We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical”
Review of Barnsley Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barnsley Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Adairsville
Certificate of Excellence
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This was our 6th year coming to Barnsley for our anniversary. Even though it was pouring rain, we still had a great stay. The room was perfect, and the service was excellent. Thank you to Greg "The wine Snob" for making our anniversary extra special.

Room Tip: It is very quiet during the holiday season, and beautifully decorated for Christmas. We always get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redandblackn10a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    87
    24
    11
    7
See reviews for
85
185
14
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

I highly recommend this resort. Immediately upon arriving we knew our visit would be wonderful. Beautifully decorated for Christmas from the entrance gate, to our cottage,to the restaurants and the Ruins. Southern Hospitality at its finest. Kudos to Tim our golf cart driver, he gave us the Grand Tour of the Ruins. Went we returned from our dinner the night before at The Woodlands where I might add we had the most wonderful Filet/Fried Lobster dinner ever. Arriving back at the cottage to a toasty lit fire/s'mores. Sorry I can't remember the name of the young lady that prepared our room. After tipping she noticed we had inadvertently given her a large amount for a tip, she returned to our room to tell us and give it back. Its rare to find such honesty. Thank you so much. The only thing I would change about the weekend is a little too early wake up call from the firewood person replenishing our firewood on the porch. Can't wait for warmer weather so we can go back and enjoy every aspect of this resort. Thanks for a perfect birthday weekend.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dkharrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalton, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I have played golf a number of times ,and also have attended business meetings at this great resort. A beautiful setting , great golf , the spa , fishing , trails to hike and great food. This week I hosted a small meeting that I held in one of the many cottages. Had a great business result followed by an outstanding dinner. The closeness to Atlanta or Chattanooga makes this a great environment thats' close enough but feels worlds away. I recommend strongly.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bruce_conlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This is a beautiful property in a remote area of north Georgia. The setting with individual cottages for anywhere from one to 6 occupants is idea for relaxation and activities galore. However, since my wife's company stayed at this property for a business meeting last year and returned this year, there has been a decline in management. Some attention to maintenance both inside and outside the cottages and other buildings is needed to justify the price. And with all resorts the tax upon tax on the rooms is a bit over the top. So, ask what the total cost of a cottage will be before booking, I might add the food at the different restaurants is very good and the activities with a championship golf course, skeet shooting, horse back riding, fishing, hunting and many lawn games are very good. Whether for business functions or pleasure it's not a bad place to visit since they offer so many activities and amenities.

Room Tip: Cottages at the resort are different from the outside and many are different inside depending on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

What a wonderful place! We stayed at Barnsley for a few days to get away from the city and celebrate a special occasion. Everyone was so friendly and helpful, it made us feel right at home. Had a "cabin" with our own sitting area and fireplace. We were even provided with a s'mores kit to enjoy on our own. Food at the Woodlands Grill was lovely (breakfast and dinner).

Beds were comfortable. Bathrooms were well-appointed (large claw-foot tub is awesome).

Loved being able to bring our dog with us: enjoyed being able to go hiking and sightseeing together.

Unfortunately, due to poor weather, we were not able to take advantage of the other activities offered.

We'll be back again!

Room Tip: There aren't any bad rooms at this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgian08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
483 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

First, the rooms on the website are not the room you get, they are much more generic. There is nothing wrong with this place but I can't understand the premium pricing either. If you are heading to a resort of this price go to the mountains or the ocean.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fritz_the_1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My family and I have been staying at Barnsley Gardens for years. We have always enjoyed our stay without exception. What is even more wonderful, it that the resort has managed to maintain the beauty of its location as well as the standard of service it provides, while also making any needed changes and continuing to improve over time. The staff is very personable and professional. They do not hesitate to make your stay what you would like it to be. For example, we have had our dog with us on several visits, and they have provided snacks, bowls, and bed for our pet, and even made arrangements for us to dine outdoors on the grounds if we wanted bring our pet with us. The resort is beautifully maintained. It offers miles of trails for walking, fishing, golfing, lawn games, picnics, swimming, horseback riding, etc. etc. The Springbanck Plantation which is affiliated with the resort, is an excellent facility for shooting sporting clays or getting in some target practice. My young teens took lessons while there and learned proper gun etiquette as well as improving their shot. Once again, the staff was professional and pleasant. We have made this a tradition to include with every visit since. The Woodlands Grill overlooks the golf course and is great for any meal of the day. The Rice House is closer to the Ruins and is open on weekends for more upscale dining. Each offers a menu with many favorites and southern themed courses. The bar off of The Grill is great to gather and play some pool or just hang out. The Barnsley Ruins are nice to wander through and learn the history of the site. During the Holidays, they are lit at night and decorated for the season. The cabins themselves are very charming. They have clawfoot tubs, plenty of storage space for your belongings with an armoire, dressers, etc. By having different rooms throughout the cabin everyone may have their own sense of space. They are arranged on lanes (no cars) so it can have the feel of a little town, yet you still feel a sense of privacy. Each cabin has porches with big swings for unwinding and enjoying the scenery. There are cabins offered in different sizes depending on the size of your party. We have stayed in several types over the years, but they have each been very nice - like your own little place in the countryside. The cabins have fireplaces already stocked with the logs set to go, and have at least a wet bar, refrigerator, and other amenities, in case you want to bring snacks, wine, softdrinks, etc., from home to have on hand. At night you will find bonfires going, and you may find one in a secluded spot, or visit with other guests along the great lawn. The Beer Garden is another spot to visit with friends. It is along the main lawn and the fire pit offers s'mores for toasting. The resort offers fishing poles and paddle boats if you would like to make use of one of the ponds. Along some of the walking paths or playing golf, you will often see the many swans that live on the grounds gliding across the water. It is a beautiful place, and we have seen at least a couple of beautiful weddings held on the property. Some time at the Spa is well spent and a nice place for pampering yourself. If you should require anything, the staff is quick to respond and make use of their golf carts - whether it is delivering dinner to your cabin, or providing more firewood, they are ready to help. It is truly one of our favorite spot for a getaway, with family or just as a couple. We tend to prefer the Fall, but Spring is absolutely gorgeous when everything if in bloom. The gardens are very special. I feel like my review sounds like an advertisement, but honestly, we have always had a nice time while staying there. I highly recommend Barnsley Gardens Resort.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MFC-Windsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adairsville
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Adairsville
6.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 5 in Adairsville
120 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calhoun
14.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cartersville
Hilton Garden Inn Cartersville
#2 of 23 in Cartersville
563 reviews
12.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Calhoun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnsley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnsley Resort

Property: Barnsley Resort
Address: 597 Barnsley Gardens Rd NW, Adairsville, GA 30103-5712
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Adairsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Adairsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barnsley Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 60 miles north of Atlanta, Barnsley Resort welcomes guests into a storybook setting enhanced by genuine Southern hospitality. Encompassing 3,300 acres, the historic Barnsley Gardens offers a unique experience. Accommodations at Barnsley Resort are located within 36 unique guest cottages inspired by the architecture of Andrew Jackson Downing. There are 90 guest rooms and suites, or you may also reserve an entire cottage. Whether looking for a relaxing getaway weekend, strategic meeting or an elegant wedding, guests will discover a retreat of privacy and perfection. Amenities include regionally inspired dining, a boutique spa, and exciting recreational choices such as world-class golf,horseback riding, hiking, biking, paintball, tennis, barnyard visits and more. SpringBank Sporting Club offers a 26 station sporting clays course and upland bird hunting at SpringBank Plantation. Guests may also visit the iconic 19th century manor house ruins and historic gardens of the original Barnsley home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barnsley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnsley Gardens Hotel Adairsville
Barnsley Gardens Adairsville
Barnsley Gardens Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing