We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Place with Excellent Sashimi”
Review of Sushi Uchi

Sushi Uchi
Ranked #57 of 521 Restaurants in Alpharetta
Cuisines: Sushi
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
USA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Small Place with Excellent Sashimi”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Sushi Uchi is an incredibly small place, seating about 8-9 at the sushi bar, and maybe 25-30 at booth/table set-ups. Nice atmosphere with modern design, and we found it quiet enough for conversation, despite the music which was strangely 70s & early 80s genre.

Without a reservation, we arrived about 4:45pm (opens at 4:30pm) on a Saturday, and we chose to be seated at the sushi bar. We had many of the usual rolls, and were really pleased by how fresh they were. So, we decided to let them suggest some of their house special rolls, a couple of which are not on the menu: “Mountain Roll” and a roll involving crispy rice. They were excellent! We highly recommend the Ahi Tuna Tower (on menu) as an appetizer. It was incredible! The sashimi was also incredibly fresh.

Our server was attentive, especially with ensuring that we had plenty of hot sake. Everything was reasonably priced, and we will gladly go back to Sushi Uchi again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hollyhayden69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    17
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
111 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best sushi I've ever eaten”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

This is by far the most creative and delicious sushi I've ever eaten. Try the Ahi Tower or Vista Roll but don't miss the Crispy Rice Roll. Unbelievable. Small place and it gets crowded even on week nights but if you're in the area, you shouldn't pass this place up.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LinaMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roswell, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Sushi EVER!!”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Such a delightful find. I stopped by this place after seeing several check-ins from friends on Facebook. They have the freshest sushi I've ever had in Atlanta. The staff is very friendly and the service is great! I only wish they had a bigger space and could serve more than just sushi!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummy Date Night”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

My husband and I went out for a date night and found this sushi restaurant refreshing. It is in a shopping strip mall (isn't that where you find the best ones?) and a small, maybe 10 table restaurant. We sat at the sushi bar and had some simple rolls (California and Spicy Tuna) along with one of their specialty rolls. The only reason I didn't rate it as "excellent" is because we have had a better spicy tuna roll elsewhere, but the sushi tasted fresh and was wonderfully prepared. The samurai roll had sweet potato in it and it was fun to have something different- a true take on Japanese/American fusion. As odd as it may sound, the toppings were our favorite part. The ginger was some of the most fresh ginger I have ever tasted-and I have eaten a lot of sushi. The wasabi was also really fresh and tasty- not just spicy. This was a great find and we would definitely go back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mitchells342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Speechless”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Joanna- you might want to improve your grasp of the english language before you point out the shortcomings of an "uneducated server". Anyway, thanks for the laugh.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SgtBilko29196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sushi Uchi also viewed

 

Been to Sushi Uchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing