We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't wait to go back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunset Beach Resort
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

I went to Belize for a Thanksgiving trip, and hope that I can do it again next year. I love that the beach was steps away from our door, and it is remarkably convenient having the private pier and palapa right there on the property. We took a couple of day trips (snorkeling, Mayan ruins), and they came to pick us up right there at our pier. The kitchen in our unit was well-equipped and we enjoyed picking up local groceries and cooking at "home" on occasion. There were a surprising number of truly excellent restaurants on the island. We often walked down the road to the little restaurant/grocery and enjoyed some great food and company there. Other guests at Sunset Beach were very friendly, as were the owners that we met. Loved this place and will definitely return!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kennisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    19
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
32
16
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Frankfort, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2011

Best diving experience ever, mark and Deb Bennet made me feel at home. I did'nt want to leave.
For personal input please feel free to email. Rich
At: landrwojcik@hotmail.com

Room Tip: Ther are no bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Showmethemoney56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

Recently stayed at the the Sunset Beach Resort in San Pedro, Belize and had an amazing time. The condo was right on the beach with a great view and all the basic amenities you need on vacation. With patio furniture and hammacks available right on the beach it was nice to take a beachside nap to get ready for the evening activities. There were several barbeque grills available for use as wekk as a full kitchen in the condo so you could dine in to save expenses. With onsite phone and internet you could stay connected with the world while enjoying paradise. While the condo is somewhat isolated, about 15 minutes to downtown by golf cart, you could never leave the immediate area and have everything you need. With Suya tours directly across the street it was super easy to setup dive trips and excursions. A divers paradise where you meet the boat on a dock 50 yards from the condo and after a 15 minute boat ride you are in the water. With a world class reef directly offshore it was by far the easiest dive experiance I have ever had.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rayontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mineral, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

Our recent trip to San Pedro was made better than every by staying at the Sunset Beach Resort. The owners could not have been more helpful. We were delighted with every aspect. Drinks on the dock watching the sun set, swimming in the pool were wonderful. The restaurants that were recommended by the owners proved to be beyond great. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ckchaleki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2011

Our trip to Ambergris was ruined by the recent snowstorms and we couldnt fly out for three days so we had to cancel our trio.
The management team and unit owners were very unhelpful, didnt care about the issue and actually made threats about sueing us if we tried to fight the charges with our credit card company. This was our first and last time renting a condo. At least with a hotel/resort, you can cancel if bad weather occurs. These people were nasty.
BUYER BEWARE.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank boopenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2011

We had a wonderful one month vacation on the island. Sunset Beach was clean when we first got there. The grounds are nice, the pool clean, the area is well maintained.

However, the promised cleaning (unfortunately only) every 10 days was not working; maid sick. The groundskeeper caters very nicely to owners but only to owners and virtually ignores renters for any assistance (to his excuse he does not get paid for to assist renters besides a short passing the keys and a short welcome).

No paper towels and toilet paper as promised, for everything you had to ask numerous times . . . or no service at all.
Some lights not working, our TV reception was worse than poor. At night we could not watch at all, while owners next door had excellent TV reception.
There is nobody you can ask and nobody cares !!

Mosquito screens had holes . . . however, the groundskeeper needs owner approval for such small expense!
The first night we were eaten alive, for the following nights we used duck tape to repair screens ourselves.
Our internet was out every second day while at neighboring property the WiFi worked perfectly fine.

Summery: a nice resort, a little outdated, unfortunately completely mismanaged.

Babsi and Carlo

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank babsiandcarlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

Couldn't be better. Don'tstay in the North part of Ambergris Caye - you will need to pay extra to get to town. Sunset Beach at the mid-December time is quiet and AWESUME!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Travelers_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.3 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
1.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
4.5 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#2 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caribe Island Condos
Caribe Island Condos
#50 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
5.7 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Resort

Property: Sunset Beach Resort
Address: San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 Speciality Lodging in San Pedro
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Hotel San Pedro
Sunset Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing