We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wished we could have stayed for longer!!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avon Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hotel Jacaranda
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Avon Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Lovely historic hotel which we stayed at when visiting the Flywheelers show. We had a suite very comfy bed sink in room and also in the sitting area, tea, coffee etc and fridge. We ate in the restaurant which was excellent value a help yourself buffet with plenty of choice. Lovely large veranda overlooking main street which was very quiet. Nice bar across the road if you fancy a beer as the hotel does not serve alcohol. Would not hesitate staying here again much better value than some of the chain motels in the area and a real old world feeling.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vicki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at The Hotel Jacaranda, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for your great review. we hope to have you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

It was a step back in time & it was fun to imagine staying in this historical hotel where many movie stars had stayed. The price was so reasonable and the staff so nice & helpful. The women at the front desk- I wish I would have got her name- went above & beyond to find and provide me with answers to questions I had asked her earlier when checking in. She found me later in the lobby and provided me with the helpful information. It was valentines day and busy busy busy- but so much fun with piano music playing & home made cookies being served made by the community college culinary school. Don't miss going up to your room in the beautifully restored elevator.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at The Hotel Jacaranda, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for your great review. It is always good to have guests that enjoy the historical parts of our hotel. Hope to have you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed here for the first time this weekend (all of the Sebring hotels were booked for some reason), and were thrilled! The property is a real slice of nostalgia, and the rooms have been renovated/repurposed to make two of the old rooms into one suite (the old configuration had two rooms sharing a bath located in between.)

The beds and most of the in-room furniture are new, but there were a few antique pieces remaining in our room. During the renovation, they put in nice, real AC units rather than going with the typical wall units, so you avoid the noise and gale force winds you normally associate with those. While the rooms have been renovated, they have tried to keep as much of the period charm as made sense, so, the bathtubs are the old, deep, wonderful tubs, but a new shower system was in place. One sink was a beautiful 1920's sink with the old, separate faucet style, where you get cold from one tap and hot from the other, and the sink in the second room was the modern mixing faucet design.

SO - if you are looking for modern, luxurious rooms, keep driving up to Orlando or over to West Palm and stay at the Ritz. If you are into seeing some very well preserved 1920's architecture and design, with some modern touches added, give this a try. Frankly, for the value, how wrong can you go?

Added note - there are comments about street noise in some reviews. Unless you are used to a very rural lifestyle, there is no traffic in town to speak of, and certainly none very late at night, so you will not hear a thing.

Room Tip: Spending the few dollars extra for a suite is a very worthy investment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at The Hotel Jacaranda, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thank you for the great review glad you stayed with us and hope to have you stay with us again. The suites are a great value

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We recently stayed a night at the Jack, a 1920s 3 story hotel located on Main Street, a few blocks east of US 27. This place was a big deal in it's time, and it still features old school charm not found in the chain hotels. Several reviewers have mentioned street noise, so we requested a room in the back. The lobby is classic pre 30s - high ceiling, plenty of comfy seating, with a large dining room and a maze of siderooms. I believe the hotel is now owned by South Florida State College, and is partially used by the students. Don't let this deter you from the hotel, as we saw few students, and those we did were polite and clean cut (I know this reveals my age!). We arrived at 3pm, parked in the back, and went to the desk, manned by an experienced lady. We checked in, and were given a ride up to our third floor rooms in the cool elevator - operated by the front desk clerk. The rooms were fairly small, with a queen sized bed, small walk in closet, and bathroom. I believe they also have suites. If you intend to stay in your room a while, I'd go with the suite. Prices are very reasonable, so this wouldn't be a bank breaker. A feature of the hotel we especially liked were the veranda over the front of the building, especially the second floor one, with a table and chairs, plus several more cushioned chairs available. We had some trip planning to do, so we sat out under the sun and relaxed. We went out for the evening, returning at about 10pm, and hit the sack. We did have some pipe clanging during the night, but the bed was very comfortable and we slept well. In the morning they have a nice selection of cereals, muffins, morning drinks, etc. Overall, we had a nice visit to Avon Park, and we're glad we stayed at the Jacaranda.

Room Tip: We asked for a clean and quiet room, and that's we we got. We didn't notice much street nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nancysid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at The Hotel Jacaranda, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to have you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Our trip was an unplanned one, due to a death in the family, so we were looking for a place that was reasonable to stay and we found the Jacaranda. I loved every part of the hotel, which was still decorated for Christmas! As other reviews said some parts of the rooms are not updated, but that is what added to the charm of the building and the rooms. Riding on the elevator was a treat! The restaurant was an added bonus. The sandwiches were excellent at lunchtime; as was the buffet for lunch and dinner, and the price was reasonable. The staff was AWESOME! They were friendly, helpful, welcoming, and caring at time when we were a little out of our element. They made us feel at home each day we were there. We look forward to a return trip later this year.

Room Tip: If you want a little more room to move around choose a suite. Although the room we had was a nice s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at The Hotel Jacaranda, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you for your review. Sorry for your loss and glad you enjoyed your stay with us. hope to have you visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We went with another couple in December and the hotel was beautifully decorated for Christmas.
The hotel's buffet lunch was very good and is prepared by students from the culinary school housed in the hotel. Once the lunch crowd left, we had the hotel to ourselves. The lobby and public areas were lovely, but the bathrooms needed some updating. The town is very small and probably cannot support the hotel restaurant being open for dinner, so we ate across the street. The hotel verandas were a perfect spot for afternoon wine and cheese.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at The Hotel Jacaranda, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thank you for the review. We do serve lunch from 11:00 am till 2:00 pm Sunday thru Friday all year and we are open for Dinner from 4:30 till 7:30 Monday thru Friday from January thru the middle of May. We hope you will stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

If you're the kind of person who likes luxurious, large bathrooms with lots of marble countertops, you will not like this hotel. But if you're the kind of person who appreciates a beautiful and charming hotel full of history, you will love it. It has been lovingly restored while still maintaining its originality and it felt good to be supporting the college by staying there. The staff was friendly and helpful. The lobby is lovely--very warm and welcoming and nicely restored. The rooms are pretty spartan and the baths are old and look very original, down to the separate hot and cold faucets in the sink. There was no counter space in the bathroom and the tub was clean, but stained by age. One suggestion for improvement would be to have nicer towels. They were very small and thin (almost hand towel sized). The rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable. I really felt like I was stepping back in time, but in a good way. The elevator must have been the original one and was fun to see and ride. You ring a buzzer for the floor number you are on and an attendant operates the elevator and picks you up. We did not eat at the restaurant, but the food smelled amazing and judging by the number of people who were waiting in the lobby before it opened, it must be very good. There's a wonderful veranda on the second floor that overlooks the street. It's a great place to sit with your coffee or breakfast. It was fun to think about the people who would have been enjoying it back in the 20's when it was built. We would definitely stay again and would recommend it to people who we know can appreciate it for what it is, but don't expect 5 star hotel chain luxury.

Room Tip: Some rooms have better views than others. Ours overlooked an alley which didn't bother us, but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gocm22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at The Hotel Jacaranda, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for the review. I am always glad to hear from our guest. The elevator is orignal we have many guest that come to eat with us and ask to ride the elevator. Brings back memories of their childhood. Hope to have you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avon Park
8.9 mi away
Inn On The Lakes
Inn On The Lakes
#1 of 11 in Sebring
578 reviews
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Sebring
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sebring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sebring
19.8 mi away
Best Western Heritage Inn & Suites
9.1 mi away
Residence Inn Sebring
Residence Inn Sebring
#3 of 11 in Sebring
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Jacaranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Jacaranda

Address: 19 E Main St, Avon Park, FL 33825-3942
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Avon Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Avon Park
Price Range: £42 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet corner of Florida's Heartland, The Hotel Jacaranda is the picture of Southern repose. Built in the 1920s and listed on the National Historic Register, Avon Park's "gracious lady" boasts high ceilings and quiet hallways. In years gone by, the Jacaranda played hostess to the likes of Babe Ruth and Clark Gable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hotel Jacaranda Avon Park, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing