We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unhelpful owner/managers”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunset Beach Resort
Reviewed 2 February 2011

Our trip to Ambergris was ruined by the recent snowstorms and we couldnt fly out for three days so we had to cancel our trio.
The management team and unit owners were very unhelpful, didnt care about the issue and actually made threats about sueing us if we tried to fight the charges with our credit card company. This was our first and last time renting a condo. At least with a hotel/resort, you can cancel if bad weather occurs. These people were nasty.
BUYER BEWARE.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Service
4  Thank boopenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2011

We had a wonderful one month vacation on the island. Sunset Beach was clean when we first got there. The grounds are nice, the pool clean, the area is well maintained.

However, the promised cleaning (unfortunately only) every 10 days was not working; maid sick. The groundskeeper caters very nicely to owners but only to owners and virtually ignores renters for any assistance (to his excuse he does not get paid for to assist renters besides a short passing the keys and a short welcome).

No paper towels and toilet paper as promised, for everything you had to ask numerous times . . . or no service at all.
Some lights not working, our TV reception was worse than poor. At night we could not watch at all, while owners next door had excellent TV reception.
There is nobody you can ask and nobody cares !!

Mosquito screens had holes . . . however, the groundskeeper needs owner approval for such small expense!
The first night we were eaten alive, for the following nights we used duck tape to repair screens ourselves.
Our internet was out every second day while at neighboring property the WiFi worked perfectly fine.

Summery: a nice resort, a little outdated, unfortunately completely mismanaged.

Babsi and Carlo

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank babsiandcarlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

Couldn't be better. Don'tstay in the North part of Ambergris Caye - you will need to pay extra to get to town. Sunset Beach at the mid-December time is quiet and AWESUME!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Travelers_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

We stayed in condo C3, very happy with it, we found it spacious ( only 2 of us in it!) and appreciated the light airy decor as well as the wonderful views and rather nice beach for Ambergris. The grounds are pleasant and well kept.
Very quiet location even more so in low season as we had quite a few days of being the only guests in the whole resort.
We booked through www.CondosinBelize.com and found Deborah helpful and efficient.
Manolo, the taxi driver recommended and booked by Deborah, was at the airstrip when we arrived and kindly stopped at the soft drinks depot so we could purchase water for our stay, he also took us back on departure and we found him friendly and very reliable.
The resort is 3.5 miles away south of San Pedro and there is no regular water ferry service in that area, bikes are provided free of charge and walking along the beach is nice during the day but while not absolutely essential we rented a golf cart and found it fun and very useful especially when grocery shopping and in the evening.
There are 2 tiny groceries around the corner, one is also a restaurant (Mr Joe's, nice staff) which are handy on arrival for basic needs.
For diving/ excursions Carlos at Suya tours is just across the road, Carlos was very friendly and my husband went diving with him once and was happy enough but due to very quiet period Suya's outings were limited and we did not use his services as much as we would have otherwise.
Do not hesitate to contact me for further information about the resort or our experience of Ambergris Caye (pretty limited as we only stayed 2 weeks but I'll be more than happy to help if I can)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank ivorypen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

Condo was Nice and Clean. Quiet . Very Nice Beach Area on AC.
Great Reef View. Complimentary bicycles.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiggleSnort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2009

Five of us recently returned from a a four day stay at Sunset Beach. It is a beautiful quiet spot about a 15 minute bike ride from town with a couple of little markets close by. The rooms were nicely decorated and comfortable. Although it is a little ways from town, we did not find it inconvenient, as Ramon's Village dive shop picked us up at the dock every day.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2009

If you don't want to be in the busy downtown area this is the perfect place. You will need to rent a golf cart to get to town.Driving the carts is alot of fun in itself! The interior and exterior is well kept and comfortable. You can walk north (5 min) to the Sandbar for drinks and food- fun place. Suya tours is across the street and can arrange diving, snorkeling etc
There is a small market with breakfasts etc just half a block down the street-
I would stay here again!

Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
Thank bajasand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pedro
0.5 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 55 in San Pedro
507 reviews
0 mi away
Captain Morgan's Retreat
Captain Morgan's Retreat
#22 of 57 in Ambergris Caye
893 reviews
4.9 mi away
Royal Caribbean Resort
Royal Caribbean Resort
#36 of 55 in San Pedro
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Banyan Bay Suites
Banyan Bay Suites
#22 of 55 in San Pedro
483 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 55 in San Pedro
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Resort

Address: San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 36 Speciality Lodging in San Pedro
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Hotel San Pedro
Sunset Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing