We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We didn't want to leave”
Review of Coco Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coco Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 55 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2011

I am a frequent traveler, most of the time even though I love vacations I am ready to pack up and head out. This time was different, packing up and leaving brought sadness to my husband and I as we had to leave a wonderful destination and a beautiful property. Tropical storm Harvey could not damper our spirits, we sat in the hot tub and enjoyed the company of the other guests and shared the highlights of our trip. Coco beach is a wonderful property with well manicured grounds and warm welcome feel. At first we felt we were to far from town but after a couple of days we loved coming back to our quiet retreat. Make sure you enjoy the Fried chicken dinner at green Iguana restaurant at Coco Beach's sister property you won't be disappointed. Tuff Enuff Tours are wonderful well qualified guides to explore everything Belize has to offer.

Room Tip: Ocean view is the best way to experience Coco Beach but the pool view is great too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4my
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,113 - 1,119 of 1,398 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2011

We picked Belize on a whim and were unsure what to find when we got there. But Coco Beach lived up to and surpassed our expectations. We stayed in B1 which is directly on the beach and to the left of the first pool. The room was clean, spacious, and decorated in a lovely style. The bathrooms we're immaculate. We weren't sold on having a Kitchen because we thought we would not use it but we were wrong. Unfortunately as of Aug. 2011 there is no restaurant on the property. They refer you to the green iguana which is a 1 min walk from the resort but they serve over priced terrible food. If you must eat there do not order the San Pedro Sandwich and stick to breakfast. It is much better to talk a 10 min walk over to Capricorn or Capt. Morgan's. Or hopefully Coco Beach will be done building their restaurant by the time you visit. As I said before the Kitchen came in very handy for making snacks and breakfast. For dinner we mostly headed into town (Try Blue Water Grill, Red Ginger, Wild Mango, or Mambo) The pools at the Resort are genius! The one towards the front with the swim up bar is great for lounging and soaking up the sun. The second pool towards the back is great for swimming jumping off the rocks or going down the water slide. They also offer Day trips which are an ABSOLUTE MUST! Tuff Enough is a great company. Do the Hol Chan and Shark Ray Alley Snorkeling and the Snorkeling, Fishing & Beach BBQ Trip. Coco beach offers the best of it all. We did our research and we were not disappointed. The pictures on their website are 100% accurate not misleading or making things seem larger than they actually are. While at Coco we went to see the other resorts just to see if we were missing out on anything and we were even more sure we made the right choice! If you go to Belize you MUST stay at Coco Beach you won't regret it!

Room Tip: We stayed in B1 which is a Beachfront view. You basically walk off your steps and onto the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmn33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Coco Beach Resort is a great piece of paradise. The trip by boat is lots if fun where you get to see what the island has to offer. The bar is specatacular, abar in the pool just puts the icning on the cake. You dont need to get out of the water to order your drinks. the hot tub in middle of the pool woooow a wifes paradise. the room are quit luxurious spacious and just gorgeous. the view whenu open your door is the sea that makes a wonderful sunrise. overall the resort is wonderful and will definately promote it and would invite any and everyone to experience the jewel op belize

Room Tip: the seafront suite is wonderful just footstep away from the dock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberto V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Coco Beach resort is a very clean, friendly, and well run place. The rooms are spacious and very well presented, with beautiful spanish tile and unique bathrooms. The large pool area is very relaxing and has a hot tub, poolside bar, and a big rock feature that is really fun to jump off of. My partner and I had a very relaxing and wonderful stay. Definitely pay the $20.00 for a water taxi, otherwise you pay $5.00 every time. This boat is a fast way to get to the chill town of San Pedro. The staff is extremely friendly, and the only drawback is the lack of places to eat. There is room service, but it is pricey. Overall, this is an excellent resort, and one of the nicest on the island. I have travelled to 14 countries, and this was one of the nicest and prettiest place I have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Second floor balcony rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlejandroLofaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Coco Beach Resort is the place to stay on Ambergris! Great staff, always friendly and helpful. Beautiful rooms, gorgeous pools, and lush grounds. No restaurant yet (in process!), but plenty of options for room service and short walks from resort. Water Taxi to downtown San Pedro is quick ride to more restaurants and shops. Already planning next trip with the kids! Great place for families, couples, and even solos like myself. You won't be disappointed.
Check out the pool bar and the wonderful bartenders: Mikey, Milton, Deon, and the rest!

Room Tip: Call the reservation line and ask for Kathleen! Repeat customers get better deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmcummings2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

My friend and I stayed at the property for one week in July 2011 and really enjoyed it.

This resort has two pools (the one located in the center of the property is deep and has slide; another pool is located at the front of the property overlooking the beach which is shallow and includes a large jacuzzi and swim up bar), has tropical landscaping, and is well-maintained. The resort is fairly quiet and laid back. If you want to lounge by the pool and relax, this is the place.

The units are upscale, well-built condos. We stayed in Unit E3, a 2 bedroom/2 bath unit located on the third floor with a stunning view of the pool and ocean. I highly recommend requesting to stay in either E3 or E4; they have the best views on the property. These units are located 2 stories up from the pool bar, but were very quiet.

Our unit was spacious and included a large kitchen, living room/ dining room area, a master bedroom with an attached bathroom, and a guest bedroom with a bathroom across the hall. Both bedrooms are spacious with ample closet space, and the beds were comfortable.

Each bathroom has a large walk-in shower made of stone/tile that includes two shower heads. The doors, trim and cabinetry throughout the unit is made of beautiful, polished hardwood (possibly indigenous to the region) and the floors have ceramic tile.

The unit has a clean, well-appointed, full-size kitchen with new appliances. It's perfect if you want to prepare your own meals. The kitchen comes equipped with dishes/bowls, glasses/cups, pots/pans, silverware, and a coffee maker. I noticed that some of the dishes were not washed well (I found specks of food on a few plates), so you may want to wash the dishes before using them. The unit also has a wrap around balcony that included an outdoor table, 4 chairs, and 2 lounge chairs.

There are a couple complaints that I think are worth mentioning. First, there is only one phone in the unit which is located in the master bedroom. This is a minor inconvenience, but not a problem. The problem is that the phone system at the resort is unreliable. I tried to make local calls around the island (the airport, local dive shops, etc.), but either couldn't get a connection or I ended up listening to someone else's phone conversation. I had to have the front desk make the call and transfer it to my room each time. Second, the staff working at the front desk was hit or miss. Some staff members were helpful, while others seemed indifferent and/or even somewhat annoyed by basic requests. Third, requests are not responded to quickly at the resort. For example, I requested an iron (our room had an ironing board, but no iron) and it was delivered to our room 4 hours later.

The resort doesn't have a restaurant yet, so the only food available is located at the bar which is limited (i.e., pizza and chips). There are a few restaurants located at neighboring resorts, however, the only one worth visiting is Capricorns, a casual restaurant with good food (highly recommend the lobster sandwich---grilled lobster on homemade bread), but we were overwhelmed by the mosquitoes and ended up taking our food to go. Stay far, far away from Rendevous (a 5-10 minute walk from the resort)---both the food AND wine were horrible and overpriced. We made the mistake of having dinner there one night and the food was so bad that we couldn't finish our meal which cost $150 US for two people. I recommend bringing snacks with you from home and taking the water taxi into town for lunch and/or dinner (our favorite restaurant was AJI (pronounced "Ah-hee")). Also, there are grocery stores in town where you can stock up on beverages, fresh food items, etc. Note: the selection at grocery stores is limited and can be somewhat pricey for imported products. There are a couple grocery stores across the street from the airport in San Pedro where you can pick up some supplies before going to the resort. You can also rent a golf cart at the resort for $10/hour and drive into town. It's an adventure which can be a lot of fun. The roads are unpaved, but you get to see a more rural side of the island. Drive slow and watch out for the monster potholes!

The people we encountered in Ambergris Caye were warm and friendly. We were two women traveling together, and never encountered a situation where we felt threatened or unsafe. Having said that, you still need to use common sense. The currency is Belizean dollars, however, everyone on the island takes US dollars. The exchange rate when we were there was 2 BZ dollars = 1 US dollar.

Overall, we had a great time in Ambergris Caye and Coco Beach resport. Hope this review was helpful.

Room Tip: If you plan to book a 2 bedroom/2 bath unit, ask for either E3 or E4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Orchid77115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Coco Beach, was the perfect place to come and relax. The pool and bar are great, the rooms are AMAZING! The resort is a little ways out of town so you have to coordinate your travel into San Pedro. This was not a problem since there are plenty of water taxis running. Will definitely stay here again. The resort stay are very helpful and they speak solid English.

Room Tip: Avoid 7B, the room is great but the circuit breaker kept going out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qsxhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
6 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
0.1 mi away
Belizean Shores Resort
Belizean Shores Resort
#15 of 55 in San Pedro
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
X'tan Ha Resort
X'tan Ha Resort
#13 of 55 in San Pedro
653 reviews
2.7 mi away
Portofino Beach Resort
Portofino Beach Resort
#17 of 55 in San Pedro
671 reviews
0.8 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 55 in San Pedro
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Beach Resort

Address: PO Box 1 | San Pedro Town, Ambergris Caye, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye xxxxx, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#10 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £180 - £349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coco Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning waterfront Coco Beach Resort is located on the island of Ambergris Caye, Belize, 3.5 miles north of San Pedro Town and the island's only airstrip. Resort guests can expect a subtropical climate, Palm trees, Coconuts, and the island's most incredible free form swimming pool and swim up bar reserved for the exclusive use of our registered guests. Luxurious accommodations, great staff, complimentary kayaking, paddle boarding and weekday water aerobics, various food and beverage options, on call spa services, complimentary WIFI in public areas and onsite vacation planning/concierge service ensure an unforgettable vacation experience. A team of dedicated reservations professionals are available to plan your stay as well as your transfers from the Belize International airport to the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Coco Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Beach Hotel San Pedro
Coco Beach San Pedro
Coco Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing