We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smaller, but pleasant and polite staff.”
Review of Merry Acres Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Merry Acres Inn
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Albany
Reviewed 27 March 2007

I travel 4-5 times a year and I was really impressed with the polite and friendly staff. The hot breakfast buffet was hot and fresh. I saw nothing shabby about this hotel. I preferred it because it was more private and not as busy as a larger hotel and the price was very affordable. My room was very clean. I would definitely visit again.

Stayed: March 2007
3  Thank FNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2006

Yes the hotel is old. But is is clean and well taken care of. The property is lovely. There is a magnificient old oak tree that is amazing and a nice pool area. The breakfast is second to none. I am accustomed to seeing some bagels, pastries, and cold cereals at a buffet breakfast. This place has bacon, sausage, eggs AND fresh hot waffles, in addition to what you would find anywhere else. There were friendly employees milling around to help with whatever you needed.

Someone in our party got sick and we had to leave a day earlier than planned. Not only were the staff kind and understanding, they did not charge us for a late checkout on the day of departure.

I also left my pillow in the room. By the time I had discovered it, the pillow had been moved to another room as the staff did not recognize that it was not one of theirs. They searched for 2 days until they found my pillow and shipped it back to me.

We were treated with real Southern hospitality as though the hotel were family owned....not as though we were staying in a corporate owned property.

If you don't like a place that has doors that open to the outside, they have a sister-hotel on the same property that is newer.

We definately would stay here again thanks to the way Vicki and the rest of the staff treated us.

KC from Bradenton, Florida

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank KCBradenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Atlanta
11
Reviewed 12 June 2006

Not quite sure where the other reviews stayed, but apparently it wasn't here. The hotel is broken up into 2 parts- the Comfort Inn and the Quality Inn. One has the newer 2 story building with interior hallways and the nicer rooms. We were on the other side though, within the "motor lodge" part where you literally park your car 4 feet from your front door. This section is all single story units. This is the older section. Yucky, nasty, and smelly. For people to say that this is the "nicest hotel in Albany" is a bit misleading. There is a Sleep Inn across the street that from the outside looked 10x nicer than Merry Acres. On top of that, there is a Hilton Garden Inn a couple of miles down the road across from the Civic Center. I would strongly suggest either of those over this motel. I really hate to write negative reviews on places, but on the final day when my washcloth literally shredded in my hands, I just knew that the "quality" was missing from the Quality Inn.

Stayed: June 2006
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2006

Great Place to Stay. Huge, comfortable rooms. Great staff at desk and in housekeeping. The best continental breakfast I have ever had anywhere. Safe, convenient parking. Best hotel experience I have had in several years.

  • Stayed: March 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RomeListener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Athens, GA
868
Reviewed 5 May 2003

Merry Acres is the only place I stay while visiting Albany. The Comfort Suites provides interior corridors with spacious rooms decorated in traditional decor. The staff is very warm and the hotel provides all the amenities a typical traveler could need. Business travelers are appreciated with the well stocked business center and location to town. The warm breakfast option is delicious and included. Overall, a great value

13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2003

I stayed at the Quality Inn Merry Acres last week for a couple of nights. The rooms were good, you could walk around in your bare feet which is a plus with me. The breakfast buffet was better than most, it included real bacon. There was a happy hour where I had beer gratis. I had a problem with my bill that I did not notice until I was doing my expense report back in the office. The hotel quickly remedied the problem. I had been charged in excess of $20 both nights for a call to a local # for my internet service provider. I faxed the hotel a copy of my bill explaining that I had checked with the local phone company before dialing in to be sure that it was indeed a local phone number. It was. The hotel faxed me back a copy of a receipt showing that they had reversed the charges from my American Express account. The problem occured because the phone number was one that was fairly new; the 3-digit prefix had only recently been added to the Albany area, and had not been programmed yet into the phone system at the hotel.

8  Thank btolford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
Thank Fabricio Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErinWhatley, Public Relations Manager at Merry Acres Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
2.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Albany
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany
3.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Albany at Albany Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Albany
3.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Albany
3.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#15 of 25 in Albany
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merry Acres Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merry Acres Inn

Address: 1500 Dawson Rd, Albany, GA 31707-3437 (Formerly Quality Inn Merry Acres)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Albany
#6 Business Hotel in Albany
Price Range: £87 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Merry Acres Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merry Acres is known for its impeccable service, spotless accommodations, and beautifully landscaped grounds. The large variety of amenities make it a place where you can relax around the secluded swimming pool and enjoy the shade of the gazebo; work out in the state-of-the-art PT GYM; enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast buffet; or utilize the 24 hour business center with two personal computers, high-speed internet, fax, copier, and printer. The rooms themselves are tastefully decorated yet comfortable, with all rooms offering a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, iron, ironing board, hairdryers, and high-speed internet.A particularly attractive feature of the Merry Acres Campus is the 5,900 square foot Event & Conference Center. For decades, it's been a favored spot for wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, banquets, corporate seminars and retreats, class and family reunions, showers, birthday parties, and fundraisers. That list has grown to include private parties, cocktail parties, and wine tastings.The appeal of Merry Acres Event Center is its ability to offer a number of various configurations to provide just the right amount of space for each group. But whether a large formal soiree or a smaller, more personal gathering, Merry Acres Event Center coordinates with your particular theme and enables a one-stop approach for your guests' lodging, meeting, and catering needs.In fact, the Stewbos Catering service works within the Merry Acres Restaurant, located within the Event Center. While the Merry Acres Restaurant is open daily for Breakfast and each Sunday from 11:00AM - 2:30PM for our Southern Lunch Buffet, the enormous kitchen now serves as the headquarters for Stewbos Catering on a daily basis. More recently, Merry Acres has added a full transportation to its list of services, including a complimentary shuttle van service for Hotel Guests and City Club Members. We are proud to announce our newest additions to the transportation service - a 1939 Studebaker and a Mercedes-Benz Sprinter, both available for rent for your next special occasion! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Merry Acres Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Merry Acres Hotel Albany
Quality Inn Albany
Albany Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing