We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great southern BBQ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Character's Famous BBQ - CLOSED

Character's Famous BBQ
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Waleska, Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great southern BBQ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I went to Characters BBQ today the building is small but the food is very tasty !! You get a lot of food for the money Michael piles the meat on I have been to bigger BBQ restaurants and when you leave you are still hungry. There is a wait to place your order but he is a one man deal he cooks, serves and handles the orders and takes the money. But the food is worth the wait and the price is very reasonable he doesn't try to rob you either. As for the other reviews that were bad they had to be some kind of snobby Yankees who should have kept their snooty butts out of the south! And yes Fla. people count as Yankees too!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    5
    2
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“No atmosphere. ALL BBQ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

If your are in or driving by Adairsville on Interstate 75 and it's between 11 and 12:30, you must stop by this barbecue joint for lunch. (If its after 12:30 you might be sold out of the Q.)

There's not a lot of places to sit and you won't be taking pictures of anything, but you will definitely tell your friends about it

The barbecue and the proprietor have a lot Character!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Redd&Bleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great BBQ and Owner - nothing Fancy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Smoker under a carport. Small building with little seating. Great food reasonably priced. Owner is friendly and eager to please.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank smith4529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Dry and tasteless!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

If this is common BBQ in the south, they need to check out northern ways of cooking! It was dry and tasted weird, like some kind of other animal meat. The inside of this little hut was filthy! We were going to eat inside but took it to go after seeing inside. I almost didn't order at all. Wish I hadn't! Don't bother with this place!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank steve j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“BBQ Snob”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

I admit it; I am a BBQ Snob. I am very picky when it comes to BBQ, and Character's BBQ Ribs are by far the best I've ever had. I can't help but think that the people who gave this place a bad rating are more accustomed to fast-food-type BBQ instead of the real thing. These ribs are slow smoked over hickory and are wonderful. They just fall off the bone.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Character's Famous BBQ also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing