We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hotel Jacaranda
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Avon Park
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Lodge(Sebring)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Inn Sebring(Sebring)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
55
33
8
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
55
33
8
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold floridasitting roomculinary schoolmini suitehuge lobbymaster suitegrand old hotelbuffet restaurantchain hotelscentral floridabeautiful historic hotelbok tower gardenselectrical outletsthird floordirectly across the streethot watertwo double beds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2013

OMG! We were there 30 years ago, and the South Florida Community College Foundation has preserved so much of the history! We fell in love with it then, when we were kids, and now we can afford to travel and wanted to return, so glad we did. The place is sooo historic. From the gorgeous victorian lobby, to the antique accordion-door elevator, to the high ceilings with the period lighting, and even porcelain faucets in most bathrooms. BUT the people really make it! Do you need something special? Just ask - seriously! The housekeeping staff was out of control when it came to assistance - maintenance, too. I had a minor problem with my shower and within minutes (and I mean minutes) it was fixed, and housekeeping came right behind to check and see if all was OK.

They also have buffets that are available for a very reasonable price. I can't complain about the food, for the price. The desserts are spelled f-a-t (according to my husband). Lunch and dinner with a piano player, not piped-in music.

This is NOT a modern hotel, things are dated, for those of us who love it. The Hotel Jacaranda is on the National Register of Historic Places. Since we were there 30 years ago, they have added TV, internet, fridge, micro, and air-conditioning. The plumbing is not perfect, but there was a team assessing it for repairs while we were there. And, yes, some of the tubs and sink are stained - not dirty - they are almost 100 years old! We did stay in two different rooms - we were there for a week.

The mini suites have a sitting room, bedroom and small bath. Some rooms open onto the 2nd floor veranda overlooking Main Street and the beautiful oaks and old kapok tree in the square. There is also outdoor seating in or out of the sun on the veranda. There is a pool with outdoor showers, outdoor seating and changing areas. There is an extensive library in the lobby. "The Jac" would be a great place for a wedding - or anniversary party, beautiful!

If you want to step back in time and stay where Lou Gehrig, Babe Ruth, George & Gracie Burns, Clark Gable and others stayed, or if you want to hear the trains that run through day and night, or if you just want to know that the staff cares - stay at The Hotel Jacaranda, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Just ask to see a couple, then make your choice. They won't mind showing them to you.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at The Hotel Jacaranda, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for you review. Hope to see you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We took a day trip from Bradenton and lunched at this interesting hotel. What a treat! Very inexpensive buffet with great service. Only learned about the college students culinary kitchen. To the students: 'job-well done'; the food was delicious. [especially the clam chowder] A+ to all that did the hotel's restoration. Stroll to the art co-op inside the hotel; just down the long corridor. If you have the time visit the Avon Park Depot Museum. [3-4 minute walk] It is free and run by volunteers. Our host was a 'living history' jem, Mr. Quinton V. Request he shows you his special display. It is a Mom & Pop type museum; collections of 'local' love.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IslandSunAMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at The Hotel Jacaranda, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Thank you for the Great review glad you enjoyed your lunch with us. Hope to have you join us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel being referred by a friend wintering in the area. The Suite we had was old and big but dirty in every sense. Dirt visible on every ledge imaginable, with the TV being covered in dust and dirt. The bathroom was old as expected but all rusted,built up grime on tub and sink and unsanitary in many respects.Housekeeping was called and visited the room and the comment from the housekeeper was, "this is disgusting." She proceeded to spray an industrial cleaner into the tub and wiped with a cloth then went to get something to cut the industrial cleaner. She again sprayed a cleaner and wiped with another dry cloth so it was clear to me why this room was filthy. You can not clean a bathroom without the use of water.

The noise level at night is very high with trains and cars constantly screeching tires, reving engines etc.While I realize the cars may not be every night but the trains are. I specifically asked many questions when booking about wireless and was told the room had wireless to find out it did not but the hotel came up with a wire so that was not a problem just an inconvenience. The elevator does work and is old but you must wait each time to use it as the elevator person had other tasks to attend to many times first. At checkout when the above items were mentioned they were passed on as if we had said nothing. This was the only night we stayed in this filthy room after booking our whole stay in the area here. We were lucky to find another room of course at a premium price but cheaper than this filthy one, to finish our stay. We had friends that have friends that stayed here a couple days before and they had a regular room which was reported to us as ok. The same friends looked at our room and said well either the other friends don't mind a dirty room or their room was totally different.

Old is appreciable but dirty is not! This room was not even near acceptable for the near $100 we paid to stay in it. BUYER BEWARE!

Room Tip: Do not choose a suite.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustaCruisin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at The Hotel Jacaranda, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

I apologize for the less than satisfactory stay you experienced at our hotel and we take all comments seriously. I was unaware of your problem i wish you had brought this to my attention. I would have been glad to move you to another room in the rear of the hotel away from the noise. I did look up your stay with us and found nothing wrong on your check out statement. Again i do apologize. Hope you will give us another chance to make your stay with us good.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

I was searching for a place to stay relatively close to where some of our friends were wintering over in central Florida. Once Iocated some of the nearby towns, I contacted our friends and asked if they had heard of this place, in fact they had. They had eaten there several times for Sunday brunch. So they went there and had one of the maids show them the rooms,etc. They thought we would enjoy it as we are lovers of antiques and things. It is just clean, reasonable and comfortable place to stay. The rooms are not fancy, but had what we needed. We usually are people on vacation that are out and about seeing things and not spending times in our room. We had the Sunday brunch and it was very, very good food. In fact, I thought it was better than the brunch we had in Savannah at that famous ladies restaurant...sorry Paula... and more reasonable.
So if you love old architecture, and are looking for different kind of places to stay..give this place a try. Or even just stop in to see the place...that in itself is just a treat.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penpepe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at The Hotel Jacaranda, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Thank you for the review. I am very glad that your local friends also had a chance to see what our hotel has to offer. Hope you get the chance to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

After staying in corporate, cookie-cutter hotels, the Hotel Jacaranda is a great experience. The old-fashioned elevator is a bonus, the room was clean and nicely furnished. One downside--the bathroom: no exhaust fan, tho' the window does open; and the taps are separate--so if you want warm water instead of only hot or only cold, you have to fill the basin. But that's a small sacrifice for the enjoyment of staying in a place where George and Gracie, Clark Gable and Al Capone stayed in years past. I wasn't impressed with the dinner buffet--too much fried food; even in the South, the aspiring chefs at the school could have come up with something more innovative. But you sure can't beat the buffet price!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzwil67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at The Hotel Jacaranda, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Thank you for the review so glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews