We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”
Review of Barnsley Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barnsley Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Adairsville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We have been to Barnsley several times over the years and each experience has been wonderful. The rooms are very nice - big claw foot bathtub, huge shower - exceptional service. I enjoyed the spa services at Barnsley and highly recommend trying them and the products - fell in love with the lotion. The staff at Barnsley no matter what part of the property you are on are very very accommodating. They go the extra mile to make sure your visit is of the first quality. Large spacious guest rooms. Lovely cottages and manicured tree lined areas make this just a very peaceful setting. Also, we ate in the Grill for dinner. Food exceptional especially the fried lobster tails. The service first class - very friendly and make you feel very comfortable. Love this place and would recommend it highly for couples or families. Weddings are very popular there too.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishwhiskey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2011

Gotta love the dive-in theatre every saturday night. The ruin looks absolutely beautiful during sunset, very picturesque. Didn't try all the activities they offer, but they look fun. The golf course is in perfect shape, they take really good care of the greens. The staffs there are extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms are very big and clean, nice cozy feeling for the suites. The beds are comfortable and bathrooms are huge!

There is only 1 convenience store that's within 2 mile radius of the resort, so if you need to buy anything from it, make sure you go there before 6:00pm. If you looking for any food other than the ones provided by the resort (which can be quite pricey for dinner), drive 30-40min to Rome, decent restaurant in downtown area there.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michsyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We attended an event at Barnsley Gardens and just felt a review was in order. The staff was most helpful and attentive, going above and beyond accomodate all guests at the event. The food was great as well.
Our cottage was very clean and well appointed. The grounds were very well maintained. The location was so nice - just about an hour outside of atlanta, but it seemed like a world away. Everyone enjoyed themselves, and we look forward to doing it again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sraneyfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

I was lucky enough to be taken to Barnsley along with a group of work colleagues. Granted, it was a LOT of fun to be there with such a big group, but I think it could be great for just a couple as well. The individual cabins are well-kept but still rustic and traditional.

Barnsley is romantic and peaceful, with beautiful scenery and great service. The grounds are fun to explore, or if you're looking for more excitement there are many activities including canoeing/fishing, horseback riding, the spa, etc. And you can't leave without visiting "the ruins" after dark, where you can have a fire in one of the old fireplaces and hunt for ghosts. Be sure to bring your marshmallows!

The Woodland restaurant was quite good, although we ate there for two dinners and two breakfasts in a row so I was getting a little tired of it - there are not many other places in the area to go to, however. If you're travelling out this way, be sure to bring snacks, drinks, etc with you so you'll have everything you need to relax for a few days!

Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
Thank none17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

I stayed on october 23-24. At the gatehouse at arrival didnt get a warm welcome from security. Almost turned around . At check in til check out . Had a awesome time . Enjoyed everything from canoe ride to fire with smores. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Will go back again . I keep thinking about it everyday since i left. A nice getway to relax your mind n body. The rooms were very nice n clean. All around service was excellent ! Except for that one guy that day . When leaving the property a different person was working n he was very friendy. Glad i didnt turn around because of one person with a radical attitude.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmgp12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

We only spent one night at Barnsley Gardens, but will go back and stay much longer! A gorgeous spot with so many amenities. We were celebrating our anniversary and were treated so warmly - even got a surprise goodie basket from the "Fairy Godmother" at Barnsley (LOVE that woman!!!). Great accomodations - our cabin had a large living space with great TV's (college football and the US Open were also part of our weekend), comfortable bed, great soaking tub and lovely amenities. The grounds are beautiful - I'd especially love to visit in the Fall with the leaves changing. The area was so peaceful and quiet! The facilities (pool, spa, fitness, golf) were great. The food was also very, very good. We played golf, enjoyed dancing under the stars at the Ruins, sat in the Beer Garden, investigated the trails, etc. A wonderful time!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momfromthesouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Recently stayed in a cottage with friends for the weekend and could not have had a better time. Barnsley is a fantastic getaway close to ATL. We all shared a cottage -- each had our own room. We chose to have the resort come cook for us one night at the cottage, which turned out to be excellent. You have a choice of selections from a menu -- they come right to the cottage, set up a grill and prepare a full meal. We couldn't finish all the food -- it was all excellent.

They do everything for you --- all you have to do is ask. We needed a fire started in a fire pit -- one phone call and they came and started it with a blow torch. The fire wood was plentiful. We did skeet shooting as a group one day and it was a blast. The instructors were fantastic and patient. Our group ranged from beginners to experienced hunters and we all had a great time. Throughout our stay the staff was very attentive -- if we needed anything ... they took care of it.

Barnsley is situated such that you are in your own quiet getaway. I couldn't tell how crowded the resort was as we really didn't see many people, but there were a lot of cars.

There was an acoustic guitar in the beer garden from 3pm to 6pm most nights. They cater to a lot of weddings at Barnsley and I imagine if you book a stay at the same time as a wedding they dynamics would be slightly different than our experience.

Overall, an excellent stay and a lot of fun.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlphaBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adairsville
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Adairsville/Calhoun Area
11.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Rome
10.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 5 in Adairsville
127 reviews
11.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cartersville
14.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cartersville
Hilton Garden Inn Cartersville
#2 of 23 in Cartersville
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnsley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnsley Resort

Address: 597 Barnsley Gardens Rd NW, Adairsville, GA 30103-5712
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Adairsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Adairsville
Price Range: £191 - £506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barnsley Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 60 miles north of Atlanta, Barnsley Resort welcomes guests into a storybook setting enhanced by genuine Southern hospitality. Encompassing 3,300 acres, the historic Barnsley Gardens offers a unique experience. Accommodations at Barnsley Resort are located within 36 unique guest cottages inspired by the architecture of Andrew Jackson Downing. There are 90 guest rooms and suites, or you may also reserve an entire cottage. Whether looking for a relaxing getaway weekend, strategic meeting or an elegant wedding, guests will discover a retreat of privacy and perfection. Amenities include regionally inspired dining, a boutique spa, and exciting recreational choices such as world-class golf,horseback riding, hiking, biking, paintball, tennis, barnyard visits and more. SpringBank Sporting Club offers a 26 station sporting clays course and upland bird hunting at SpringBank Plantation. Guests may also visit the iconic 19th century manor house ruins and historic gardens of the original Barnsley home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Barnsley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnsley Gardens Hotel Adairsville
Barnsley Gardens Adairsville
Barnsley Gardens Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing