We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trip to Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Perla Del Caribe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Perla Del Caribe
Ranked #33 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Trip to Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2010

Traveled to Belize with my mom and two sisters. We had a wonderful time at La Perla. The staff was very accommodating and helpful with any questions we had. It was a very relaxing and stress-free weekend. The villas are incredible and extremely clean. I would recommend La Perla del Caribe to everyone!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kerryanne24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    22
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
71
47
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Russellville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2010

After a long cold winter my husband and I could hardly wait to get to Ambergris Caye and our villa at La Perla. Rene greeted us at the dock and took us to Villa Emerald, right on the beach. It was heaven on earth! We had provisioned with Mata Grande Grocery, as well as having a golf cart dropped off. It couldn't have been more perfect! After meeting Roberto, we decided to book his boat and captain for our snorkeling and fishing trips. Highly recommended! Russell took us snorkeling and to visit Caye Caulker, and Cord and Roberto took us fishing. It was a great time, and we can't wait to return to Ambergris Caye!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SherrySutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2010

We rented a villa to share with two familes, one with an infant and 6 year old, the other with two teenagers. La Perla is GORGEOUS; it was like staying in a millionaire's private retreat. VERY secluded; you have to take a water taxi from San Pedro or arrange transportation from the hotel. It's not really near anything and there's no restaurant, so be prepared for that. It's within 10-20 minute walking distance to restaurants via a path along the beach.
It's beachfront, with a small pool area. Laundry machines near each unit, kayak available. VERY spacious, beautifully decorated, didn't feel like a hotel at all.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdrienneW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2010

It would be hard to choose one thing as the best part of your experience at La Perla del Caribe. It might be the comfortable, spacious villas, tastefully decorated, that make you feel like you're at home. Or it could be the friendly, helpful staff, who seem to go out of their way to make your stay a good one. Or maybe you'd pick the gorgeous, picture perfect setting, right on the beach, and with a spectacular pool. Snorkeling? Perfect. Restaurants? Delicious. I certainly couldn't pick my favorite part, but I know I'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KMGNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2010

We got married just south of San Pedro at the Caribben Villas (amazing!) and left our guests the day after and headed north to La Perla for a mini honeymoon. All I can say is "breathtaking!" We stepped into our Villa and rose petals coated the entry leading to the bedroom. The bed was covered in more rose petals with heart designs. WOW! (nice job, Juanita) The villa was stunning! We stayed in a 2 bedroom, 2 bath - the Villa Emerald. The kitchen had all necessities - coffee pot with filters, pots and pans, utensils, wine opener (key) - everything you need is there! Rooms are comfy. We kept the windows open and the breeze was amazing! The bathrooms were beautifully tiled. Lots of details in the Villa - from the decorations to drawers filled with games like Scrabble and Monopoly. Also a stack of books to sit in the hammock and do some reading. The staff was very kind and accommodating. Thanks, Amanda! Security made a point to stop by and introduce himself our first night there, making us feel very safe. We enjoyed wonderful meals at nearby Mambo's (Matachica) and Portofino's. Both are short walk. You can also have a chef come in and do all the meal prep, cooking and cleaning - nice!!! If you want to take a trip into town, the coastal express makes stops throughout the day right at the dock. The staff set the kayak out for us to use and we had a great time paddling around. Our 3 nights here were paradise!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ncdene23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynchburg va
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2009

I did not know what to expect on my "Girls"trip to La Perla ! It was absolutely beautiful with views that took my breath away. We spent hours at night star watching on the large decks and porches.The resturants were near by were wonderful with lots of fresh seafood and glorious atmosphere. It was a week to remember.Everyone should treat themselves to this special place.The homes are beautifil and well kept and decorated. Aspecial treat

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank magpieone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2009

We loved La Perla. We had the 2 bedroom, 2 bath villa right on the beach. The villa was really very nicely done and kept in great shape. The resort is about a 12 minute boat ride from town and it important to be comfortable being a little ways from town, grocery stores, etc. We provisioned food before we arrived and didn't have to make the trip to the grocery store until our 4th day there.

The kids enjoyed finding shells on the beach, swimming off the dock, and playing in the pool. Snorkeling was our activity of choice and we schedule three separate snorkel trips. It was, really incredible snorkeling with nurse sharks, rays, and even a manatee. La Perla does not have a restaurant (it really is a collection of houses) but you can head up to Portofino (5 minutes north) or down to Rojo (10 minutes south) walking on the beach to find good food. You can rent a golf cart to get around but we just relied on the regularly scheduled boats to town.

I did a write up on our trip to Belize on my travel blog at www.99places.com.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveTravelMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
3.4 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#34 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
5.1 mi away
Caye Casa
Caye Casa
#18 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
3.5 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
1.0 mi away
Costa Blu Dive & Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
La Beliza Resort
La Beliza Resort
#24 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Perla Del Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Perla Del Caribe

Property: La Perla Del Caribe
Address: 6 Miles North of San Pedro | 6 Miles North of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#31 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Perla Del Caribe 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strolling lazily down a tropical white sand beach, a soothing azure sea lapping rhythmically at your feet, a Caribbean breeze stealing away the cares of the world as it brushes gently across your face… This is La Perla Del Caribe Resort.This Luxury Ambergris Caye Resort is located on the north end of Ambergris Caye, the most popular vacation destination in Belize. La Perla Del Caribe captures the Caribbean ambiance of Belize in elegance and luxury. You can relax in the modern indoor-outdoor style of your private beach villa between trips to the pool and snorkeling - just offshore lies one of the top ten dive sites in the world, the pristine Belize coral reef. Or you can enjoy the vibrant life of the island – participate in village fiestas or sample local and international cuisine in the restaurants and clubs.Set off on sun-soaked Caribbean adventures to ancient Mayan ruins and scuba diving at the famous Great Blue Hole.Relax on your private mahogany sun bed and watch the herons stroll through the shallows. Laze by the pool while taking in a miraculous sunset.We are here to bring you the once in a lifetime Caribbean vacation experience, unlike any other Ambergris Caye Resort, that can only be... La Perla Del Caribe.Your Ambergris Caye Paradise ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Perla Del Caribe Hotel San Pedro
La Perla Del Caribe Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing