely have a terrible time in the bathroom. Wifi signal was strong and reliable. Overall, a decent stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Justgraymom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sileshi_M, General Manager at One Ocean Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with One Ocean Resort & Spa. We are glad you enjoyed our prime location in Atlantic Beach along with our breezy, coastal design that reflects waterfront view. Customer satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us, and we will look into how we can make future visits more enjoyable. We hope you give us another chance to impress you the next time you are in the Atlantic Beach area.

Best,
Sileshi Mengiste

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This place thinks it's a resort but doesn't act or show like one.

Positives:Good location for beach and nightlife, cordial staff, ok spa, pretty hotel.

Negatives: Our room was not ready for the 3pm check in, the rooms are small,the bathrooms are extra small, no coffee pot in room (you have to request coffee), gift shop only sells spa type items, no continental breakfast, only fine dining and the pool is pretty small. You will be charged a resort fee of $20 (for water, goldfish and chips in your room), $25 per day per vehicle for valet parking, (which is mandatory if you want your car at the hotel, otherwise good luck trying to find parking near by).
We won't stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lilrnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sileshi_M, General Manager at One Ocean Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you, Lilrnr, for taking the time to share your experience at One Ocean Resort & Spa. We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay. Through our Docent service, seamless check-in and valet parking, we strive to provide a luxurious experience for each of our guests. Our resort fee allows us to offer our customized Docent service, providing access to amenities tailored to your preferences. Due to some limitations with the original structure, several aspects of the resort's layout had to remain as they were through the development of One Ocean, such as our bathroom sizes. We do hope you'll reconsider the next time you're in the area, and encourage you to reach out directly to further discuss your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I booked a room through a third-party, neither the hotel or the third-party wanted to take responsibility for messing up my reservation even though they both profited from it. Room was clean but had no balcony and the windows don't open... The bathroom is ridiculously small but updated. Staff is for the most part friendly. There's a $50 day resort fee which they tell you about upfront...but they don't tell you about the $25 a day parking fee.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Johnycash56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sileshi_M, General Manager at One Ocean Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Johnycash56, we appreciate your feedback and are sorry to hear about the issues you experienced with your reservation. We strongly encourage our guests to call the hotel reservations desk directly to ensure you always book the exact room suited to your preferences. Through the development of our resort five years ago, our bathroom sizes had to remain the same due to some limitations with the original structure. Thank you for the compliments to our staff. We work hard to provide the best possible guest experience, and through the resort fee are able to offer our Docent service. Just for clarification, the resort fee is $25 per day, not $50. We hope you were able to take advantage of these special amenities, and we hope you'll join us again during your next visit to Atlantic Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Beautiful resort in great spot on Atlantic Beach near lots of walkable shops and restaurants. Pool is a little small and shaded later in the afternoon but very nice and good service. The beach is beautiful and flat, but the hotel charges $17 for chairs which I find absurd for the cost of the property. The elevators are a little complex and slow at times but it was a minimal issue for us, but I could see where a very busy weekend might be troublesome. We enjoyed the bars and unfortunately missed the gorgeous restaurant. It is pretty small so reservations can be hard to come by if not booked in advance. Rooms are large and quiet with nice linens. The only issue is the very small bathroom and single sink, but this is not uncommon in Florida. We missed the spa, but it looked very nice. Service was very good. A wonderful stay overall. We would return.

Room Tip: We were on he 8th (top)floor with a nice view. Balconies are only on the front of the hotel and loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Chicag0traveler411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sileshi_M, General Manager at One Ocean Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for your review of One Ocean Resort & Spa, Chicag0traveler411. We are glad you enjoyed our prime location in Atlantic Beach. Our staff strives to create memorable experiences for our guests and we are glad that we could make your trip more enjoyable. We hope that you join us again the next time you find yourself in Atlantic Beach.

Best,
Sileshi Mengiste

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Great hotel right on the beach. Rooms are spacious and for the most part have an ocean view with In room amenities - refreshments - soda- water and snacks all are included in the hotel resort fee which is a nice touch ($25.00 p/day.). Most other hotels would charge you for these little amenities. Be sure to take a look at the hotel bar off the lobby entrance - it has an absolutely gorgeous entrance. One item that I found annoying is that the bathrooms are small - I mean really small - the furnishings are new and updated but you couldn't get two people in the room if you tried...needs to be worked on to make this a truly fabulous hotel/resort area. Hotel is close to a lot of restaurants and shops and family friendly. Be sure to stop by at a quaint little breakfast restaurant called Lily's a short walk from the hotel - great bagels - I had a everything bagel, toasted with eggs, bacon and cheese with a great hazelnut latte. Overall I would give this hotel an excellent rating but due to the tiny bathrooms - it dropped down on my review.

Room Tip: Ocean view and suite if you could get a good price for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LOUABEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sileshi_M, General Manager at One Ocean Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you Louaben, for your review of One Ocean Resort and Spa. We too love our spacious geust bedrooms that extend stunning views to our private, white sand beach. Our central location is perfect for exploring wonderful shopping, dining and entertaining, and it is great to hear that you enjoyed! We hope the bathrooms weren't too much of an inconvenience and we are working to see how to best remedy this for future visits. We do hope you will give us another chance to impress you the next time you find yourself in Atlantic Beach.

Regards,
Sileshi Mengiste

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

While on a Florida college tour with my niece, we decided to spend the 4th of July holiday at the Ocean One Resort and Spa in Atlantic Beach, FL. We made an excellent choice. My niece who has limited travel experience was awed by the luxury of the hotel. The rooms were tastefully decorated, the beds were quite comfortable, and "free" snacks were available in the room. I am sure the "free" snacks were factored into the room cost; however, I find the mini-bar charges as tacky. The front-desk staff was highly professional and my every wish was their command. I needed a laptop for some unexpected business and I laptop was delivered to the room. The lobby is marble and modern; however, the lobby bar can be rather noisy at certain times of the evening. The room was spacious and offered a view of the beach; however, the bathroom was rather small, although it was quite luxurious. The seaglass countertop was unique. Although I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Ocean Inn, I do have a couple of negative observations. I find a daily parking fee of $25 AND a daily resort fee of $25 rather high. I also had to pay $17.00 to rent a beach umbrella for four hours (chairs were an additional cost, so my towel was laid out on the sand). The resort is within walking distance of restaurants and shops and I felt very safe walking about, even in the evening. Ocean One is a luxurious resort which offers excellent service to its guests. It is rather pricey in some aspects, but overall, the cost is justified.

Room Tip: The east facing rooms have the best views of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank abc1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sileshi_M, General Manager at One Ocean Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

abc1129, thank you for your review of One Ocean Resort & Spa. We are so glad to hear that we could provide a memorable Fourth of July weekend for both you and your niece. We too love our luxurious interiors an spacious guest bedrooms that reflect our beautiful waterfront surroundings in Atlantic Beach. We do hope you will be joining us again the next time you find yourself in Jacksonville, when perhaps you may try our signature restaurant Azurea. Be sure to look to our website to snag the best packages and rates.

Regards,
Sileshi Mengiste

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atlantic Beach
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/Oceanfront
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/O...
#3 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
1,579 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonvil...
#6 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
568 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Oceanfront
Best Western Oceanfront
#4 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonville Beachfront
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonv...
#2 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
1,107 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Jacksonville Beach
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#7 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
245 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Mayport Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Ocean Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Ocean Resort & Spa

Address: 1 Ocean Blvd, Atlantic Beach, FL 32233-5262
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Atlantic Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Price Range: £163 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — One Ocean Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Oceanfront splendor with luxury accommodations and intuitive service at our Florida vacation resort. The artful getaway is situated on the sweeping white sands and rolling waves of the Atlantic Ocean in Atlantic Beach, minutes from Jacksonville. Enjoy award-winning cuisine with ocean views at our Azurea Restaurant. Toast to an unforgettable evening with an ocean inspired cocktails, delicious martini or mixed drinks at our Azurea Lounge. Rejuvenate your body and spirit at The Spa at One Ocean. The luxury oceanfront resort luring guests in with its cobblestone streets featuring an eclectic mix of shops, restaurants, art galleries, ice-cream parlors and nightlife options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your One Ocean Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Ocean Resort
One Ocean Hotel Atlantic Beach
One Ocean Atlantic Beach
One Ocean Resort & Spa Atlantic Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing