We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Gathering”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cocotal Inn & Cabanas
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Family Gathering”
Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

Just returned from Belize trip with my wife, daughter, her fiancé, my sister and law and wife's 80 year old mother. Spent a week at Cocotal. The service was great, the pool refreshing and we took full advantage of the kayaks and bikes. Great dining north at Capricorn and south at Aji, both easy walks even for our 80 YO. The mini reef at the dock was fun - even saw a nice lobster there. I chose Cocotal because I heard the bonefishing off the beach in that area would be good. While we did spot tailing bones every morning along the beach south, we were better at chasing them off that catching them. We've been to Belize 6 times and always hit Ambergris because we have a flyfishing guide we love there. This is easily the best place we've stayed.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pleibig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    31
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
261
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Drayton Valley, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We stayed here for 10 days, travelling with another couple. We thoroughly enjoyed our trip and a lot of that enjoyment came from the great service and accommodations at Cocotal Inn! They were always there to help if something was needed. I loved the casual atmosphere from the honor bar at the pool to the hammocks always ready for your afternoon siesta! I would highly recommend Cocotal!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margarita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2013 via mobile

We spent a week. Great staff always available to help. Even the grounds keepers were willing to stop everything to provide help. Clean pool and facilities. Beach and lagoon access was a nice treat. Private and quiet.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtl75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claremore, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We just got back from a 9 day trip :(. We hate leaving San Pedro as we love it so much! Stayed much further north this trip and it was delightful! First night we stayed in a cabana--spacious and so much charm and the AC worked GREAT!!!! Then we moved to the lower home unit, which was spacious and well equipped as well. AC only in the bedroom but it was sufficient to keep the rest of the area cool for the most part.We loved being able to kayak in the lagoon and out to the buoy to go fishing or snorkeling. The rum runners at the honor bar were the best ever! The pool was also very nice and all the help very kind and willing to answer any questions you may have. We also LOVED Mara, the resident dog, as she is so sweet and once you give her a snack she is your buddy for life! One afternoon I took off for a walk on the beach by myself and next thing I know she is by my side the entire way--as if she did not want me walk alone! I thoroughly enjoyed her company. Very quiet and relaxing atmosphere at Cocotal...loved it!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OSUC0wb0yFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

My husband and I stayed here one night, we would have stayed longer if we didn't have a wedding we needed to go to more north on the island. We were trying to get to a rehearsal dinner when the water taxi didn't stop for us. The staff at Cocotal was amazing and helped us get to our rehearsal dinner safely and on time. The cabana was wonderful and we wished we could have stayed longer. If we return to San Pedro we will stay here again. My only recommendation is to make sure you know how you are getting to Cocotal if you are coming from San Pedro.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dru K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We spent 5 nights at Cocotal in 03/2013. We were picked up at the San Pedro airport and dropped off right at the doorstep of our lovely little cabana, #5. I say little cabana, but in reality the space was more than ample. Inside was a well outfitted kitchen with refrigerator, clean bathroom, and comfortable king-sized bed (plus a television that got very little use). Cabana #5 was located halfway between the road and the beach on the large very nicely maintained property, a short step to either the oceanside or lagoon docks.

Ernesto, who is on-site from 8:30 - 5:00, was a great concierge. He hooked us up with 1/2 day snorkeling trips (Mexico Rocks one day, Hol Chan the next), water taxis to town, restaurant recommendations, and of course daily use of the bikes and kayak. I think our bike rides up the beach to Sundivers (bar and restaurant) and down to Jolly Rogers (bar and restaurant) were some of our best times...good food and beachside Belikins. Also loved kayaking out to the reef where we tied up in chest-high water for some easy, unguided snorkeling.

Long story short? Highly recommended! A great introduction to Belize and Ambergris Caye, in my humble opinion.

One recommendation? If you're getting picked up by Cocotal's appointed taxi, if you're looking to buy any fruit or veg, be sure to stop by the stand next door to the liquor store...Much better selection of fresh stuff than the grocery. (The grocery did offer some terrific fresh salsa and tortillas.)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bsmoove1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washougal
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Loved the quiet location outside of San Pedro. Free use of bikes and kayaks, hammocks on the beach. The cabana # 4 was the best for proximity to the beach with a view - but not too close. Rum punch welcome drink on arrival. Friendly staff and nice pool. The honor bar was really appreciated as well as full kitchen facilities. Nice deck to relax on after a ride into town. Value was good too. Would definitely come back to Cocotal Inn when on Ambergris Cay. Oh yes, free taxi ride if you stay 4 or more nights and the driver will stop at the grocery store on the way out to the cabana.

Room Tip: Cabana number 4 is the best location for a view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiddleMillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pedro
0.4 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
3.6 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 53 in San Pedro
800 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Ramon's Village Resort
Ramon's Village Resort
#13 of 53 in San Pedro
1,287 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
1,346 reviews
0.5 mi away
Captain Morgan's Retreat
Captain Morgan's Retreat
#26 of 55 in Ambergris Caye
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocotal Inn & Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocotal Inn & Cabanas

Property: Cocotal Inn & Cabanas
Address: Beachfront 2 1/2 Miles North, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 Speciality Lodging in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cocotal Inn and Cabanas is a beachfront hotel and vacation property located 2- 1/2 miles north of San Pedro. There are eight units available for nightly rental. Intimate and low key, Cocotal is still only a bike ride from town in a quiet area of resorts and private homes. Our units are well appointed with fully equipped kitchens, air conditioning, cable TV, wifi and maid service. There is an in-ground pool, honor bar, BBQ, and free bicycles and kayaks for guest use - a beautiful property and a great value! This description is based on information provided by the specialty lodging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cocotal Inn & Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocotal Inn And Cabanas
Cocotal Inn & Cabanas Hotel San Pedro
Cocotal Inn & Cabanas Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing