We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious condo, beautiful view, but has some issues”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunset Beach Resort
Floyds Knobs, Indiana
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Spacious condo, beautiful view, but has some issues”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We recently stayed at one of the 3-bedroom units (C3) at the Sunset Beach Resort. The view from the condo was spectacular, and the condo had plenty of room for six. The condos in the development all appear nice from the outside, and the small, shared-pool was well-maintained. The caretaker, Chapin, is often seen working around the place keeping the buildings and grounds nice. There is a very small grocery a few feet from the condos which carries a few items, but otherwise a trip to town is required for more substantial groceries. A trip to town takes about 10 to 15 minutes. The first half of the trip is along a bumpy, poorly maintained dirt road, and a golf cart is required to go into town for restaurants and shopping. Suya Tours is located across the street for tours. We did a dive with them that was absolutely awful (dive master with a serious attitude took us on one dive in 20 feet of water and then a second dive where there was nothing to see), but then did a cave-tubing tour a few days later with Suya Tours with a much more friendly guide, Luis, that was terrific. (For diving, I would recommend calling Blue Heaven Dives with Michael Cain. We dove with them later in the week and it was great. They'll pick you up at the dock, and they'll make sure you have fun!) Kayaks are available from the caretaker, and we used them once. Bikes are available, but no one uses them. There is no available internet in unit C3. There is a washer and dryer in a shed behind one of the buildings, but, again, you have to get access from the caretaker. There's a charge to use the washer and dryer, so all-in-all its not very convenient.

My biggest complaint was that we had to go outside the unit toward the pool to use the internet. I needed to be able to check emails for work, so the lack of internet was a deal-killer for me, and I wouldn't have rented this place if I had known the truth. Unfortunately, I didn't pick up on this complaint from some other reviewers. (They could probably fix this problem with a newer, wide-range router.) Also, the AC went out one day, but Chapin got it working.

A few general recommendations for Ambergris Caye: Try "Robins" for great Jerk Chicken and the "Baker" for excellent baked goods, especially the cinnamon bread, granola bars, and peanut butter cookies. Also, please note that the bridge was out In town. So glad we didn't rent north of town because that would have been awful. Finally, don't forget the bug spray. Some days were almost intolerable because of the mosquitos.

Overall, Sunset Beach is nice, but there's room for improvement.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank DougL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    19
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
32
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Sunset Beach Resort is a very comfortable and convenient condo for a week's stay at Belize. Located 2.5 miles south of town, one needs a golf cart to access the town of San Pedro for restaurants and shopping. But the distance from the crowded streets of San Pedro is a welcome respite for those who want most to experience the Belizean skies and waters. Our condo (A5) had beds for six, with two decks, which provided good privacy for teens and adults alike. The caretaker Chapin is excellent. A tour/dive operator is located right across the street for easy access to organized tours. The proferred kayaks are less than useful, as the heavy boat traffic between beach and reef make kayaking unattractive. while the bicycles are also free, we saw few use them. The a.c. was extremely loud, but compared to the alternative we made a fast adjustment! Towels are provided for a good pool/beach area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loro95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We stayed at Sunset Beach for 3 nights after staying at a no frills beach front cabana in Placencia the 3 nights prior. They arranged for a cab to meet us at the airport and take us to the property which was a nice convenience. A small grocery store with pretty much anything you'd need and the Lonestar restaurant are both within walking distance. One of the best diving operations on the island is also literally right across the street. Their dock is on the property line of Sunset Beach. Super-convenient! They have a nice pool, beach and dock that goes out to a palapa and even features a swimmers ladder if you want to do some snrokeling around the dock. Our only compaint was that the unti next to us was undergoing some maintenance and the crew showed up and started hammering at 7 AM one morning. I later learned that this is a co-op facility and the owners try to help by supervising maintenance in each others absence. I had to call the groudskeeper, who called one of the unit owners. She was very nice and even greeted us when we arrived, but she came knocking to ask if she could, "tell the workers to they could keep working now that they had already ruined my morning". After politely explaining I was on vacation and trying to sleep in until at least 9 so that would not be acceptable, she begrudgingly stated she would let them sit idle for an hour. As a paying guest...that is NOT my problem! The bumpy ride in and out of downtown was a little lengthy sometimes, but also entertaining in its own right. Our only other complaint was that flies constantly harrassed us on our front porch and snuck into the unit if the door was open for more than a second, so we had to enjoy our time outside the unit at the property down by the water. This may have been the time of year we went and it was no big deal since we'd rather be by the ocen anyways, but it certainly wasn't necessarily a desirable attribute. In any case, we would like to go back to Belize and might even go back to Ambergris, and for the price and quality of the property we migth even stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We have stayed in Sunset beach resort a total of 3 times. Every time, it's amazing!! The condo is very pretty, well maintained, has everything that you will ever need. Location is great!!! How can you go wrong with being directly on the beach? The owners have every fun thing you might need available - from kayaks to bikes. You do have to bike to town, but it only takes about 10-15 minutes to bike (or 30 minutes or so to walk) and it's well worth it to be away from the town itself.
There is a great tour company onsite - you have to use Suya (not sure of the spelling) Tours - the owner Carlos is amazing and all the people that work for him are great. We have done a number of tours with them - beach BBQ, multiple snorkeling trips, ruins, zip lining, cave tubing, the zoo. Having the tour folks onsite and having them depart from the dock of the sunset beach resort is so convenient.

There is also a cute grocery store nearby that is well priced, so you can get food to cook at home if you don't want to go out for every meal.

Deb, the owner is very helpful in providing various suggestions of things to do, how to get golf carts, etc, etc, so planning our vacation was a snap!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nataliya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2013

You know when you're in a tough spot and you need to visualize your "happy place" to bring peace and calm? Sunset Beach is literally my happy place. It is difficult to describe the pristine beauty walking down a few steps from the condo to the beach and pier, right outside your door. You can walk to live music, good eats, and a fun local watering hole just up the beach, or grab a bike and head up the cobblestone road right into town. The accommodations inside were just what we needed - modern world amenities with local charm and comfort. If I could figure out how to work remotely, I'd live there! A true gem that I can't wait to visit again-

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We had a great week. Condo was clean, quiet and on the beach. I could not imagine a better vacation. Close to town, great team taking care of the property. They were very helpful. There is a great tour company on site. They will set up snorkeling, tubing or fishing for you.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlarson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, OH
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We stayed in C2 and I loved it. Plenty of room, fully equipped kitchen (I juiced oranges every morning!) The sunrises were lovely, the porch and hammocks very comfortable. We booked two snorkeling tours with Suya Tours and we left from our dock. Our daughter was married on the beach and it will always be a beautiful memory for us.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lkwdtraveler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.3 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
0.1 mi away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#3 of 54 in San Pedro
335 reviews
0.7 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#8 of 54 in San Pedro
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 54 in San Pedro
790 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 54 in San Pedro
964 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caribe Island Condos
Caribe Island Condos
#51 of 54 in San Pedro
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Resort

Property: Sunset Beach Resort
Address: San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 Speciality Lodging in San Pedro
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Hotel San Pedro
Sunset Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing