We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“PARADISE!!!!”
Review of Playa Blanca Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Playa Blanca Villa
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“PARADISE!!!!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Our family and extended family of 8 stayed 5 days in Playa Blanca, Thank God for my friend who suggested it!, it was the best "first" trip to Belize I could imagine. It was a first class stay! I can't imagine another House or villa much more enjoyable then this one. Everyone was so nice, we felt like a part of their family. Moraina and Esau were absolutely amazing people, everything you needed they would do for you are help you the best way they could. From Cleaning up after dinner to making reservations and transportation pickup to restaurants by boat. Homemade tortillas were the best, thanks Moraina. Esau was always busy keeping the grounds and plants perfectly beautiful and fixing things that had gone bad from the weather. There wasn't one thing to complain about. We were lucky and had beautiful weather every day! The pool was absolutely amazing to jump into after a long day of snorkeling with Tacio. Beds were extremely comfortable with big fluffy down comforters and a perfectly cold temperature bedroom to sleep in. It made waking up hard to do. The sunrises in the morning just a step away from the front door to the patio, that was higher then the property, so you could see the water for miles. Tacio our boat captain and his son on occasion helped in every way possible to make our experience away from the property to be fun and adventurous. From petting a nurse shark, picking up starfish and Conch shells, Lobster diving(4 lobster the first time and 8 the next time, thanks to Tacio) and snorkeling the best coral reefs that Belize had, Fishing in the dark blue waters that were amazing. We didn't catch something amazing to eat but the Shark we caught and Barracuda was an experience to never forget. Tacio cooked the barracuda meat on the grill with some vegetables it was delicious! Everyday was an adventure!. What makes Playa Blanca different from other places, is that you would have had to do all of this, that we did with individual companies, to take you out to all these different excursions, and the price for each of these trips would have been extremely expensive. This was the #1 plus to this house. And it's free with the House, only the gas purchase at the end of the trip, and that was not a big deal, well worth every penny. There are three restaurants along the beach with easy access to Playa Blanca, Mantachica, Portofino, and Rojo. A family of 8 is always going to be no less then $30 dollars a person, keep that in mind. But definitely pick up groceries in town. Eggs with Moraina's tortillas were amazing, make sure to pick up cheese and hot sauce. Mostly breakfast foods and snacks. Check the expiration date on the milk before you buy it. No need for a Golf cart. Bikes are there for you to use and Kayaks. I can't say enough good things about this place, It was the most relaxing trip we have ever been on, and we also brought 4, young adults in college and just out of college,who loved every minute of it and wished we had one more day!! We invited extended family also who thought it was amazing, they loved Toucans nest!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theresastrawser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed for 5 nights for a girls trip with total of 9 women. It was one of the best vacations EVER! Tacio is the best - he is your boat driver, concierge, dive/snorkel master, and fishing guide and MORE! The property is beautiful. As others have mentioned in their reviews, Moraina cleans and does everyone's laundry daily. The property is beautifully maintained by her husband. There are restaurants w/in walking distance that all had great food! Tacio can plan a day for you meeting all of your expectations for any activity! Loved this place!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elainepirwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, NJ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed at Playa Blanca with a group of 7 friends. We had a great time and would recommend to stay here.

Pros:
- Tacio and his boat are a huge plus! Tacio was fun and knowledgeable and did a great job getting us around and taking us to great spots.
- Moraina made amazing tortillas - you must ask her for them! Having the house cleaned is really nice and helps to make it a true vacation. Laundry is a plus as well.
- The grounds of the house are really beautiful. Esau does a great job maintaining the property
- The outdoor eating area and grill are perfect and make dinners much easier.
- Location - nice to be close to Hol Chan and somewhat close to San Pedro. Snorkeling at Hol Chan is amazing!
- Toucan's Nest is really cute and nice for people who may want a bit more privacy.

Cons:
- House setup is a bit misleading on the site. The two twin beds are in the middle of the house and not in rooms, so there are no doors, closets or privacy (there is a curtain to pull to get some privacy, but then no one can walk to the kitchen). The two bathrooms in the house are inside the two bedrooms, so if you are the person staying the the twin beds in the middle of the house, you need to go into other people's rooms to use the bathroom. Fine if you are a family with kids, but for a group of couples this was a bit strange.
- Accessibility - Tacio leaves at 4 or 5 each day so if you are having dinner in San Pedro you will need to take a water taxi home. The ferry stops running after 8 (I think), so if you are out later the private taxi is the best option. It was about $75-80 USD so with a large group of people it isn't too expensive per person.
- The dock does not have a covered palapa as shown.
- Bikes - there are only 3 bikes and one was broken. There was also only one kayak, so these weren't amenities that we used with our large group. The snorkeling gear was decent if you didn't have your own to use.

Overall, this place was amazing and the staff was excellent. I would recommend staying here and would love to go back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oosorio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Our family of 7 (our kids are all in their 20's) spent 5 days at Playa Blanca Villa and had a wonderful time. The house is beautiful, comfortable, extremely clean, well-appointed, with a very nice kitchen, and an outdoor grill and covered eating area. Set among private houses and resorts along the beach, approximately five miles north of San Pedro by boat (there are no roads or cars to speak of on this part of Ambergris Caye), it's right on the water, with a stunning eastward-facing view. There are only two separate bedrooms and a third sleeping area that is open to the living room, so there wasn't as much privacy as some might like. For us this was fine. The house had great Internet access and kayaks. The weather was absolutely awesome, with a breeze off the water. The color of the water was an amazing turquoise color that was almost surreal.

As noted in other reviews, the staff that takes care of the house and boat are absolutely wonderful - some of the nicest people we've met in our travels. Tacio, who runs the boat, was completely at our disposal during the day, took us fishing and snorkeling (all gear supplied), into town for groceries, etc. He seems to know just about everyone in Ambergris Caye! We had wonderful fun fishing, and twice had our catch for dinner that night - the freshest meal ever. Morena and Esau, who maintain the property, are also extremely friendly and helpful. Morena makes delicious fresh tortillas every day, and while we did our own cooking, she washed up after every meal.

Grocery shopping was a bit of a challenge, as that involved a trip into San Pedro where the grocery stores are fairly small and don't have a great selection. Fresh produce is not easy to come by, but the local beer (Belikin) is great. Next time, we'll try the online grocery order service. There's a very nice restaurant at the Matachica resort a five minute walk down the beach (where we also had drinks and availed ourselves of their beach); and a very laid back and delicious jerk restaurant a five minute walk up the beach.

Overall, we had a wonderful stay in this fantastic vacation spot. We recommend Playa Blanca wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfkurose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2014

The most amazing and active 5 days with a group of 7 college friends. The home is even nicer than shown in the pictures and as everyone else has said, Tacio makes the trip memorable. We took the boat out everyday with him and his knowledge about the water and the island is amazing. Thank you so much for the best trip.

We would all go back in a heart beat and are working on our next trip to Playa Blanca!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ees123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2014

It a most memorable stay! Clean rooms, humble people and the owner made us feel like Home!!
We would like to come back and revisit next year. A great place for my kids. The outdoor activities were fun for them. Staff was nice and room service was prompt.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sougata M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2013

If you could imagine your perfect Caribbean beach vacation fantasy , then this would be a little better. All of the other comments are right on. It is one of the best vacations ever. Not enough good things to say about it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mace92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambergris Caye hotels
0.0 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#9 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
0.0 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Royal Caribbean Resort
Royal Caribbean Resort
#32 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xanadu Island Resort
Xanadu Island Resort
#4 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Blanca Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Blanca Villa

Property: Playa Blanca Villa
Address: 6 miles north of San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Ambergris Caye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious villa, private boat with captain, personal fishing guide, unlimited fishing trips, snorkel trips, explore the islands, lagoon adventures, kayaks – bicycles, swimming pool. Our luxurious villas are situated on the oceanfront of Ambergris Caye, Belize, six miles north of the quaint town of San Pedro. Panoramic views of the Caribbean Sea and the Great Belize Barrier Reef abound. Playa Blanca is private and secluded – yet within walking distance to the finest restaurants on Ambergris Caye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Playa Blanca Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Blanca Villa Hotel Ambergris Caye
Playa Blanca Villa Belize/Ambergris Caye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing