We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm From PA & Know Good Phillys - These are Goood!”

Bongiorno's Philly Steak Shop
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I'm From PA & Know Good Phillys - These are Goood!”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

If you want a real Philly Cheesesteak Sub, this is the best I've found down here. They know what they're doing, & their other sandwiches are very good too.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hungarikee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    14
    2
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“awesome food”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

we went for food plain and simple. Being that Im on a gluten free diet(not by choice) I often get strange looks when I order a philly steak over a bed of fries.
The portions are great, the food looks awesome when they bring it to the table I cant say enough good stuff about them.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank kelligurl26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange Park, FL
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“I go for The Gobbler!”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Bongiorno's is well known for their Philly Cheesesteak sub, and rightfully so. It is everything one would want in an original cheesesteak sub right outta Philly.
However, I've found MY sub bliss in their Gobbler. It's Thanksgiving inside of a perfect Amoroso hoagie roll. (The bread itself is worth the trip :)
The Gobbler consists of thick slices and of freshly roasted turkey, carved right off the bird, homemade stuffing, and cranberry sauce. The turkey is roasted there each day, and the stuffing is made daily. You have the option of having it served hot with turkey gravy or cold with mayo. It's so reminiscent of the day after Thanksgiving sandwich. No turkey meat roll here sliced with a deli slicer. It's the real thing and I love it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Best philly cheese sandwich”
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Fresh ingredients from Philadelphia! Meat was perfect smothered in stringy cheese with ingredients all the way. Bread was amazingly fresh, despite traveling from several states away. The footlong is incredibly filling even for big eaters like myself. The fries come in a big basket and they are the skinny fries like you would find at McDonalds. Goes great with the sandwich. Go outside of the busy times of the day because the small cafe-sized establishment can make you feel cramped and crowded, but the philly cheese will melt in your mouth never the less!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Why just eat pizza when you don't feel like going out”
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Best Philly I've ever ate... Can't get away from it ... Their burgers and fries are great as well but try their Philly first and ill doubt you'll ever order anything else

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kbrou237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bongiorno's Philly Steak Shop also viewed

Atlantic Beach, FL
 
Jacksonville Beach, FL
Atlantic Beach, FL
 

Been to Bongiorno's Philly Steak Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing