We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it.”
Review of Barnsley Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barnsley Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Adairsville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We found this place few years ago and have been back three more times. Going back again this summer. There is no bad time of year to go here. Gorgeous grounds, great food, great hiking, fishing, golf, hunting, horseback. I could go on and on. Check out the website. It shows you everything. I love this place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dfis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (432)
There are newer reviews for Barnsley Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

I took my wife to Barnsley Resort for or anniversary and dined at the Woodlands Grill for our "anniversary meal". Our server Tripp Ross went way out of his way to make sure our special evening was "over-the-top". I had the filet which was prepared to perfection and my wife had the scallops which the presentation was absolutely beautiful! Definitely try the lobster tail and jalapeno poppers appetizers before your meal. The service from Tripp was so personable and professional as he made us feel like we were his only table and had his undivided attention even though we saw him taking care of his other guests the same way. This was such a very memorable evening.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jbates64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Our family just went to Barnsley Resort for a couple of days, and it was perfect! The cottages were very nice and relaxing, and just a short walk from everything. The Woodlands Grill served delicious food, and the ruins were absolutely stunning. There was something for everyone as well, whether it be golfing, biking, tennis, or a day at the spa. Not to mention the wonderful Fairy Godmother who brought gifts. Every staff member was more than hospitable, making sure our stay was as enjoyable as it could get. Barnsley Resort is recommended to everyone, and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nimbus215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our 20 year wedding renewal and it also was his birthday. The dinner staff even brought my husband a cake. Rooms are very nice and beds super comfy. All the staff has been wonderful. Gene was the sweetest man when we arrived. Very pleasant! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tvandiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed there in early March 2014. It was quiet and peaceful. The grounds were well maintained and clean. The Rice House restaurant served fresh food and really delish.
The workers were polite and friendly. Fire rings available for whomever wanted to use them.
Whirlpool available for late night soakings.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DelGer b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in late Feb. It was absolutely wonderful and relaxing. We went to the spa fri and sat. Both treatments we had were great. We ate at The Rice House both nights. The food was tasty and worth the price. Yes, expensive but we expected that. Sat night was esp. busy. While waiting for our food we were brought fried lobster for an appetizer. The wait staff and manager were extremely hospitable. We hiked both sat and sun mornings for 2 hrs give or take. So peaceful and not difficult. The ruins of the old Barnsley mansion were 'cool'. They were setting up for a wedding and I would definitely consider having my wedding here(if I wasn't married)very eclectic and one of a kind. We were told the resort was at 98% capacity sat night. It didn't feel like it at all!! There were people around but we had space, a lot of space. We had lunch twice at the beer gardens. Good sandwiches and nice to enjoy the weather outside. Jean made our stay!! He was always bringing wood for the fire pits outside and wood for the fireplace in our room. Ask Jean and you shall receive. The golf course is very well maintained. My husband is a golfer and stated he will be coming back to play!! If you truly want to get away, this is the place. We will be going back, probably this year. I do think children and teens would enjoy the resort as well.

Room Tip: On the green, centrally located.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twista1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed here for one night on December 23. It was a very cold day, so we could not partake of golf, bicycling, etc., but this is a beautiful place and the adjacent gardens and mansion ruins have an interesting history. Each room is in a fourplex (which look like large houses), and each of the fourplex buildings has distinctive architecture. Most of them front on a long green, with the hotel's two restaurants at each end. Our room was "upscale rustic" with a comfortable king bed and two separate bathrooms (only one shower and tub). The room had a fireplace which would have been nice on this cold night, but we never turned it on. The most upscale restaurant was not open on this night, but the other one was very good---excellent food, good service, nice wine list, and with a warm, inviting atmosphere. In general, resort staff were friendly, and we had no issues at all.

The entire property, including most of the buildings, was decorated with Christmas lights, so it was really festive to stay here right before Christmas. They really did a good job on this. And the rate for this night was a bargain discounted one, which made it even more enjoyable! There were many families staying here, and apparently most of them would spend Christmas here.

Barnsley Manor and its gardens were only a 5 minute walk from our room. In touring the small museum inside the manor ruins, we met Clent Coker, the author of a book on the history of the manor and its families from the early 19th century on. We bought his book, and if you like good historical nonfiction, I would highly recommend it. Reading the book after we got home after Chrismas really put an added highlight to our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lchjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adairsville
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Adairsville/Calhoun Area
11.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Rome
10.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Countryside
Magnuson Hotel Countryside
#5 of 5 in Adairsville
56 reviews
12.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Calhoun
10.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnsley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnsley Resort

Address: 597 Barnsley Gardens Rd NW, Adairsville, GA 30103-5712
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Adairsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Adairsville
Price Range: £185 - £479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barnsley Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 60 miles north of Atlanta, Barnsley Resort welcomes guests into a storybook setting enhanced by genuine Southern hospitality. Encompassing 3,300 acres, the historic Barnsley Gardens offers a unique experience. Accommodations at Barnsley Resort are located within 36 unique guest cottages inspired by the architecture of Andrew Jackson Downing. There are 90 guest rooms and suites, or you may also reserve an entire cottage. Whether looking for a relaxing getaway weekend, strategic meeting or an elegant wedding, guests will discover a retreat of privacy and perfection. Amenities include regionally inspired dining, a boutique spa, and exciting recreational choices such as world-class golf,horseback riding, hiking, biking, paintball, tennis, barnyard visits and more. SpringBank Sporting Club offers a 26 station sporting clays course and upland bird hunting at SpringBank Plantation. Guests may also visit the iconic 19th century manor house ruins and historic gardens of the original Barnsley home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Barnsley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnsley Gardens Hotel Adairsville
Barnsley Gardens Adairsville
Barnsley Gardens Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing