We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best philly cheese sandwich”

Bongiorno's Philly Steak Shop
Cuisines: Pizza, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
152 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Best philly cheese sandwich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

Fresh ingredients from Philadelphia! Meat was perfect smothered in stringy cheese with ingredients all the way. Bread was amazingly fresh, despite traveling from several states away. The footlong is incredibly filling even for big eaters like myself. The fries come in a big basket and they are the skinny fries like you would find at McDonalds. Goes great with the sandwich. Go outside of the busy times of the day because the small cafe-sized establishment can make you feel cramped and crowded, but the philly cheese will melt in your mouth never the less!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    14
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Why just eat pizza when you don't feel like going out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

Best Philly I've ever ate... Can't get away from it ... Their burgers and fries are great as well but try their Philly first and ill doubt you'll ever order anything else

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kbrou237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

Found this place while in Mayport on business. Not a fancy place but the service was the most friendly you could evry hope to find. Sports on all the TVs, with tables and counter seating. The menu is what one would expect from a "Sub Shop". I had the Philly Cheesesteak with mushrooms, onion, peppers and hot peppers. Loved it! Not the best I've ever had but enjoyed it none the less. I had a order of onion rings too. Beer battered not breaded and they were very good. I got the Italian special "to go" since I was leaving that day. I ate it on the plane and loved it too. If I'm in the area again, I will make sure to visit here again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shellback98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Philly Cheese Steak in NE FL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

This has to be best cheese steak sandwich in FL. The bread is shipped in from Philly and the meat comes from south Jersey. the owners are right there in the store, "taking care of business".
It's a sandwich shop with lots of choices and you get to sit with some of our american heroes, it's a popular shop for local Navy personnel from Mayport Air Station, and USCG personnel from Mayport Coast Guard Station

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic Beach, Florida
1 review
“Simply Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Every thing cookled fresh, great family style while sports are always on the flat screens. Plenty of parking, never a long waite time.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bongiorno's Philly Steak Shop also viewed

 

Been to Bongiorno's Philly Steak Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing