We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Aventura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2013

I have stayed here in the past and was very pleased with the hotel. However, i tried booking a stay with my family this year. We were quoted a rate on the phone, and then when we booked a later the prices were more than twice as high. Customer Service on the phone was snooty and not helpful. I will not return here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turnberry-Mgmt, Director of Training & Quality at Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

We are disappointed to learn that you felt the quality of service while making a reservation was unhelpful. We are committed to service excellence and hope you'll give us an opportunity to learn from your experience. I have sent you a private message in hopes we may connect. Thank you in advance for your time.

Regards,
James Paul
Director of Training & Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,950)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,394 - 1,400 of 1,950 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

A beautiful place with very poor service. The pool and beach staff watch as you set chairs for your self 18% gratuity as you get food for yourself. Oswaldo in Cascata grill restaurant was exceptional and likely will shine anywhere
This place is not a value

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turnberry-Mgmt, Director of Training & Quality at Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

It is to our disappointment to learn that our service fell short of your expectations during your recent stay. We are committed to service excellence and hope you'll give us an opportunity to learn from your experience. You’ll find a private message waiting for you. Thank you in advance for your time.

Regards,
James Paul
Director of Training & Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We arrived in the afternoon, and had a very speedy check-in, taken up to our rooms, which were really spacious, and nicely appointed, with a little balcony over looking the golf course. A lovely bathroom, and spacious cupboard space. We then went down and had a drink around the pool.
The gardens are lush and beautifully kept. All the staff are very friendly and helpful.
The room I was in was 3321, which I really liked. Breakfast on my balcony was great, watching the golfers, and lots of birds.
Dinner was in the Bourbon Steak, which again had excellent staff, good food and a very good wine list.
I can totally recommend The Turnberry Isle.

Room Tip: I was in room 3321, which was excellent, and a stunning view over the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vicks277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We arrived at Turnberry 28 Dec. 2012 at 1:30 PM. We were told that the room only needed to be checked by management and would be ready in less than 20 minutes. We did not get in the room for 3 hours.
The room, which was an upgraded room was sparsely furnished and the TV was to small for the size of the room. In the bathroom there were was no guest toothbrush or razor. We had two large closets with a total of 4 wooden hangers. We requested additional hangers, and not until the next day did we get 10 cheap plastic hangers. Food trays were left in the hall overnight and at the pool food was left for several hours without being cleared. Towels for the lounges at the pool were frayed and with holes. I was given late checkout approval and than advised that I could not have it.

In general the staff was as accommodating as possible, however definitely understaffed. I feel the responsibility lies with the management.

The prices were commensurate with a 5 star hotel, which I would not have a problem with if the service and management were not 3 star or lower.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alassio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turnberry-Mgmt, Rooms Division Director at Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at Turnberry Isle. We truly value our repeat guests and are disappointed to learn that your most recent experience did not live up to your expectations. Please know we have addressed your concerns and have reached out to you privately in hopes we may connect to discuss further.

Regards,
Adolfo Bolanos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Just back from four nights at this hotel, I think the best way to describe it would be this - it's like a beautifully wrapped Christmas gift. The grounds are beautifully kept, your first impression is Wow! The bell staff was wonderful, the spa treatments very good....dinner at Bourban out of this world. The rest? Well, you take off the wrapping to find nothing in the box.

This was to be a mini vacation at what we had heard was a beautiful resort with remarkable service. That was not what my husband experienced, what was supposed be relaxing ended up being full of stress. Service other than the bellman was awful, resulting in having to speak to a manager or front desk. We did get a refund after our third complaint but would have much preferred the wonderful, stress free vacation we had been told was available there. It almost seemed like when you mentioned a problem the person you were speaking with was thinking "here we go again"

Until management picks up its game, this resort is not for me.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emptynesteralmost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Spent 6 nights there recently on a golf break and overall it was a good experience.

Our rooms were very nice but you must request to be in one of the wings that have been renovated - they are MUCH nicer than the older rooms, not that the website differentiates between them.

The food was a bit mixed, The best burger in the world, at Bourbon Steak Bar Burgers but then fairly ordinary breakfasts in the Cascata Grille and a somewhat limited lunch choice there too. Service generally poor in Cascata Grille with the very notable exception of Lauren !

The golf courses were both superb and the organisation surrounding them was likewise. Really impressive.

Now the big negative :all four of our bills were wrong, really very wrong, and the check out staff seemed quite incapable of getting it right. Our package included breakfast and airport transfers but most (but not all) breakfasts were charged as were the transfers. There were other errors also. It took 50 mins to sort it all out (during which time we heard several other customers querying their bills) and now today I have found an additional item on my credit card statement which has been incorrectly charged after check out. No doubt it will take forever to sort out !

Despite all the above there is nothing here that can't be fixed if they have the will. Let's hope they do.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fowler2owen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turnberry-Mgmt, Rooms Division Director at Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your overall experience at our resort. Our golf courses and the burgers at Bourbon Steak truly are exceptional. It is disappointing to learn however about the billing errors. We want to address this immediately and have sent you a private message so we may speak with you further.

Regards,
Adolfo Bolanos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Leaving a chilly Boston behind, spent the better part of a week at Turnberry, attending a conference. The hotel grounds are colorful and lush, the whole place has a tremendous atmosphere of tranquility. The staff, of whom there are many (I counted at least twenty expertly managing one medium sized outside lunch for the conferees) without exception were polite, friendly and almost absurdly helpful.
The hotel has been expertly designed to feel grand without being overwhelming, with gracious walkways between wings and the pools.
The hotel upgraded our room, very good size, two queen beds, sitting area, large bathroom, and views over the practice range for the golf. Beds were extremely comfortable, and the attention to detail was evident.
Not a golfer, so I enjoyed the views of the course without experiencing the golf facilities. I did use the tennis courts on several occasions, fairly priced and a terrific addition to the hotel.
The gym (and spa, I guess), was thoroughly modern, superbly equipped and spotlessly clean.
Dinner in one of the restaurants was excellent, although pricey. The hotel is close enough to route 1 and the coast road if seeking alternatives. Hotel is ideally situated for the Aventura Mall.
For a business trip or a short stay, a perfect location - I'm not sure there is enough in the surrounding area to hold one's attention for an extended stay, and the hotel is expensive enough to have second thoughts about that anyway.

On that basis, we would recommend the hotel to anybody

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turnberry-Mgmt, General Manager at Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

Thank you for your glowing review and for your recommendation. We are committed to excellence and are thrilled to learn that your experience at our luxury resort exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to enjoy warmer weather.

Regards,
The Management Team at Turnberry Isle Miami

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aventura
1.4 mi away
Marenas Beach Resort
Marenas Beach Resort
#2 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,658 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Aventura Mall
0.7 mi away
AC Hotel by Marriott Miami Aventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Hallandale Beach/Aventura
1.9 mi away
Sole on the Ocean
Sole on the Ocean
#4 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,954 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Miami Aventura Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection

Address: 19999 W Country Club Dr, Aventura, FL 33180-2401
Region: United States > Florida > Aventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Aventura
Price Range: £172 - £615 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away between Miami and Fort Lauderdale, Turnberry Isle Miami is a tropical oasis with a culture of authenticity, spirited service, and enriching experiences. During your stay discover why we have been named one of the "World's Best Resorts" by Travel + Leisure Magazine. Explore 36-holes of championship golf and the elite Canas Tennis center. Relax by the Cascata Pool or lounge at the Laguna Pool and journey down the 1,600-foot Lazy River. Rejuvenate at the Wellness Spa and Fitness Center, a Forbes Four-Star rated experience. Let your palette celebrate award-winning signature chef Michael Mina at BOURBON STEAK and the American-inspired CORSAIR kitchen & bar featuring lighter comfort food. Shop the neighboring Aventura Mall or access the beach via the resort's complimentary shuttle. An Autograph Collection Hotel, Turnberry Isle Miami is a Forbes Travel Guide recommended hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, bedfinder AG, LoveHolidays, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turnberry Isle Miami Hotel Aventura
Fairmont Turnberry Isle Hotel
Fairmont Aventura
Aventura Fairmont
Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection Aventura, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing