We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect way to unwind & relax...true tranquility”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ambergris Caye
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tranquility Bay Resort
Ranked #23 of 56 Hotels in Ambergris Caye
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2009

My husband Alan and I spent the first three nights of our honeymoon at Tranquility Bay. Alan had done all the research and he picked the PERFECT place to begin; there could have been no better place to truly relax, enjoying the beautiful beach with its serenity and quiet.

Carlos and Isabelle run the brightly colored, well staffed establishment on the north end of the Island. Carlos picked us up at the pier in San Pedro and we had our own little private romantic ride to Tranquility Bay, leaving bustling San Pedro behind us. We were greeted at Tranquility Bay's brightly lit peer by Carlos's beautiful wife Isabelle who guided us straight to the bar and handed us one of the bartender Hill's "specialty drinks," the Island Stumbler. We were instantly in relax mode. Our bags were taken for us; we just had a cocktail as Isabelle pointed out all the beautiful fish you could see over the rail of the "tackle box" restaurant and bar. Perfect.

The bartender, Hill, is super friendly and will make anything you want to order from behind the bar - and sometimes suprise you with his nightly "special." We spent our evenings at the tackle box with Hill's creations, often playing chess with Carlos and chatting with Isabelle and HIll. Excellent people.

The cabanas are beautiful, clean, and equipped with a kitchenette. I'd recommend stopping in town to get some snack food (and SUNSCREEN!!!) before you head out there - plenty of room in the fridge. The bedroom is nicely air conditioned and the cabana was cleaned daily. There was a safe in our room, and we felt very secure in the resort.

Isabelle and Carlos are welcoming, attentive, and warm - you won't find better hosts. (I had forgotten I needed to send a fax back to the states on the first day there, and Carlos took care of it for me free of charge.) Thanks, guys, for starting us off right!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachSCUBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (452)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

383 - 389 of 452 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2009

My family of 6, 4 kids, ages 6,10, 12, 14 absolutely loved TBR! We were there for 5 nights and loved every minute of it. We totally enjoyed kayakeing out to the reef several times each day, snorkeling all around the reef and around the cut(channel). I was lucky enough to spot the local Manatee,and it's baby and swim alongside them several times which was truelly amazing! It is so nice not to have to rent kayaks and just hop on anytime you feel like it and cruise up and down the reef, which is only several hundred yards out from the beach. Oh, and the water is amazingly clear with abundant variety of fish and coral.

My 10 year old son and I also loved fishing every day from TBR's dock. It's so easy to catch fish, kids really enjoy it. And it's just catch & release. I was lucky enough to catch one of the local Tarpon that come by the dock every evening which was a total thrill. And, I caught a giant Cabrerra snapper, what a fight that was, over 30 minutes!

The beach is so pretty and the water is truelly the most beautiful color of turquoise and warm as bath water.

The Cabana was just perfect for our family of 6 and you can't beat the view from the double entry doors to the ocean.

TBR is a fantastic place to chill out, enjoy the beauty and peace of an ideal Carribean location without breaking the bank.

They also include RT transfers which was a huge plus for our family of 6. Most of the other resorts north of San Pedro charge outrageous fees, like $25/pp for this service.

Lastly, the food was very good and breakfast was included in the price which I found most of the other resorts didn't offer as well.

I have traveled all over the World, including Bali, Thailand, Japan, Costa Rica, Panaama, Hawaii, etc, and this was one of our funniest adventures yet!

Sincerely,
Wiseman Family

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingBigDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2009

We got married at Tranquility Bay. This was the perfect location for a small destination wedding. There were 23 people to our party and the resort and its staff were extremely accommodating. Carlos and Isobel did most of the wedding arrangements for us from food, to ceremony, decorations, and activities. Our guests all enjoyed the resort, amazing for such a varied group. We snorkeled, kayaked, laze around on the beach, strolled and collected shells, hung out at the Tackle Box- the restaurant bar. It was so fun, half of our party came away with some sort of injury as a memento. So stock up on some hydrogen peroxide and bandages if you plan on snorkeling just in case you brush against the corals. Which by the way, you don't have to go very far, just about 100 yards from your front porch to see beautiful marine life in pristine turquoise water.
We would recommend you stop in the town at the get-go and pick up cases or gallons of bottled water before you head out to the remote resort (~40 minutes by boat.) Though tap water is filtered and processed like in America, your system may not be used to the local water just yet. Most of our party didn't get sick but a couple did. Also lots of sunscreen. Don't pack too much as all you would need is your beach wear and a couple of coverups at best. The atmosphere is extremely laid back and you would not need to dress up for pretty much anything. Even being a wedding couple, we ended up only using a third of our clothes.
Like others that have mentioned this, there is only one place to eat and that is the Tackle Box. The food is amazing. I love the ceviche and the refried beans. This is coming from a person that hate beans and would pick out all the beans in her chilli! I requested for dinner on my last night and the kitchen staff accommodated me! So if you don't want to eat at one place morning, noon, and night for several days straight, grab stuff from San Pedro town. Also, unless you are going with the staff when they are already picking up or dropping off someone/something in town, taxi-service is not free and can be expensive.
Overall, we had an excellent trip and would recommend this place to anyone. Just one last advice that if you are into partying and did not bring people to party with- this place is not for you. For the rest- Paradise at your service.

PS- Ask Raul for a "Coco Loco" and pay him with a Belikin. You will have a friend for life!

Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SaltLakeDweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

Tranquility Bay is a gorgeous resort that can only be complimented by its staff. If something isn't right they will do everything in their power to make it right, nothing but good thoughts.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brigrinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Tranquility Bay is incredible....words cannot express how lovely, peaceful, and relaxing Tranquility is. We just returned from a 5 day stay...amazing. One can sit for hours on the beach, hammock, or as I did...in a kayak tied to a buoy waiting for the manatee to float by. I napped one afternoon in that kayak...floating and rocking with the waves. Carlos and Isabel are so kind, gracious and really care about the guests and staff. It was like leaving family when we departed. The other guests become friends as Tranquility is so small. Truly, all one need pack is a few swim suits, shorts and T's. I ate lunch in my suit with a T over it, and dinner in shorts and T...never wore flip flops to meals! Bare foot living is awesome. I have traveled the world, stayed in Rosewood resorts, Ritz Carlton's, and private villas in Europe, and nothing beats the warm welcome, hospitality and peace offered here. Ritzy? No-as it should not be-this is the beach at it's best.
Great food
Lovely cabanas - clean, quiet, overlooking the sea
sand is clean and white, raked every morning
hammocks!
rum drinks if you wish
AC in bedroom - very cold on hot nights
cabana front porch to sit on and watch the gentle waves, even at 4:00 a.m.
Miss Manatee waiting for you at the buoy
Captain Zib...amazing knowledge of the sea and it's creatures
Carlos and Isabel...the best!

Thank you to all...Lisa

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank berry8425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

We stayed 4 nights at Tranquility Bay in May, for our anniversary, and loved it. The setting is absolutely lovely, as others have described, and the place lives up to all the lovely photos. We loved the little cabana (thank goodness for the chilly AC in the bedroom!), the beautiful isolated feeling beach, the clear waters, the delicious fresh food (we must have had the ceviche as a starter at every meal, it was so good!!), the scuba/snorkeling, and the very nice people. We were very glad we had structured our Belize visit as we had -- with 3 nights first in San Pedro town (where we enjoyed wandering around the town, doing some excursions, and trying numerous restaurants, as well as live music one night at the Tackle Box on the beach); followed by 4 nights at T. Bay, which is far from town and more relaxed/isolated. We were happy to enjoy the beach, swimming, kayaking and snorkeling from T. Bay, but we also enjoyed one all-day excursion out on a Catamaran for snorkeling, and some scuba diving. On our anniversary, the staff surprised us by setting up a special table in the restaurant, festooned with palm fronds and candles, and treating us to a special dessert. Also a sweet card signed by the whole staff. Very nice touch!! This is a really lovely place, and we were sorry to leave! We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

What a gem this place is! Went with the wife and 3 pre-teen boys for a week and LOVED everything about Tranquility Bay and Belize. We were tired of the fancy, generic resort vacations and wanted something real (but still comfortable) and this place is it. If you are looking for secluded, leisurely, friendly and breathtaking, this is the package for you. The beach is well maintained by the staff and is literally 12 steps from the front porch of your cabana. While Mom and I slept in late in the nicely air-conditioned bedroom, the boys tumbled out to romp on the beach and get a full breakfast cooked to order at the Bar/restaurant. It's that safe and easy there -- let the kids play in the water or on the beach while you run a few miles, hike in the woods or just read a book lying in the hammock.

Water sports: top notch (and I've been to Australia GBR). Coral reef is swimmable (1/4 mile) from the front porch. And the superb staff lined up a boat trip to Shark Ray Alley south of San Pedro -- definitely do that. I didn't scuba dive, but a number of other guests did and they raved (see other reviews). Went sailing, canoeinig and fishing several times. No big ordeal -- just jump in a boat and go.

Food: unless you want to walk down the beach 1/2 mile to another larger resort, there is exactly one food option at Tranquility Bay and it is excellent. Simple, fresh tasty fish dishes, great ceviche, cold beer and cocktails (and a yummy hamburger for when you just can't stand it anymore). I suppose you could whip something up in the room but at the prices, why bother?

And the awesome resort managers, a Canadian couple Carlos and Isabel, were so gracious and on top of things. They run a tight ship and do it with a smile.

Because it is a full 25 min boat ride from San Pedro, save the MUST-DO Mayan temple trip for a front end or back end add on. We did Altun-Ha while waiting for our afternooon flight back home from the Belize airport. Checked the bags, negotiated a 3 hour rate with a driver and we were off to the ruins. A perfect end to a perfect trip.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kpwood3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambergris Caye hotels
4.4 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#34 of 54 in San Pedro
151 reviews
15.9 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 54 in San Pedro
358 reviews
16.1 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Costa Blu Adults Only Beach Resort
6.3 mi away
X'tan Ha Resort
X'tan Ha Resort
#12 of 54 in San Pedro
644 reviews
7.5 mi away
Portofino Beach Resort
Portofino Beach Resort
#18 of 54 in San Pedro
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquility Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Bay Resort

Address: | Basil Jones Cut, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Ambergris Caye
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Ambergris Caye
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ambergris Caye
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Ambergris Caye
Price Range: £94 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A relaxing 12 miles North of San Pedro Town, Tranquility Bay Resort is a secluded paradise. 10 Separate cabanas line the nicest beach on the island. The only resort on the island where it is safe to snorkel from the beach to the reef! Relax and enjoy our beautiful setting from our water top restaurant and watch the Tarpon, Barracuda and Eagle Rays swim under our dock lights! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tranquility Bay Hotel Ambergris Caye
Hotel Tranquility Bay
Tranquility Bay Resort Belize/Ambergris Caye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing