We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Topaz”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Perla Del Caribe
Ranked #32 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Topaz”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Topaz and it was really relaxing, beautiful decorated, clean and the beds so comfortable, I slept like a baby. We spent the days by the pool or enjoying the beautiful Caribbean waters and at night we spent sitting in the beautiful balcony looking at the stars so romantic.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rocio022169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    22
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
71
48
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Izamal, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

It was a perfect setting for a family the 3 bedrooms they are finish to a perfection very large and refinish to details. Spectacular view of the sea...It was magic wake up and the quite around and just the sound of the waves. We went fishing and snorkel with sharks sound dangerous but is very safe and the guide was excellent to teach us what to do. The most fun was go to the mayan ruins take a boat ride and you are on a magic world.
Also the staff was very nice and help to book all the trip and all our needs.do not forget to go to eat at Mata Chica resort at Mambo restaurant great food and cool ambience, also Portofino all those two restaurante they cam to pick up on the boat free ride. I find at S. Pedro very nice store call Mambo Chill is worth to go to by some special.

Room Tip: If you are two o three couple this villa Topaz is the perfect setting also close to the beach and as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The Amber Villa at La Perla is a five star experience for two couples. We were 20 yards from the water and listened to the Reef Breakers all day. Rene and his team were so attentive that we are spoiled for future vacations. If you need a get-a-way, this is the place. Good WIFI the whole time. I highly recommend Lorenzo Lopez, our Majestic tour guide to swim with the Manatees. We were all alone with two of God's special creatures for an hour. Also, we had Chef's for Hire prepare an island dinner for us one evening and it was delicious. Like many other reviewers, we had leftovers galore. They made us a family recipe of Grouper, shrimp scampi, and shrimp ceviche. Oh, don't forget to go to San Pedro on Thursday night for the Chicken Drop.

Room Tip: The beach front villas are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michael w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Things to be aware of when you stay here.

If you want a peaceful place in a great setting, and a wonderful staff that caters to any and all request, then LaPerla is for you.


We are pleased with our experience. We stayed for 3 weeks, and the staff was consistent throughout. accommodating every special request. The villas and grounds are kept clean.

We can't say enough abut everybody, from management, to house keeping, to grounds keeping, maintenance, and security. Hope I'm not missing somebody. They all had a smile on their face, and made our vacation memorable.

Room Tip: Some villas are 2 bedroom, and some are larger, I think 4&5 bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tripbass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owings Mills, Maryland, USA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The La Perla resort is a small collection of luxury villas located north of the Island. The staff and service are second to none. Rene was the host-extraordinaire in everything from arranging flights to getting our son some Dramamine for our next day of fishing! The resort is secluded with a beautiful setting, great pool and amazing views of the water. We really enjoyed being out of San Pedro with a number of restaurants still within walking distance...and the option to catch the water taxi to town. (which we only did once) The tour operators will pick up on your dock so it worked out perfect.

The pictures did not do justice to our villa (Opal) which was an amazing property and furnished beautifully with a ton of space...actually more than we needed.

Ambergris is a special place and La Perla made it even better. Thank you for everything.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simi Valley, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

How does one describe perfection? Sometimes words do not do it justice, but I will try my best. La Perla del Caribe is truly a place to reconnect to that serene part of yourself that has been lost or forgotten about after spending your day being subjected to the stress of everyday life. Arriving by water taxi on a pier that juts out into the turquoise waters and then walking right up to your lovely island home that is literally 15 steps to the water, is something that daydreams are made of. You are warmly welcomed and escorted to your fabulous villa, given a quick tour and then left to your own peace and quiet. Villa Sapphire is beach front, beautifully decorated and fully equipped. My favorite spot was the screened in hammock room off the master bedroom. How often can one say that your vacation home had one room solely dedicated to a hammock??

Each morning you awake to tropical breezes blowing through your screened yet open windows accompanied by the sound of various beautiful tropical birds. This morning ritual is what I miss the most, there is nothing like waking from a tremendously deep wonderful sleep in your gigantic bed to the soft warm breeze off of the tropical sea.

Rene, our concierge, was amazingly helpful. He answered all of our questions, booked our fabulous day trips, and gave us wonderful suggestions about travelling into town or which restaurants were the best. Thank you Rene, you are an asset to La Perla!!

Personally, we loved the secluded location. It was almost like being on your own private island somewhere. The primary access into town is by water taxi, which we thought was a great adventurous addition to resort. You can also rent a bike and cycle into town, which we will do next time. We purchased lots of groceries in town so we were pretty well stocked up for the week, but we also hired the two sisters for a catered dinner (Chefs for Hire). These two ladies created and cooked an absolutely delicious dinner with so much food that it provided us with three days of leftovers! Well worth it! Speak to Delsia, she is an amazing cook! Order the coconut ice cream for dessert!! OMG

I think and dream about Belize almost everyday. We are already planning our next trip, and we've only been back home for about two months. Belize is still unspoiled by mass tourism, the reef is healthy and an amazing spot to see turtles, rays, sharks, baracudas and stunning corals. Take some tours, see the Mayan ruins and definitely innertube through the caves (awesome!!). Experience this gem of a country, you will not be disappointed. My favorite response by most people when we mentioned that our destination would be Belize was " where is that?"...I wanted to keep it a secret, but bring your tourist dollars and support this stunning country. But please tread lightly, respect their oceans, and keep this place as unspoiled as it is now.

Room Tip: all the villas are amazing...the two bedrooms are beach front
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank butsidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis TN
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This is a beautiful property, with several great villas available for rental. We were lucky enough to get Villa Topaz. So many good things and only one major bad thing. Read on!!

Getting there: This is the hardest part of the trip. You fly into Belize City and then you have the option of taking an inexpensive but long ferry ride to San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, OR flying a 14 passenger plane for a beautiful 20 minute flight. We opted for the flight and were very glad we did! La Perla makes all these arrangements. When you land at the San Pedro airport, you will be met by a taxi scheduled by La Perla. Your friendly cab driver will take you about a mile. Then, he will carry your bags to the pre-arranged water taxi! Yup – now you have about a 20 minute ride in a boat. I suffer from sea-sickness, so my sea bands and sitting outside the boat was the way to go for me! Twenty minutes later, you pull up to a dock where the staff from La Perla meets you. Your luggage is delivered to your villa, and the staff walks you through the house and gives you your keys. They will also answer all of your questions – at this time and throughout your stay.

The Staff: Everyone on this property is wonderful. Toshiva is always there and can do maintenance work, carry luggage, give you advice, etc. Anna, who was new to the property, is your coordinator for everything – spa, dinner, private water taxis, excursions, etc. She was wonderful – very personable, friendly, and prompt in her duties. Rene is the property manager and took time to talk through the few issues we had (more on this later). The housekeeping staff was second to none! They kept us well stocked (towels, water, coffee, etc.). They made sure the villa was spotless and clean. The housekeeping responsibilities include washing all your dishes! The grounds keepers (Daniel and Jose) work tirelessly to keep the grounds, beach, pool, landscaping, etc. looking beautiful.

The Villa: This is a beautiful, well appointed, and comfortable villa. There were 5 of us and we were comfortable all the time. There is a lot of living area – porches, hammock, living room, sitting area, and entertainment room (including an indoor Jacuzzi). The furniture is nice, comfortable, and perfect for the villa. The dining area table is enormous! And the kitchen is big and well equipped. Although I have read in other reviews about no in-villa safes, we had one safe which was fine for the 5 of us. We had no problems with the Wi-Fi during our 8 day trip. Also, we did not experience any bugs, mosquitos, etc.

Eating and Restaurants: There are 3 restaurants within walking distance of Villa Topaz (be aware … there may only be 2 when you get there). Portofino is a short walk down the beach. They serve breakfast, lunch and dinner. We ate there for one breakfast and one dinner. Very good, great service, reasonably priced … would recommend this restaurant. Mambo at Matachica – they will send a boat for you at night. We ate here for 2 dinners and had very good meals both times. Service is excellent, and pricing is what you would expect at a resort. Don’t miss the Coconut Mojito!! JamBal opened for us for breakfast … I’m not sure how often they are open, but we had a wonderful breakfast with very good service.

We took advantage of the provisioning – to get some food and liquor in the villa when we arrived. This was very expensive, but I would definitely recommend it if you are going to be there for a long time. We were there for 8 days, and even had to get more liquor, breakfast items, and fruit.

Our best idea was to hire Chefs for Hire to cook 4 dinners for us. OMG – the food was incredible!! Delsia, Helen, and their sisters will make sure you are well fed, happy, and with enough for leftovers, this is a very cost effective way to eat (approximately $40 per person). They have a list of what they cook, and we even asked them to do a soup for us one night which was to die for. Also, they clean up afterward! They are wonderful people, with a real talent for cooking and customer service. They come with our highest recommendation.

Things to Do: If you are a snorkeler or scuba diver, go to Belize!!! Our friends said that this was one of the best places to snorkel ever! They swam with nurse sharks, stingrays, beautiful fish, turtles, etc. Anna can set up an excursion for you. If you are a beach / ocean person, Belize is not the place to go. The sea grass in the ocean is very dense and heavy, and unless you have swimming shoes, I wouldn’t wade through it. The beaches attract sea weed, sea grass, and every type of litter possible (cans, bottles, shoes, etc.). It is really a shame. While each place tries to keep the beach clean, it is a never ending battle. From the swimmer in the group…the water is right in front of you…but the sea grasses and shallow depth don’t allow swimming from the beach. And swimming beyond the dock was discouraged because of the heavy boat traffic. Although the pool was lovely, the water access was extremely disappointing. The snorkeling trips, however, were really special.

We took advantage of the spa people who come to the villa for pampering. I have been getting massages for more than 25 years in a variety of places, and I had one of the best massages I have ever had. We had massages, body wraps, facials, reflexology, and a manicure. Very nice and competitively priced.

We also went into San Pedro (again, the water taxi!!) for shopping and to eat lunch at Victoria House. I will post a separate review on this, but suffice it to say that this is a beautiful property, and we had an excellent lunch with outstanding service.

THE MAJOR NEGATIVE and a few other issues – Our outside furniture was in terrible shape. Ripped pillows, and rusted chairs. One person in our party was sitting in a chair when the rusted leg gave out. Luckily he did not hurt himself. We reported it, but unfortunately the property management team doesn’t have much control over this. It is the responsibility of the villa owner. This is something that the villa owners must improve. If not, we would recommend staying away from this villa.

A few of the other items that need to be replaced are the coffee maker, microwave and toaster oven. The first two are very old with the microwave being made prior to digital technology.

We also recommended that the property management stock the bathrooms with facial tissue. I can honestly say I have never been to a property that did not have tissues in the bathroom.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank SuziandFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
4.0 mi away
Playa Del Sol
Playa Del Sol
#38 of 53 in San Pedro
11 reviews
3.5 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
3.4 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#35 of 53 in San Pedro
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Indigo Beach Homes
Indigo Beach Homes
#11 of 31 in San Pedro
47 reviews
1.0 mi away
Costa Blu Dive & Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Portofino Beach Resort
Portofino Beach Resort
#20 of 53 in San Pedro
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Perla Del Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Perla Del Caribe

Property: La Perla Del Caribe
Address: 6 Miles North of San Pedro | 6 Miles North of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#30 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Perla Del Caribe 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strolling lazily down a tropical white sand beach, a soothing azure sea lapping rhythmically at your feet, a Caribbean breeze stealing away the cares of the world as it brushes gently across your face… This is La Perla Del Caribe Resort.This Luxury Ambergris Caye Resort is located on the north end of Ambergris Caye, the most popular vacation destination in Belize. La Perla Del Caribe captures the Caribbean ambiance of Belize in elegance and luxury. You can relax in the modern indoor-outdoor style of your private beach villa between trips to the pool and snorkeling - just offshore lies one of the top ten dive sites in the world, the pristine Belize coral reef. Or you can enjoy the vibrant life of the island – participate in village fiestas or sample local and international cuisine in the restaurants and clubs.Set off on sun-soaked Caribbean adventures to ancient Mayan ruins and scuba diving at the famous Great Blue Hole.Relax on your private mahogany sun bed and watch the herons stroll through the shallows. Laze by the pool while taking in a miraculous sunset.We are here to bring you the once in a lifetime Caribbean vacation experience, unlike any other Ambergris Caye Resort, that can only be... La Perla Del Caribe.Your Ambergris Caye Paradise ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your La Perla Del Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perla Del Caribe Hotel San Pedro
La Perla Del Caribe Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing