We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but lacking the full flavor and variety.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jambel's Jerk Pit

Jambel's Jerk Pit
Ranked #79 of 183 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We are specialized in Jamaican/Belizean Cuisine. Irie Dinning Experience.
Tualatin, Oregon
Level Contributor
79 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good, but lacking the full flavor and variety.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

My friend and I were excited to try Jambel's, as we both enjoy Jamaican cuisine. While most of the dishes offered during the Wednesday night buffet were delicious, we noticed that most dishes were toned down and many staples missing.
A few of the offerings at the buffet were: Jerk chicken, jerk pork, curry goat, conch friiters, Jamaica Mi Crazy shrimp and ox tail stew. Sadly, they did not have any festivals, patties or callaloo.
During the buffet, there is live band playing some classic and original reggae tunes. One of the musicians went from table to table peddling his CD, which also took away from the enjoyment of the dinner.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ukscots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    57
    21
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clarksville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent and Awful drinks...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stopped for drinks here and had a strange mix of excellence and awfulness. Ordered a virgin colada for daughter, and it was awesome!! My mojito was just not good at all, and my husband's long island tea was awful. Can't say anything about the food, since we didn't order any.
The place itself was clean and pretty. The manager (I think) was quite nice. I hope the food would be good....

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KYgirlinTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nothing "Jerk" about the food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

All 8 in the group had sub-standard food. Over cooked and very little flavor. For what we paid, it should have been a lot better.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Pedro, Belize
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Jamacan. Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Wonderfull setting on the beach with perfect views totally enhanced by the great service of an amazing. Menue of jamacan fair the curries are made to your taste and the soups are to die for ( trust me I have tried all of them ) the mid week buffet is one of the best bargains on the island. This won't disappointed let me know your experience? .

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peter n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Service, Awesome Food and very affordable!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Visited San Pedro in August, 2013, ate at other places but kept coming back to Jambel's great customer service!!! Got to meet Chef Fitz who made us delicious steak, sea food, and other side dishes at affordable prizes. The staff were very hospitable and the ambience was awesome!!! I Definitely recommend this exceptional restaurant to local as well as international visitors!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank royalgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jambel's Jerk Pit also viewed

 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Jambel's Jerk Pit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing