We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ambergris Caye
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tranquility Bay Resort
Ranked #22 of 55 Hotels in Ambergris Caye
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We loved Tranquility Bay - the resort is set on an idyllic beach, which due to its remote location in the far north of the island is only frequented by the guests. At times we had the entire beach to ourselves. This obviously isn't the place to choose if you are planning nights out in the bars of San Pedro - it is a good half hour away by boat, so really once you are there you are there. Maybe if you were there for a long stay you would get a bit restless, but we were quite happy to be stranded in paradise! The resort is right on the reef and provides kayaks, so you can paddle out and snorkel from the beach. They will also organise diving trips for you - there is a dive shop on-site.

The cabins are spacious and very comfortable. They are equipped with a fridge and some basic cooking facilities, so you could stock up on some supplies before you got there if you wanted. The downstairs bedroom is air-conditioned, but it gets very warm in the upstairs bedroom.

I know some previous reviewers commented that about having to eat in the restaurant - which is true unless you want to pay for a boat trip somewhere else. However, we didn't feel this was in any way a problem - the food was great, reasonably priced and delicious (particularly the lobster rolls!). At night, the lights under the restaurant attract large numbers of fish and rays and we loved sitting on the deck watching them whilst having a pre-dinner beer!

The staff at Tranquility Bay were really friendly and helpful. We had a really enjoyable and relaxing stay - the only disappointment was that we had to leave and come back to reality.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (451)
There are newer reviews for Tranquility Bay Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2013

My family stayed here three nights and then stayed at the Phoenix three nights. The weather was rainy, stormy and that really put a damper on our stay at TB. While our son and his girlfriend still scuba-ed and snorkeled, the rain prevented us from fully enjoying the resort. The food was great but the bugs were everywhere. We stayed in the Prime Minister's suite and it was nice. But the third night we were there, my husband and I woke up to an infested room- the mosquitoes were everywhere. That last night we slept in the living room in chairs. I must have been bitten a hundred times. I still have marks on my feet. This despite ample bug spray and baby oil. We couldn't use the large veranda as it was flooded and slippery. As there was no internet except if you stood right in front of the office, there was nothing at all to do during the rain. No board games, no movies to watch, nothing at all to do. I am sure it is a lovely place in good weather but there should be something to do in bad weather. Katherine was lovely and very helpful. My son said Yemen was the best dive master he ever had. There were no intercoms in the rooms so you had to find Katherine if you had a need anything or have a question. The food was very good but if you don't bring snacks there is nothing to eat when the restaurant is closed. We had a great time because this was long needed family time. However, this resort needs to make some changes not the least of which is work on bug/pest control; have intercoms in the rooms; sell snacks; have board games or movie night or offer some other food option. I am sure we would have felt differently had we had any good weather but everything (including the cabana and the verandas) were damp and we were very happy when we got to the Phoenix. All the staff, from the restaurant to the management to the transportation were just excellent.

Room Tip: We had the Prime Minister's cabana but had issues with bugs and water probably because this unit...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ebwrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Tranquility Bay Resort is an experience not to be missed. It is isolated, relaxing, and beautiful. It took us a day, or two, to unwind and start relaxing, but once we did we didn't want to leave. The staff makes you feel like you are part of their family, and you are pampered from the moment you arrive. When you walk out of you cabana you are directly on the ocean, it is truly beautiful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank liketotravel167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights on our 6 day vacation to Belize. It was incredible. My sis-n-law went here last year and made the recommendation to us. After staying two nights in San Pedro, and on the go for most of the time, it was nice to relax at this gorgeous resort. We stayed in the Budget Travelers room, which was plenty big for the two of us. It had a kind size bed, microwave, refrigerator, and nice size bathroom. The people working at the resort were fantastic. Cesar and Anita were welcoming in the restaurant and greeted us by name each time we came in for drinks or a meal. We got to know some of the people that stayed there too, which was fun. Catherine is the manager and will set you up with whatever you need, snorkels, excursions, or trips to the mainland. There isn't much to do besides snorkel, kayak, and relax so if this is your plan, this is the place to be. The only complaint I would make would be the bugs! I had tons of bug bites during our stay, so bring lots of bug spray, baby oil, and hydrocortisone cream. Other than that, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We ( a senior couple and my son and daughter -in-law) just left 8 days ago after 5 short nights. We are all experienced travelers and snorkelers. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We used the Prime Minister's Cabana and loved the veranda and the overall accommodations. Unfortunately, we experienced 2 days of rain and the walls and windows do leak in the living room. The housekeeping staff was very responsive about bringing towels to put on the puddles. The mosquitoes were a problem in the upstairs bedroom even though we were careful to keep the door closed, etc, so be prepared.

The staff is wonderful and helpful. The food in the restaurant was very good and not too overpriced considering the logistics of bringing it in, etc. We did think that the "food prep" charge for fish that the guest caught ($12.50 U.S. per plate) was a little unreasonable, particularly considering that you pay for the fishing trip and the resort keeps your extra fish.

The snorkeling was very good right from the beach if you don't mind traversing through the sea grass (I didn't mind). The always available kayaks were great because you could tie up at snorkeling areas in shallow areas near coral. The resort dive master was not available the day we wanted to visit Hol Chan and Shark Ray Alley so they arranged a tour through Belize Pro Divers. It was by far the best snorkeling tour we have ever taken with great guides. We also took a fishing/snorkeling/lobster diving trip with Pany which was great.

I was pleasantly surprised, because I had not read it in previous reviews, that you are able to walk on the beach in the northerly direction for quite a distance from the hotel. My only suggestion for improvement would be that they improve the wi-fi so that it is available in the cabanas. I realize that is a sad commentary about how wired-in most of us are these days, but it is a reality.

Room Tip: Ask if there are any that are better sealed for mosquitoes.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sralph48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My husband and I just returned from a week at Tranquility Bay, a "bucket list" trip for my diver husband. There are many positive things about this property, it's location and it's people, but it's not for everyone. It is very remote, which is not a problem with great weather to enjoy the beach and the water. However, if you have rain and bad weather each day (as we did), being so remote is a true disadvantage. The accommodations are comfortable, but lack in privacy as they only have window coverings on the bathroom and bedroom windows. I understand enjoying the beautiful view, but having the option for some privacy in the living area would be nice. The mosquitos were a real problem, even in the restaurant, which is a real shame because the food is so good. They did fog around our cabana one day, but with no breeze at times, they were pretty bad. The accommodations were comfortable, but fairly rustic. Small double beds on what seems to be home-made platforms that seemed a little less than stable in one of our bedrooms. We were also disappointed that we had to ask for clean towels and coffee when we ran out, instead of them just taking care of that pro-actively. However, any request was always quickly fulfilled. There is no air conditioning in the restaurant, and it gets pretty steamy in there when there is no breeze. Some ceiling fans would really make a big difference. The service is wonderful and we would really like to thank Anita and Caesar for taking such good care of us. The kitchen staff are so sweet. It's like having your favorite Aunt cooking for you. Excellent food, great selection and reasonable prices. The staff did a great job of keeping the beach clean, even with all the storms, but if you walk the beach outside the property, it's pretty disappointing to see how much trash is washed ashore. We didn't have ideal conditions for snorkeling, but it's just a short kayak ride to the reef. We had a large nurse shark paddling right alongside us, and the coral heads are gorgeous. My husband is a very experienced diver who dove twice with Yemen, the dive-master at the property. He could not have been more pleased. He and Kathryn, the manager were also very helpful in helping him with arrangements for his Blue Hole dive. As for water, they have 5 gallon bottles with dispensers available for purchase, which is far more convenient that bringing them in from town, so would recommend you save your shopping for snacks. Wi-Fi is very limited, just a small area around the office and in the restaurant. If you have bad weather, as we did, you want to make sure you bring enough books and other activities (especially with children), as there isn't any place else to go. The property has no TV's. Also, no clocks in any of the cabanas, so bring an alarm clock with you if you have early travel plans. The boats they use to bring you in from San Pedro are open. They have tarps to cover your luggage and some ponchos, but would recommend being prepared, just in case. This is a very unique property and travel experience centered around enjoyment of the ocean. It is not well suited to those accustomed to spas and room service. It was not anyone's fault that we had bad weather the entire week, so we would probably return, but not for as long.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ingrid J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here for our Honeymoon and were blown away. We wanted something relaxing, private, great food, and with the option for adventure - we found it all here! There are only 10 cabanas, which are beautifully built and kept very clean daily. The only room that was air conditioned in our unit was the bedroom, which was perfectly fine since you definitely wanted to be outside anyways. The beach is cleaned daily from the natural seaweed and whatnot, you can find wonderful shade under the palm trees on the beach in their comfy chairs, and if you are feeling a little adventurous take your kayak out a little bit and snorkel the coral reef right in front of your hotel!

The staff was very friendly and accommodating, we had no issues there whatsoever. We did a day trip to Lamanai and a snorkel tril to Hol Chaan and Shark Ray Alley; both were super fun and well worth the time and money to go see. We only were in San Pedro town for a short bit, but honestly we don't feel like we missed out on anything. The restaurant at the resort is delicious with a wide array of options to keep you from getting bored, and the food is absolutely delicious. My husband and I were a little worried about going somewhere with a single restaurant, but were very pleased.

As far as food, yes the restaurant is not open all day, but that really is not a big deal - I was never starving or anything. Just bring some snacks and you will be fine. Buying water at the resort is cheap and easy - best way to go.

All in all, we can't wait to go back! Never did I feel like I was ready to go home. :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambergris Caye hotels
4.4 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#35 of 53 in San Pedro
148 reviews
3.7 mi away
Playa Del Sol
Playa Del Sol
#38 of 53 in San Pedro
11 reviews
6.3 mi away
X'tan Ha Resort
X'tan Ha Resort
#12 of 53 in San Pedro
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Costa Blu Dive & Beach Resort
7.5 mi away
Portofino Beach Resort
Portofino Beach Resort
#19 of 53 in San Pedro
646 reviews
5.3 mi away
La Beliza Resort
La Beliza Resort
#27 of 53 in San Pedro
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquility Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Bay Resort

Address: | Basil Jones Cut, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Ambergris Caye
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Ambergris Caye
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ambergris Caye
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Ambergris Caye
Price Range: £92 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A relaxing 12 miles North of San Pedro Town, Tranquility Bay Resort is a secluded paradise. 10 Separate cabanas line the nicest beach on the island. The only resort on the island where it is safe to snorkel from the beach to the reef! Relax and enjoy our beautiful setting from our water top restaurant and watch the Tarpon, Barracuda and Eagle Rays swim under our dock lights! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tranquility Bay Hotel Ambergris Caye
Hotel Tranquility Bay
Tranquility Bay Resort Belize/Ambergris Caye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing