We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“O, Good food”
Review of O Restaurant

O Restaurant
Ranked #55 of 206 Restaurants in Ambergris Caye
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: The premier dining destination in Belize, O Restaurant offers guests and locals an all-new restaurant featuring an outstanding menu with Caribbean and Central American cuisine. Diners will delight in dishes featuring the freshest ingredients with an array of flavors served in the most desirable of atmospheres. At O, you'll surround yourself with decor reminiscent of the cool colors of the ocean and the brilliant colors of the summer sky,for a truly unique San Pedro dining experience. Celebration dinners for couples, families or groups are our specialty and can be arranged rooftop, beach side or pool side. "O" Restaurant will cater to all your culinary whims. We invite you to indulge and enjoy.
Montgomery, Texas
Level Contributor
302 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“O, Good food”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed at LT and enjoyed every dish we ate at O. The breakfasts were good as were the lunches. The meals are plentiful and did not disappoint. We enjoyed many meals by the pool. The prices are a little high but your on a tiny island where everything is expensive.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DKISS76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    48
    21
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Very nice place for dinner”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My husband and I went to O for dinner during our recent trip to Ambergris Caye. It is a lovely place for dinner. The setting and ambiance are very nice and the food was delicious. They had many fresh fish options. The wine menu was also good, as was the service. I recommend it. We were staying at Belizean Shores so it was a nice walk up the beach. Really a lovely place to go.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very Good Meal and Drinks”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We did not stay at Las Terrazas but did grab dinner at O. We both had the surf and turf night ispecial and It was one of the best meals that we had on our vacation. They also have a really great drink menu. I thought it was a little expensive compared to other places that we ate ($120US for ceviche, 2 meals, and 4 drinks), but the food and drinks were excellent.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MRK_JJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not worth the time and money”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We visited O on March 10, 2014, nice table by the pool outside, that was the only good thing about our dining experience. Arrived at 7 which is when our reservation was booked, were told that everything was reserved outside, I looked out and there was one table of maybe 10 that had people sitting. After a few minutes he told us he could squeeze us in, ok. Waitress came to take our order, we ordered a bottle of wine (65 bucks US) which for Belize is average. She asked if we wanted sparkling or mineral water, of course at a price, we said regular water would be fine. The water she brought was warm, no ice, and smelled like rotten eggs and tasted sulphery. We both ordered a risotto the waitress said it was a generous portion. After a lengthy wait our food arrived, not a generous portion, the food was quite good but not enough to fill either my wife or myself. We asked if she could bring us some bread, she asked if we wanted to order something from the menu, we said no, just a few slices of bread would be nice. She returned with the bread when I was finished my meal and my wife had two forkfuls remaining. The bread was stale and dry not edible. The butter she brought was a frozen solid pattie. The bill arrived $115 US. There was two charges I didn't expect, 12.5% sales tax! ok with this one! and a 12.5% service charge. Not sure what the service charge was for??? I wouldn't go back as the food is over priced even for Belize. Why no ice water? And would a few pieces of fresh baked bread be to much to ask for in a restaraunt that considers itself one of the better on the beach.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick A, Manager at O Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for your constructive feedback on O Restaurant. I want to clarify some of your comments. Reservations are recommended at O simply due to our size & the overall demand for a chance to dine with us, making that reservations with us was the correct thing to do. We strive to feed all our guests in an appropriate dining time with a high level of satisfaction. When you see an empty table outside it is mostly likely reserved and if we were to place a group on a reserved table without enough turn over time it would result in that table not being available for who had actually reserved it, this I understand would create some frustration when you see a table outside, however a table was available inside for the evening as you had not specified inside or out. We always attempt to accommodate and this was done for your reservation. $65US is average for a higher end resort in Belize, however with our selection of wines you have the opportunity of selecting various wines from our menu starting at only $30US, this is much lower than the average price of wine you will find at any restaurant in Belize not to mention a higher end property. Our sparkling & still water does come at a small expense as we have invested in a Vero Water system which allows us to produce a very high quality premium water right here in Belize, this reduces our carbon footprint when importing premium waters, and reduces the use of plastic bottles locally produced. If you do not wish to purchase our premium water we do have a government tested filtered water direct from our own RO plant, there may however be slight tastes to the water but nothing more noticeable that any restaurant in America or Canada. We were happy to hear you selected our most popular menu item, the risotto. We have spent a great deal of time ensuring we take the correct portion control steps and quality control of all food produced and presented at O, We serve a 4oz portion of snapper & 5-6oz of shrimp with each portion, this paired with a 8oz portion of risotto should be more than suitable for most of our guests. We would recommend some of our signature appetizers or flatbreads for sharing if your appetite is bigger. Finally as for you not expecting two additional charges on your bill I find hard to explain, as we clearly display on all of our menus that a government tax and a service charge is added to your bill, we also clearly state on the final bill presented to you that these charges are added and that no additional tip is necessary. I would strongly encourage you to come visit us again on your next trip and let us give you a more positive experience at O. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethany Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice lunch menu”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We ate lunch at O five times during our 9 day stay at a different resort. There was something for each of us on the menu, including vegetarian and great choices for our children.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed O Restaurant also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
Ambergris Caye, Belize Cayes
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to O Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing