We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated like royalty!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ambergris Caye
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tranquility Bay Resort
Ranked #25 of 55 Hotels in Ambergris Caye
Certificate of Excellence
Washington
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Treated like royalty!”
Reviewed 14 December 2007

I've been home only two days, and already I'm wanting to go back to Tranquility Bay! From the moment Al picked us up at the airport after our much-delayed flights, I knew we were in excellent hands. Everything was taken care of, and Al & staff went out of their way to make sure my mother was chauffered to her San Pedro condo (where she was staying with friends) and safe before we were taken via a lovely night boat ride under the stars to our cute little cabana at Tranquility Bay. The rooms were terrific! The food was terrific! The staff were terrific! The beds were terrific! The snorkeling was OK, but I have a feeling we didn't get to the right part of the reef to see the good stuff, as I didn't see what others have posted in their underwater photos -- didn't matter, as we loved the snorkeling just the same. The beach was beautiful, there were no biting bugs, and the rays and tarpon circling under the dock at night were spectacular! If it's peace and tranquility and nice people you're looking for, this is the place!

  • Liked — The nice people, stunning location, and comfy beds.
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything!
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RavennaEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    76
    17
    9
    3
See reviews for
120
252
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2007

My husband and I were married on November 10, 2007. We had 45 guests attend the wedding, 35 who stayed at the resort. We were told that we were the biggest wedding party they had ever served!
We arrived on the 5th late at night due to plane delays, with 13 of our guests in tow, including our 18-month-old son. Pany "gimme three" and several others greeted us with smiles and laughs, escorting ALL of us the the local grocery store and waiting patiently until everyone got the food and drinks we wanted. Exhausted after 12 hours of travelling, we pulled up to the dock and practically collapsed on the floor. All of the employees immediately helped organize and deliver all of the luggage and groceries to our cabanas. With one foot on the dock, we all knew the long travel was well worth this paradise!
The week continued to prove to be amazing, with Sergio serving endless drinks, food, and friendly service. Al and Pete were at our beck and call, bending over backwards to arrange transportation when needed and to pick up our guests who arrived sporadically.
Our days were filled with either serenity or adventure, depending on what the guests wanted for the day. The doorstep snorkeling was incomparable, considering guests at other resorts had to take a day trip to get to our reef that took us 10 minutes to swim to! Sergio and the staff helped some of us catch our own conch and endless amounts of fish, then taught us how to de-shell and cook our own dinner in a fire pit!.
Our nights were filled with delicious food from the Tackle Box restaurant, drinks, dancing, and Fernando helping us fish into wee hours of the morning.
Since we had a wedding planner from outside the resort, we weren't sure what part TB would play in the ceremony. They had agreed to cater (with some of the BEST food we have ever tasted), but they also helped turn the island into one of the most beautiful wedding settings any of our guests have ever seen.
We were presented with a handmade wood carving displaying "Belize" and "Love", which Fernando had carved earlier that day especially for us!
ALL of our guests (even those who didn't stay there) agreed that it was the BEST vacation any of us have ever had. Tranquility Bay and their staff were kind, thoughtful, accommodating, and FUN! We are already planning our 5-year reunion vacation!
Thanks to Sergio, Fernando, Antony, Billy, Al, Pete, Pany, and the beautiful country of Belize for the most memorable time in our lives!

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveBelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2007

My husband & I stayed here 9 days end of Sept, first of OCt. After having to reschedule our trip due to Hurricane Dean in August, we really were not expecting things to be as beautiful & "tranquil" as they were , just needed to get away. Our stay was absolutely wonderful, they upgraded our room due to some minor touch up work on some of the cabana's and wanted us to be away from any construction noise...which was really not much ! The property was well kept , beach & cabana were very clean. The pier to the restraunt was out due to Dean, but by the time we left it was all but rebuilt. They served our meals in a nearby cabana & they were great. Staff is awesome & made us feel very welcome. Sergio & Pany are great, wonderful stories and very accomodating. San Pedro was great & people are very friendly, everywhere we went we felt welcome. Can not wait to go back !!

will post photos soon my files are too big for trip advisor.

  • Liked — being away from it all. No crowds !!
  • Disliked — Showers could use a little upgrading.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lauratex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2007

This resort is beautiful and serene. Our family enjoyed swimming, snorkling, cayaking, and lazing about. Staff is friendly and the food is fresh and good. We did not want to come home.

  • Liked — Beach front cababa, beautiful settin
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PatriciaDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2007

We chose TB for a number of reasons, its location within the Bacalar Chica National Marine Park and the United Nations World Heritage Site, the reef and its proximity to the shore and the remote setting with no phones or TVs. A quiet natural setting. Our small group consists of three seasoned travelers. Between us we have dove, snorkeled and windsurfed around the world. We are self sufficient and do not need to be entertained nor pampered.
We landed about 25 minutes late at the San Pedro Airport. Transportation to the dock was waiting for us. Knowing that we would be having a long day of travel we arranged to have groceries waiting for us on the pier. Our provisions had already been loaded on the boat and we were off. The trip to TB took about 30 minutes. We arrived early evening.
Naria graciously greeted us with smiles and our bags were quickly taken to the dwelling that would be home for the next ten nights. We were given a rum punch and shown to our accommodations, a 2 bedroom cottage on the end of a row of ten. We were very pleased with our digs. It was getting dark but it was easy to tell we had arrived in paradise. It had been a very long day so we freshened up and headed to the Tackle Box restaurant. We walked in and were slapped with the loud blare of a television tuned to a basketball game! (I assume the upped volume was overcome sound of the ocean.) After a full day of travel we decided to stay and eat. It was a nice buffet. We met some of the patrons and discovered that everyone staying there were owners (there are 16 or more owners) or friends of owners. It became apparent that the staff had their hands full catering to their needs.
The next day we indeed woke to paradise. We fixed breakfast in our little kitchen. The day was calm and the snorkeling was FANTASTIC. We decided to give the restaurant another try for lunch. Again we were accosted but this time by loud Country music. Just the thing we traveled so far to Belize to hear. The lunch was good. Marta and Bessie do most of the cooking and do a great job. After leaving the restaurant we were wondering if we were in Texas or the Caribbean. We had the feeling that there was a private party for the owners and their guests and we were intruding. After lunch we swam out to the reef and found the variety of sea life delightful. Again we ate dinner at the Tackle Box and there was another sporting event playing loudly on the television. That was it we decided to not eat in the restaurant again. The next night we asked Marta if she could cook something and take it back to our unit and she did. It was wonderful! The whole meal was scrumptious. But best of all we ate on our balcony and listened to the ocean and soft Caribbean music. At the end of our meal Naria and Bessie surprised us with ice cream. A delightful end to the meal. The evening was perfect.
After a few days the owners and their guests left. The whole character of the resort changed. It became Tranquility Bay. We had four eating options. We ate most mornings and some lunches in our unit. We never had a bad meal at the Tackle Box. We also ate at the Sueno Del Mar Restaurant about a 200 to 300 yard walk to the south. The setting there is pleasant and the food good. Another gold mine we found was just a north hop down the beach. Fresh Bread and warm Cinnamon rolls can be made for you! Rosemary makes them by the dozen or half dozen. Very very delicious.
For us Tranquility was more just renting a house than it being a resort. They can and will set you up on any tour all originating in San Pedro. We however discovered just next door a marine biologist who has lived on his present property for 26 years. A man considered by many to be a leading authority on marine life in Belize. His research on the Manatee was featured on a National Geographic program and also on CNN. He is known as the Turtleman and is a wealth of information.

In a nut shell we loved Tranquility Bay. Snorkeling right off the shore in Belize is a rarity. I hope the owners learn about reef and understand what they have. My hope is that they will ardently protect the coral reef, even if it’s just for economic reasons. We watched group of three men snorkeling, scouring the coral taking every conch, crab and lobster they could find. (Mind you this is in a National Park and International Heritage Site) There are laws but no one seems to enforce them. After witnessing people running boats aground on the reef and people standing on the reef, maybe a Simple Sign like “Please do not stand on or touch the coral. It kills it!” would be nice. Areas like this are diminishing. If the resort does not change to much we will return and recommend it to others. The accommodations were comfortable but the beauty of the area and staff is what would keep us coming back.

  • Liked — The Location, Staff, Reef.
  • Disliked — Staying at a time when owners and their guests were there. Loud TV in Tacle lBox
  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccjaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2007

We left Tranquility Bay Resort in, Ambergris Caye, Belize with more than we came with the first time. My husband and I had an amazing wedding experience there this past February.
We went there blindly the first time we visited Belize and it opened our eyes to life in ways we did not expect. We were initially going to get married in Hawaii and were already in the process but after staying a few days @ Tranquility Bay, we both agreed that it was a natural fit for us to change our plans and have our wedding in this breath-taking environment full of people who want you to enjoy and understand why they love their home.

This is a place to truly enjoy and be grateful for the life that you live. This is a place that strengthens your soul and excites the senses. This is a place where you wake up in the morning, walk out of your Cabana and are engulfed in warmth and feel as if you have never really taken a breath until you have inhaled the morning air there.

The food is fresh, delicious and made with love. The service is more like your relatives haven't seen you in a long time and they want you to be comfortable in their home and make sure you have no worries in your mind. They made sure that we were having a good time and always tried to make sure our desires were fulfilled to the best of their ability and with what they had.
Our entire stay and wedding was one that made me feel like this is what heaven probably feels like. From our travel agency, Tropical Travel, to the wonderful GM, Pany who always wore a genuine smile and made sure the entire city of San Pedro knew to expect the arrival of each of our guests and make sure everyone arrived happily to the resort from the airport, to our wedding coordinator Iraida who put together our wedding arrangements so beautifully that my husband and I could not have imagined it turning out the way it did without her help. It truly felt like everyone from San Pedro to Tranquility Bay knew and wanted to take care of us and our guests.

This is a place where you truly have to let go of all your personal issues to truly enjoy what Tranquility Bay Resort and San Pedro, Belize are all about. This place is magical. Even the resort's dog, Gocho was part of our wedding. He stood there with the groomsmen and chased people that were not part of the party away from our beach. It was funny. Neria the manager, was so accommodating and warm. She genuinely wanted us to enjoy our time there by making sure everything was within our reach whether it was relaxation or recreation. Pany sang in our wedding and during our stay he took us fishing at night, took the time to catch me some seafood and make me a special dish one evening. Sergio was always there to greet us a warm smile in the morning while providing us our breakfast (my goodness, their breakfasts! Yum!) and endless drinks day and night. Roberto had a huge smile as he would take us back and forth to the town for fun on the speedboat.

On the morning we left, the entire staff woke up to see us leave. It was sad to go but we brought with each of us some sort of healing that we each needed and a reminder that we are all loved. We plan to go back in groups as often as possible to gather our strengths and enjoy each other.
We have traveled all over the world but Tranquility Bay Resort will always be a place for us that we must visit every year amidst all our other travels.

The balmy weather, the turquoise blue bath-water ocean, the amazing food and the activities there make a person wonder how one can adjust their lives to live like that everyday. It is also a place that makes you remember that life it what you make of it. This place was filled with fun, laughter and relaxation of the mind body & spirit.

I cannot imagine anyone not truly enjoying Tranquility Bay Resort. One must let go and allow the happiness that is there for you.

  • Liked — Friendly, Comfortable, Well-Kept, Excellent Food, White Sands, Clear Ocean Water, Adventurouse Surroundings, Peace
  • Disliked — Should have stayed longer.
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Phebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2007

La Isla Bonita - now I can understand what the song meant. We feel in love with Tranquility Bay Resort as soon as we set eyes on it. The swaying palm trees, fine white sand, and beautiful warm clear waters must be experienced. If you are looking for a place to relax and de-stress, then this is it. Leave your watch in your luggage, you won’t need it. We were there for my sister's wedding and it was perfect. Though it was the resort’s very first wedding to be held there, the staff tried to meet every request that we made, a tall order since the wedding meant we took over the entire place. What makes TBR different from the rest is how you are not treated as another tourist, but as a family guest. Neria, the manager never lost her wonderful smile as she went about making sure everything went well. Sergio knew by the second day that I liked fresh limes with my papaya. Even the resort dog, Cocho made sure to welcome us. The food was wonderful (you must try the ceviche!) and fresh. Pany the General Manager is engaging and hospitable (thanks for taking us fishing!!) and knows everyone on the island. The rooms are beautiful and the grounds well kept. It is not easy to get to Paradise, so I only recommend this place to people who have a sense for adventure and a willingness to step into a different world. For those of you, who meet these requirements, don’t delay. Book your trip to La Isla Bonita right now. We certainly are returning. Pany, remember to keep cabana Tarpon waiting for us!

  • Liked — Had a beautiful cabana all to ourselves which had a kitchen. Beautiful views all around.
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MsTuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambergris Caye hotels
4.3 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#35 of 53 in San Pedro
144 reviews
2.9 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#39 of 53 in San Pedro
231 reviews
6.3 mi away
X'tan Ha Resort
X'tan Ha Resort
#12 of 53 in San Pedro
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
La Beliza Resort
La Beliza Resort
#28 of 53 in San Pedro
236 reviews
7.4 mi away
Portofino Beach Resort
Portofino Beach Resort
#19 of 53 in San Pedro
640 reviews
6.8 mi away
Costa Blu Dive & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquility Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Bay Resort

Property: Tranquility Bay Resort
Address: | Basil Jones Cut, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Ambergris Caye
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ambergris Caye
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Ambergris Caye
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Ambergris Caye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A relaxing 12 miles North of San Pedro Town, Tranquility Bay Resort is a secluded paradise. 10 Separate cabanas line the nicest beach on the island. The only resort on the island where it is safe to snorkel from the beach to the reef! Relax and enjoy our beautiful setting from our water top restaurant and watch the Tarpon, Barracuda and Eagle Rays swim under our dock lights! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tranquility Bay Hotel Ambergris Caye
Hotel Tranquility Bay
Tranquility Bay Resort Belize/Ambergris Caye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing