We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very GOOD!”

Safe Harbor Seafood Market & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$19
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
virginia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very GOOD!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

You will love this spot if you live in the area and can cook the seafood yourself. The fresh fish display was amazing.
Since we were passing through, I went for the cooked version. WAS NOT Disappointed!!! I opted for the oyster po boy, Mad I didn't go for the dinner version. The oyster was fried to perfection. You can actually taste the oyster, not breaded crazy, like most places. My Friends had the fried Basa, was delicious and the fried shrimp large and lightly battered. I also tried something called spinach cake, delicious. Asiago cheese, spinach and bread crumbs, pan fried, served with a French/ranch dressing....kind of like special sauce from McDonalds. The service was super fast, you actually spend more time on line waiting to order than getting the meal brought to your table. Definitely worth the visit. two thumbs up!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bevsensualparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    423
    144
    25
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Fresh, quick, friendly, delicious, affordable! My family took ferry from fernandia to mayport, a fun trip and tasty lunch. Would definitely recommend and plan to come again next vacation

Helpful?
2 Thank Becky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I never want to eat seafood anywhere else!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Very friendly staff, nice outdoor atmosphere. Excellent selection, and the best seafood anywhere! Had lunch here with my daughter and her boyfriend. Everything was great, cannot wait to go back. However, I would say its more of a lunch early dinner because they close early and do not have a full bar.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RendyJacksonville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, CA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Couldn't get more authentic unless you fished it yourself!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

At the "end of the road" in Mayport (a Naval town in Jacksonville), this fish market offers hungry customers the opportunity to try whatever is being sold in the chillers. I had a Blackened Trigger Fish basket with fries and hush puppies. This was my first time for Trigger and i have to say it may well be the most delicious fish I've every had! Also had a dozen raw oysters for only $10. Sat outside on the pier and watched the fishing boats come in. Don't miss this place as you make your way to the Amelia Island ferry boat...only a block away.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank skitramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“My new favorite seafood restaurant in Mayport”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The food is amazing, the prices reasonable, and the seafood is right off the boat (which is docked outside)!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank swimmomjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Safe Harbor Seafood Market & Restaurant also viewed

 
Jacksonville Beach, FL
 

Been to Safe Harbor Seafood Market & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing