We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of Hotel del Rio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel del Rio
Ranked #37 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

A friend and I stayed in the double room of the Palms Veranda on the sea. The room was amazing as it overlooked the sea. Javier, was such an amazing help and even organized excursions for us. We will be back soon!

Room Tip: Palms Veranda on the sea, double unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MirandaLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    65
    20
    1
    3
See reviews for
20
94
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Javier made our stay here awesome! He was very helpful with getting taxis, a golf cart rental, recommendations for restaurants and so forth. I felt this was a great value for the money. The rooms are neat and cleaned daily, AC works. The neighborhood dogs bark at night but I'm sure that happens throughout San Pedro. It is steps from the ocean. Our dive boats would pick us up really close.They have hammocks that you can relax in and a table and chairs under a thatched roof. They don't really have a beach in this area (or in a large portion of San Pedro) for laying out.

It is a short walk to town, so it's convenient but away from the "hustle and bustle". These are more modest accommodations but the beds were comfortable. I'm giving this an excellent review largely due to Javier and the staff! The two bedroom that me and my brother shared was nice. My room had no door so it's pretty open and I moved my bed to get more AC and breeze from the fan. We took turns on our 4 night stay.

There is a bakery behind the hotel that makes pastries and cinnamon rolls for many of the hotels! A lot of the dive shops are on the beach toward town.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurfdogSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Javier and the rest of the staff where very helpful, pleasant and nice to deal with. The two bedroom room was a great value with a view of the ocean and a nice large porch. I loved the two cats that live on the grounds!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJB1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We were able to book a room only a day before our arrival to San Pedro, thanks to the low season crowds. The property is well taken care of and right on the waterfront. Since it's a bit north of town (10 min walk), there is a constant generous breeze to cool you off.

We interacted with Javier in the office multiple times and have nothing but great things to say about him. He gave us an orientation of the island, noted places to avoid after dark and options for food/groceries and activities. The staff helped arrange transportation to town on multiple occasions which was super hassle free.

We stayed in the palms veranda room, which had a fan only, which was sufficient with the nice Caribbean breeze coming through the screened windows. No bug issues. Wifi in the room only really worked near the very front or the porch. We preferred to lay in the hammocks under the shared palapa when needing to use the Internet.

While there aren't a lot of options for food/drinks in the immediate vicinity, you can easily walk to town within 10 minutes or use a rental bike.

This was a great value place to stay with terrific service and a beautiful location. Would stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanner C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Wyoming
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2013

It was the best trip ever. My friends got married there (just beautiful) The Hotel Del Rio is wonderful and the only place to stay. VERY FRIENDLY STAFF. Myself I loved Tik and his Mom Ginger they are the cats of the place. The beach, the sea, the food, the people all the best. We stayed in the Big Blue House. The crabs are even cool. If I ever get to go again I will stay at HOTEL DEL RIO the best and only place to stay. Hi to Jim and all the Guys and Girls that do such a wonderful job running the hotel. Cindy Zamora

Room Tip: This place is right on the Beach. Who could ask for anything more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twofeathers1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Javier and the staff at Hotel del Rio were very accomodating and friendly. Stayed in a regular room with air conditioning and found it to be quite comfortable, albeit no frills; exactly what I was looking for. Room was clean and linens were fresh. The common area under the palapa was the place to be in the evenings as other guests would gather to swap tales of the day and enjoy a few Belikins together. Really enjoyed the other guests. Found the hotel to walking distance to everything in town but far enough away to be peaceful at night.

If you're a budget minded traveller looking for a clean place to shower and sleep, I'd say this is the spot. There isn't a pool but the beach is right in front of the hotel. It's very convenient to everything. The street food at the numerous delis is delicious and cheap. Try Ramirez Deli on the street behind the hotel. Breakfast taquitos are 4 for $1 USD. The jerk chicken and coconut rice and beans is something else!

Try Caramba's in the evenings for the best conch ceviche in San Pedro. Excellent seafood there and Luiz will take care of you with a complimentary rum punch. Must also try the pupusa's at Waruguma; cheap and delicious! Thursday night is the chicken drop at the Pier Lounge; a Belizean spin on cow chip bingo. Good seafood there, too!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bouyscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman Governorate, Jordan
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We are staying in the Casa Azul and we love it. The only bad thing is that we have to leave the place at one stage. The Casa Azul is in the back, not at the beach front but it has a big terasse 1st floor and offers the privacy that you can not have in the beach front cabana because the beach road passes by there. But some people like to stay in front and look at the people whom are passing by. The Casa Azul is also protected from the winds and we have had barbeques outside, a kitchen is available. Just a few meters away there is a supermarket, a fruit shop also selling creole food during the day (for only 4.5 USD) and several local snack places selling the typical tacitos and burritos for a small amount of money. The staff is very nice and the two cats became our friends. We love Hotel Del Rio.......

Btw. there is a massage lady two houses down the road whom came to the hotel to Massage Yoko for only 40 USD one hour. This was also arranged by the Hotel Manager.

Best place up to now on our Latin America trip.

Room Tip: As said above, we love the Casa Azul but it is only rented out on a weekly base.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.7 mi away
Spindrift Hotel
Spindrift Hotel
#44 of 53 in San Pedro
85 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pedro's Hotel
Pedro's Hotel
#30 of 53 in San Pedro
566 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Hotel
Holiday Hotel
#40 of 53 in San Pedro
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Caye Casa
Caye Casa
#18 of 53 in San Pedro
296 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#26 of 53 in San Pedro
178 reviews
1.6 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 53 in San Pedro
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Rio

Property: Hotel del Rio
Address: 1/4 Mile North of Downtown | Beach Front Boco Del Rio Before the Bridge, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Pedro
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#35 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel del Rio 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 minute walk from the center of town, on a quite beach north of town, Hotel del Rio has clean and comfortable; Thatch Roof Cabanas on the Beach, Air Condition units and Standard Rooms all with a great beach front view. We also have 2 large cabanas with a complete Kitchen. All our units have private bathroom with hot and cold showers, refrigerators and coffee maker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Rio Hotel
Hotel Del Rio Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing