We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cafe and Grocery Store”

La Divina Providencia
Ranked #9 of 12 Dessert in Ambergris Caye
Price range: US$5 - US$25
Cuisines: Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Description: La Divina Providencia Store and Restaurant offers to visitors and locals a wide variety of local food. Starting from 6:30am. We offer breakfast, lunch and dinner. Relaxing atmosphere, friendly staff, delicious food and very reasonable prices always.!
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Cafe and Grocery Store”
Reviewed 8 March 2013

My family was very pleased to find this little cafe and grocery store near our vacation rental on Ambergris Caye. When we first arrived on the island we were shocked at the high food prices until we found this little hidden gem which we visited almost every day for a month. You will notice that it is frequented mostly by locals who live in the neighborhood but you will find that everyone who works at this family run business is extremely friendly and helpful. You can't beat the prices and the food is great!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RhondaF107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thebest4less, Owner at La Divina Providencia, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
The staff at La Divina Providencia Store and Cafeteria thank you for your kind words and your excellent review. We do appreciate your business and wish to have you here with us sometime in the future. We wish you the very best in everything you do. God Bless you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    5
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Local flavour”
Reviewed 7 March 2013

If you don't want to over pay for groceries, like good, inexpensive food, enjoy eating where the locals eat, then this is the place to be. We just called it "Susana's" after the friendly owner. Finding this little gem of food and groceries saved our vacation.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank noophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thebest4less, Owner at La Divina Providencia, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
We certainly remember your wonderful family almost every day. We enjoyed having you here and we are very thankful for your patronage and your priceless review. Hope to see you back in the near future. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent authentic Belizian cuisine!”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Wonderful little cafe just off the beaten track south of San Pedro. Excellent value for all meals. Favorites are the belizian breakfast with Fryjacks and shrimp burritos.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsnoophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thebest4less, Owner at La Divina Providencia, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
We appreciate your review and certainly will keep up the good flavor on the Shrimps Burritos and the freshly prepared fry jack for our visitors to enjoy. Take care, We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Great local food at a low cost. My friends had breakfast and it was more than they could eat for under $10 a person and they raved about it. We had quesadilla's one afternoon and it was huge with freshly made chicken on it. We sat on the picnic table on the deck enjoying a cold one from the attached store, and could watch her in the kitchen making our food. It is a family run business. The menu prices were some of the lowest we've seen on the island.
It;s only a couple blocks off the main drag south of town, just down the road from Banana Beach Resort.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank frozentundraguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thebest4less, Owner at La Divina Providencia, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Many thanks for your review. Your comments were share with the family and they are truly happy.

We certainly got an extra push to continue doing what we like the most... serving delicious food for our visitors at the best prices.

We will continue preparing those delicious breakfast, quesadillas, our traditional Rice and Beans, the pupusas, burritos and all the other dishes you and our visitor like.

Enjoyed your visits every day and hope to be able to serve you once again in the near future. We wish you both the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best local spot in San Pedro”
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Susana and her family run a wonderful local grocery store/restaurant in San Pedro, right across from Hidden Treasures Restaurant. The fruit smoothies are terrific, and we try to have at least one every day. The authentic local cuisine is priced well, and tasty. The kabobs are my favorite, and the omelette I had this morning was wonderful. The breakfast wraps are huge, at least in my estimation. We've had many items on the menu, and enjoyed them all. The seating is an outdoor patio, and is great for families as the kids can get hamburgers and fries as well. Both the owners and the cooks are really friendly, and have made our Belizean experience memorable. The prices in the store are local prices,and very reasonable, especially when compared to some of the stores in town. The selection may not be as extensive, but if you find what you need, it's worth going the little way out of town to shop there.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bettianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thebest4less, Owner at La Divina Providencia, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
The experience of meeting you and your wonderful family is our incentive to continue improving day after day. We appreciate your review, it has been very helpful not only for our visitors but for us as well.

We will continue serving those smoothies, breakfast, lunch, dinners and snacks to our visitors and we only hope to have the blessing of having you and your family to visit with us sometime in the near future.

We thank you from the bottom of our hearts, God Bless you all. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Divina Providencia also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to La Divina Providencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing