We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect fall getaway”
Review of Barnsley Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Barnsley Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Adairsville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2013

My husband and I were celebrating our 5 year anniversary and decided to go back to Barnsley gardens. It was an even better experience than we've had the past 3 years. not my first massage, and my 60 min deep tissue with Brian Schultz was absolutely the best. We spent the afternoon at the beergarden with James as our bartender whose service was impeccable. The food, ambiance, and service was five star. It's the most relaxing way to spend your time off of work

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BNewcomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 445 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

I hate to give Barnsley a bad review: the restaurants were amazing, the grounds were spectacular, the spa was everything we hoped it would be... However, when it comes to lodging cleanliness is everything. We were awaken in the middle of night by a critter in the attic crawling across the ceiling. It got louder and louder throughout the night and sounded like it was going to come through the ceiling at any time. When we turned on the lights in the morning, we got the dreadful surprise of roaches scattering across the bedroom. It was disgusting to say the least. We called Guest Services to report the problems, and the guy just replied they'd have someone come spray. By this point, we were done. Packed up the car and left. Extremely disappointed in the way the whole issue was handled. Not the way we wanted to spend our anniversary.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bchuston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer B, Manager at Barnsley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear bchuston: I very much appreciate your making us aware of the issues that you encountered during your stay and sincerely apologize for your poor experience. I assure you that this is not the experience we strive to offer our guests and is the exception to the rule. With the evenings getting cooler and as we begin placing firewood on our cottage porches, outdoor critters including wood bugs do sometimes make their way inside. This is not caused by sanitation issues, as our housekeeping and pest control standards are some of the most rigorous in the industry. Thanks to your notification we were able to find and release the squirrel that had gotten in the attic of your cottage! Again thank you for choosing our property and if you return to the area I would love to have the opportunity to have you stay with us again.

Warmest regards,
Jennifer Ball

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

We have traveled the world and stayed at many of the very best resorts and hotels and this rates up at the top of our list.

It is a beautiful almost picture perfect resort built around an incredible historic mansion called Woodlands that dates back to the 1850s. Wonderful old mansion and gardens and an amazing history.

They built the resort around Woodlands and it is made up of these magnificient Victorian houses along beautiful tree lined streets. Each house is an old classic reproduction - beautiful on the outside and very nicely furnished inside with a lounge, seperate bedroom and ensuite.

Lots to do there - golf, shooting, walking trails, pool, spa, gym or just walk around the magnificient village, old mansion ruins and the gardens and relax.

They have an on site historian who can take you thru the history of the site and the Barnsley Family story. Fascinating.

The restaurant was very good over looking the golf course and the beautiful woods.

Service was fantastic - they went out of of their way to make it all go like clock work. When there is a problem it is how they fix it that makes the difference. We had a small issue one night at the restaurant and Scott the manager fixed it immediately.

Bath and shower products are great as well.

Excellent place to visit. We had 3 beautiful days there - I hope to get back again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adriand99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

My husband & I went for 1 night away, it's only 2.5 hours from us. We were so impressed with the lodging...the cottage was so spacious, clean, & cozy! If only it had been cooler so we could've enjoyed the fireplace!

We enjoyed lunch at the Woodlands Grill and dinner at the Rice House. We tried skeet shooting while we were there, too. My husband loved it, me not so much! It was cool to experience, but wasn't my thing!

It was a very peaceful resort...we just enjoyed relaxing & walking around the ruins with a glass of wine in hand. One night there was enough for us though.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bkdj96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We spent three days at Barnsley Gardens Resort on our way back home to Naples, FL. The accomodations, activities, service, food and staff were outstanding. We have recently stayed at Blackberry Farm, The Ritz Carlton at Half Moon Bay and The White Barn Inn. Our choice for overall satisfaction, value and going beyond expectations is Barnsley Gardens. Definitely a five star in every category.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 112,546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I visited Barnsley Gardens for a very short stay for a wedding. I had never heard of it so didn't have high expectations. Now I wish we had stayed longer to enjoy all the resort has to offer. Our room was very comfortable and clean. The staff were super friendly and helpful. Parking was very convenient and while you could walk all around the grounds to see the various parts of the resort, the staff offered to take us there via golf cart if we desired - very cool.

The wedding ceremony was in the coolest part of the resort - called "the ruins" - the remains of an old brick building with gorgeous gardens. It was a fantastic setting - nature but well kept and mixed in with the old timey feeling of an old building. It made for a beautiful ceremony. The reception was indoors due to rain and that building (can't remember the name) was great - high ceilings, wood beams and floors but very modern and comfortable. The wait staff and food was excellent.

I only briefly visited one of the bar/restaurants on site after the reception and walking back to our room we noticed these giant fire pits surrounded by adirondack chairs scattered through the buildings where the rooms were. (The room we stayed in was in a building that looked like a large house, but was divided into I suppose 4 different rooms - very cozy feeling.) There were people hanging outside late into the night at these fire pits - it looked like so much fun! I loved that you could have a semi private experience like that in the safety and comfort of the resort property.

I'm not a golfer but the course looked great and next time I go I'll take advantage of the spa services! Definitely worth a return trip to see more, and located only a short drive from midtown Atlanta.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilyER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

A wonderful place to stay and play very close to home. Took a skeet shooting lesson and really enjoyed it. The food was fantastic and the service was good. The grounds are beautiful and we took a very nice hike and strolled after dinner.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Llkewlj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adairsville
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Adairsville/Calhoun Area
11.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Rome
10.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Rome, GA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rome
10.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Rome-East
6.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 5 in Adairsville
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnsley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnsley Resort

Address: 597 Barnsley Gardens Rd NW, Adairsville, GA 30103-5712
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Adairsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Adairsville
Price Range: £172 - £442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barnsley Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just north of Atlanta, Barnsley Resort is nestled in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains. Our English-inspired village offers the ultimate retreat to unplug and reconnect, whether choosing the new Inn or one of our charming cottage-style accommodations. Connect with history, discover 3,000 acres of nature or pursue your passion with an array of outdoor activities to discover from hiking to horseback riding, from golf to sporting clays. Regionally inspired dining options, a boutique spa and a new meeting and events venue offer options for a leisure getaway, wedding or corporate event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Barnsley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnsley Gardens Hotel Adairsville
Barnsley Gardens Adairsville
Barnsley Gardens Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing