We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and Homey”
Review of Merry Acres Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Merry Acres Inn
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Albany
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Was back in Albany for a 70's reunion and Merry Acres was the host Inn. What a nice change from the big chain hotels. Locally owned and operated, a true mid century gem. The rooms were spacious and clean, internet that worked too! I did not get the opportunity to eat there except for the breakfast that was included. Fresh cooked eggs, biscuits and sausage. All were delicious. Was a little disappointed there was no fruit out, but I still enjoyed the breakfast. Nice big pool and sitting area. I would not hesitate to stay there again!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JSD53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We checked in around 6:00 and immediately went to the pool without looking around our room. We got back to our room around 11:00 and realized there were no sheets/blankets for the pull out sofa. I called front desk and they send some right over. While waiting the kid's took 2 showers and we realized the drain wasn't working properly, the tub was almost full of dirty water. Meanwhile 40 minutes later still no sheets/blankets. I called back to the office and they said he was on the way. About 5 minutes later they showed up with sheets, but no blankets. By this time my kids were already asleep and we just gave them the blanket from our bed. I called the next morning about the drain and was told no maintenance person works Sunday and there really wasn't anything they could do. So I had to take a shower with little drain capability. The bathroom itself was old and in need of repairs. At checkout when asked how my stay was, I made them aware, but was offered no apology. I try to give local/American owned places a try to help them stay in business, but with my next trip to Albany it won't be at Merry Acres.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Chan2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErinWhatley, Guest Relations Manager at Merry Acres Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Hi Chan,

We are so sorry to hear about your experience here at Merry Acres. We always aim for the highest level of service and our staff aims to quickly respond to any needs of our guests. Thank you so much for letting us know about your experience, and I hope you will consider returning to our property so that we can show you the southern charm and exemplary service that we are known for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We found this inn on trip advisor. We were searching for a different route home from Nashville to Florida that was pet friendly. Our room was very clean and updated except for the bathroom a little small. Check in was easy and staff very friendly. One suggestion wld be to put pet waste stations on property. I carry pet bags with me but couldn't find a garbage can near by. Would stay again!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank gogators87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My fiancé and I have stayed at Merry Acres twice now and we love it. During our first stay, we enjoyed the fresh summer air out on the front porch as well as the kind company that joined us. We also had the chance to ride one of the shuttle buses to one the recommended restaurants. The gentlemen who transported us were of the absolute kindest nature, opening the doors for us and telling us everything possible about the town.

Never have we experienced negative service at Merry Acres. Checking in, checking out and lounging on the front porch have always been pleasant. Additionally, the full breakfast offered in the restaraunt is more than any one could ask for to start their day, and of course it's complimentary with the room.

We would recommend this establishment to anyone. It is quiet and quaint, but near enough to all the essentials with a shopping center and an auto parts store right across the street.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexlapierre32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My partner and I travel frequently for work and it seemed like Merry Acres was a perfect place for us given their proximity to the locations we were working at....We stayed there for three weeks during one trip and decided on staying there for our last week in Southwest Georgia,

During our first trip, the service delivered by Joan and Allen in the Hotel Rest was beyond reproach. There is another server ( female, stringy blonde/brown hair with glasses and a severe attitude disorder) that made no attempt to try and accommodate myself, my partner, nor the 10 fellow coworkers that were there with us. At one point during this 1st trip, she became hostile towards me and fell short of verbally berating me, unprovoked, in front of other guests staying at the hotel. I asked to speak to a member of management and was never contacted.

The final straw was this present trip in which this same server was so opposed to our group, that she refused service and made the whole ordeal unbearable. Once again, she came at me with a fiercely sharp tongue and used all sorts of tactics to make us feel unwelcomed and as though our service needs were unimportant. As one who patronizes eating establishments often, they lost out on me!! She told me that if "You don't like it, you can always leave." We are a group of professionals that were asking for service under the gazebo by the pool, the same place that we have been served at for the last 3 weeks!!

We asked to speak to Stewart Campbell, one of the Proprietors and for him to address our grievances! No such attempt was made on behalf of the hotel. Thank heavens for Shelby, an awesome server and staff member at the hotel!! We really felt bad for him, because she was making things difficult for him considering he really wished to accomodate us, given the fact there were only 2 people at the restaurant.

We decided to check-out and leave because of this woman and her hostile nature towards us! Upon our premature departure as a result of the deplorable service rendered by Merry Acres, our Corporate Lodging was charged and our personal credit cards duplicately charged for the same fee!

If you are looking for a quick trip, this could be your place. If you are looking for customized and top-notch service, I might recommend another hotel......

Very disappointed in the lack of professionalism that is displayed by the staff!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErinWhatley, Public Relations Manager at Merry Acres Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

To anyone reading this review:

This is a point-of-view that does not fully explain the nature of the situation. This guest refused to accept any beverage other than a glass bottle, which is against our corporate policy when drinking beside our pool. We have a very busy summer crowd using our pool service and it is of highest importance to us to protect the families and children who are walking barefoot around the exterior of the pool. As much as our Pub Manager would have loved to meet this gentleman's request, it was a demand we could not meet because of our owners' care for the safety of our guest. Our Pub Manager handled the guest's yelling and cursing with the utmost professionalism and did kindly ask the guest to leave when nothing would suffice. This was also for the care, comfort and safety of our other guests in the Pub that evening. Please know that when you come to Merry Acres our entire staff aims to treat every guest like family, but there are certain lines and limitations that we must abide by to maintain the atmosphere that our regular guests treasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at a number of hotels from MA to FL and nothing compares to the quality, professionalism, and "home like" environment than Merry Acres in Albany, GA. Their rooms are immaculate, the food is unreal, their Manor House and Pub is community and the staff is very personable. They go out of their way to make you feel like your at home!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Patrick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed here while passing through town on business. This is charming, motel style lodging -- but remodeled. Beautiful landscaping, a little oasis. Our room was updated and clean, the beds very comfortable. Every staff member we met was warm and welcoming. We had a drink in the pub, relaxing in the leather chairs. The shuttle driver (a free service) took us to The Catch for dinner and they knew we were coming! Afterwards, we relaxed around the pool. A lovely stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1234fasteddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
2.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Albany
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany
3.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Albany at Albany Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Albany
3.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Albany
3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#15 of 25 in Albany
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merry Acres Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merry Acres Inn

Address: 1500 Dawson Rd, Albany, GA 31707-3437 (Formerly Quality Inn Merry Acres)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Albany
#6 Business Hotel in Albany
Price Range: £86 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Merry Acres Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merry Acres is known for its impeccable service, spotless accommodations, and beautifully landscaped grounds. The large variety of amenities make it a place where you can relax around the secluded swimming pool and enjoy the shade of the gazebo; work out in the state-of-the-art PT GYM; enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast buffet; or utilize the 24 hour business center with two personal computers, high-speed internet, fax, copier, and printer. The rooms themselves are tastefully decorated yet comfortable, with all rooms offering a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, iron, ironing board, hairdryers, and high-speed internet.A particularly attractive feature of the Merry Acres Campus is the 5,900 square foot Event & Conference Center. For decades, it's been a favored spot for wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, banquets, corporate seminars and retreats, class and family reunions, showers, birthday parties, and fundraisers. That list has grown to include private parties, cocktail parties, and wine tastings.The appeal of Merry Acres Event Center is its ability to offer a number of various configurations to provide just the right amount of space for each group. But whether a large formal soiree or a smaller, more personal gathering, Merry Acres Event Center coordinates with your particular theme and enables a one-stop approach for your guests' lodging, meeting, and catering needs.In fact, the Stewbos Catering service works within the Merry Acres Restaurant, located within the Event Center. While the Merry Acres Restaurant is open daily for Breakfast and each Sunday from 11:00AM - 2:30PM for our Southern Lunch Buffet, the enormous kitchen now serves as the headquarters for Stewbos Catering on a daily basis. More recently, Merry Acres has added a full transportation to its list of services, including a complimentary shuttle van service for Hotel Guests and City Club Members. We are proud to announce our newest additions to the transportation service - a 1939 Studebaker and a Mercedes-Benz Sprinter, both available for rent for your next special occasion! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Merry Acres Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Merry Acres Hotel Albany
Quality Inn Albany
Albany Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing