We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treat for your taste buds”
Review of Madras Chettinad

Madras Chettinad
Ranked #32 of 523 Restaurants in Alpharetta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Reservations
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A treat for your taste buds”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

I had been to this restaurant earlier for a lunch buffet on a weekday and was completely happy with the kind of spread they offered. I had heard that the buffet spread on weedends are much wider and richer and hence tried visiting this place last Saturday. However, looking at the large number of families waiting outside, I had to change my mind. This shows that this place is very popular among the indians as well as locals.

Yesterday, I had few guests at home and had an opportunity to take them to this place for a dinner, and all of us were extremely impressed with the food as well as the service. As they don't serve buffet for dinner, we had to order by Menu. We are from Mumbai (India) and we all were pleasantly surprised to hear a Sardar - North Indian (looking after our table) speaking my language so fluently. The service offered by this guy was par excellence. The food (right from the starters to mains) was very tasty. Mutton Kolhapuri needs a special mention.

After having visited few Indian restaurants in Alpharetta, I would rate this restaurant to be number one Indian Restaurant in Alpharetta

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KuwaitGlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    50
    20
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Where Indians go to eat.”
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

Go for the lunch buffet and graze for at least an hour. Wonderful food. Buffet is a great value. Come hungry.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Renman2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpharetta
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Good food, extensive Indian buffet, good value. Just be careful what you wear as the food seems to permanently stain fabric if you happen to get a spot on your clothing. Better for spending and hour or two than just a quick lunch so you have time to relax and enjoy it all. Come hungry. Come early also as it fills up quickly by 12pm from my experiences.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thom1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great spot for lunch”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Stopped by here for a lunchbreak and went for the buffet. The food was very authentic with good choices of chilli panner and a fish dish called "Fish 65". Seasoned Indian fans can safely ignore any spicy warnings you might see above the dishes. The restaurant is huge but was pretty quiet at lunchtime, maybe it gets busier in the evenings.
Buffet was $10 - bargain!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank uvarvu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Best Chettinad food in Atlanta”
Reviewed 29 November 2012

I have visited most of the Indian restaurants in Atlanta and I feel that this place provides the authentic South Indian food varieties. People from South India would definitely love this place. The lunch buffet in particular is awesome. It has a lot of varieties and tastes good too. Would love to visit this place again to taste the flavor of the Chettinad.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ajai R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Madras Chettinad also viewed

 

Been to Madras Chettinad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing