We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute cabanas”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel del Rio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel del Rio
Ranked #34 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cute cabanas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Two friends and I stayed at Hotel Del Rio in the Cabana Grande for three nights in July. The hotel was perfect for us -- right on the beach, good WIFI, a very spacious room, and shaded hammocks right on site. We didn't have any issues at all, and it was nice knowing that there was a "guard" on the grounds at night, just in case. It definitely doesn't take 15 minutes to walk to the center of town like some of the other reviewers said. We found that it only took 5-10 minutes, depending on where exactly you were going.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IowaKristin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    65
    18
    1
    2
See reviews for
19
91
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Nice, helpful staff helped us get around the island and recommended some places to go. It's only about a 10-15 walk to the middle of town. Rooms were nice, spacious, and clean, and they have a little section of the beach you can go swimming in. Hammocks and chairs for relaxing, and the WiFi works fine. No issues here!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

This property is amazing! We have traveled and stayed many wonderful places but Del Rio Dream house is in our hearts forever. It's perfect! Everyone there is truly someone very special. Our special thanks to Javier, you are the absolute best! We miss you all and the Island. We are already planning our return!!! Jean, Hailee, and Evan

Room Tip: We stayed in the Dream House..and it is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fernandina3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iver, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

The location of the hotel is very good as it was at the quiet end of the town, away from all the rushing cars and golf buggies, but close enough at the same time to walk to the center for a meal or just a general walk. Everyone in San Pedro was really nice, people were stopping us on the street asking how we were, what we were up to later etc... By the end of the week, we felt like we knew half of the town :)
The staff in the hotel were very nice and friendly, booked our snorkeling trips for us, got our laundry picked up and dropped off by the local laundrette.
We stayed in the cabana casita. The room is very basic, clean, but there was nowhere to put our clothes so we were living out of our bags. There were only about 4 hangers to use by the rack by the door. A big plus was the fridge. There was no drinking water available.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zuzana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sfaulkner24
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

Hotel Del Rio is in the perfect location in San Pedro. It's right on the beach, a few minutes walking distance to the center of town but removed enough that it's peaceful and quiet day and night.

The property is beautiful with hammocks and chairs for laying out. There are 2 cute cats roaming around looking for new friends and crabs occupying all of the less traveled paths to the rooms.

We stayed in the double room with ocean views which was perfect for 4 ppl. The room was clean and we got fresh towels everyday. There's a clothes line on the porch which we used everyday and the constant ocean breeze made doing laundry easy.

Javier and the rest of the staff were incredibly friendly and told us about all of the happenings on the island everyday and where to find the best meals. It was a great experience and I'd recommend the place to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfaulkner24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

A friend and I stayed in the double room of the Palms Veranda on the sea. The room was amazing as it overlooked the sea. Javier, was such an amazing help and even organized excursions for us. We will be back soon!

Room Tip: Palms Veranda on the sea, double unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MirandaLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Javier made our stay here awesome! He was very helpful with getting taxis, a golf cart rental, recommendations for restaurants and so forth. I felt this was a great value for the money. The rooms are neat and cleaned daily, AC works. The neighborhood dogs bark at night but I'm sure that happens throughout San Pedro. It is steps from the ocean. Our dive boats would pick us up really close.They have hammocks that you can relax in and a table and chairs under a thatched roof. They don't really have a beach in this area (or in a large portion of San Pedro) for laying out.

It is a short walk to town, so it's convenient but away from the "hustle and bustle". These are more modest accommodations but the beds were comfortable. I'm giving this an excellent review largely due to Javier and the staff! The two bedroom that me and my brother shared was nice. My room had no door so it's pretty open and I moved my bed to get more AC and breeze from the fan. We took turns on our 4 night stay.

There is a bakery behind the hotel that makes pastries and cinnamon rolls for many of the hotels! A lot of the dive shops are on the beach toward town.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurfdogSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.0 mi away
Caye Casa
Caye Casa
#18 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.6 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#19 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pedro's Hotel
Pedro's Hotel
#31 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Spindrift Hotel
Spindrift Hotel
#44 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#27 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seven Seas Resort
Seven Seas Resort
#36 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Rio

Property: Hotel del Rio
Address: 1/4 Mile North of Downtown | Beach Front Boco Del Rio Before the Bridge, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Pedro
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#32 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel del Rio 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 minute walk from the center of town, on a quite beach north of town, Hotel del Rio has clean and comfortable; Thatch Roof Cabanas on the Beach, Air Condition units and Standard Rooms all with a great beach front view. We also have 2 large cabanas with a complete Kitchen. All our units have private bathroom with hot and cold showers, refrigerators and coffee maker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Rio Hotel
Hotel Del Rio Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing