We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome fresh seafood!”

Safe Harbor Seafood Market & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$19
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome fresh seafood!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Between us, we had fried and blackened scallops, Blackened haddock and shrimp going back soon - fresh food, good atmosphere and met the manager. This is not your everyday seafood place - You can purchase the fish in the market and have the restaurant cook it for you for $2.00 a lb.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    144
    25
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
87 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“SEAFOOD FIT FOR A KING”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Safe Harbor is the best seafood restaurant in all of Jacksonville and I've chowed down at plenty. The food at this place is to die for. The portions were very good and the service was faster than any joint I've ever been in for seafood in this town.The restaurant is situated right on the water in Mayport Fl. I'm telling you mates you wont regret spending your last cooper at this place. I will go on to say even the Queen Of England doesn't get chow like this. The atmosphere is great and it's small but me and my crew didn't have to wait to be seated. Now the downside me and the crew ended up holding up the line because there is so much good grub to chose from on the menu. If you go to Safe Harbor plan on going hungry you'll need the room in your belly. I'm going back next week because writing this review has me drooling all over my laptop. Again this place is top of line and not some crappy,greasy dive everything is fresh and cooked to order. So,I don't know about you but I'm going back next week to grub up. Oh, and this place is in a very nice location no bums or shady people here. Thanks Safe Harbor for the great meal and service.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Simple and good seafood. Went for lunch with my son and grandson. Order at the counter and seat yourself. Having a one year old with you can sometimes be trying on us old folks. But, all the staff kept him fully entertained during our stay. He loved the hush puppies! All the food was great!
Will make it a point to visit again on my next visit to Jacksonville.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
“Straight from the boat seafood with daily specials and market.”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Wholesale seafood market with a local hidden secret, the restaurant that offers daily specials like shrimp and grit cakes! Amazing clam chowder, fresh catch blackened, fried, grilled. Of course the best Mayport Shrimp! Seat yourself no frills, order at the counter and find a seat. Worth the wait...very busy at lunchtime! Plus you get to watch the ship come into the docks. Kids love it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fldyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good seafood place”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

As others have stated the food here is darn good and althought it's my first time i'd bet it's pretty consistent day in/ day out just observing the way they run their restaurant side and market side. Ate around 3 on a Sunday and the line was almost out the door to order at the counter (grab a table inside or out and they bring it to you after ordering) but it moved fairly quickly. Had the fried shrimp basket and wife had the fried haddock basket (fries, pups, slaw). Had way better hushpuppies elsewhere and slaw was average but the seafood was solid. At around $11 each the prices are fair. Sounds weird maybe but wish they had better ketchup (they use the cheap generic) and cocktail sauce (ask for horseradish). Seafood Market side was very impressive and if i lived in the area i'd shop there. I'll probably try other places in the area next time to see what's around but i'd certainly go back again or recommend.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chase77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Safe Harbor Seafood Market & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Safe Harbor Seafood Market & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing