We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beyond beautiful but no beach access”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Coco Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coco Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beyond beautiful but no beach access”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

My husband and I traveled to Belize for our one year anniversary. Unfortunately we didn't do much research before arriving and didn't know that once we landed in Belize City we needed to purchase an additional plane ticket at the BC airport to get us from BC to San Pedro....so we ended up taking a 20 min taxi ride to a dock that took us on about an hour and a half water taxi ride to San Pedro where the resort finally picked us up and took us on a 10 min ride to our beyond beautiful resort. Upon arriving, we were taken aback by the breath taking sight of Coco Beach. We were greeted by the manager at the dock and were escorted through the property to the lobby where they had rumpunch waiting for us.

The property and staff made our stay wonderful. Jeff was our favorite bar tender. He remembered our names and drinks each time we were around. He also gave us many suggestions on places to go and things to do.

If you're looking for a beach that you can actually access this is not the place for you. They have turtle/ sea grass which makes the beach inaccessible. It appears to be slippery and slimy so we didn't even try. The only place we were able to get in the beach was Xtan Ha...it was about 15 mins away.

We also took a tour of the ruins - Lamanai *Beware* take lots of bug spray and be prepared to spend your whole day traveling. The trip goes like this- 10 min water taxi to San Pedro, 20 mins propeller ride to BC, hour- hour and a half to the dropping point at the river (it's literally under a tagged bridge that is a little scary), then about an hour boat ride to Lamanai. Once you get there it is totally worth it. Plus, the tour guide provides an authentic home cooked Belizean meal.

Other than that we took full advantage of the pool and swim up bar. We did eat at the restaurant at the resort but it was rather expensive so we tried to go to San Pedro for meals as much as possible. One of our favorite places was Palapa.

Had Coco Beach had beach access I would haven given this resort TWO 5 stars .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank NRVilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    996
    227
    52
    19
    5
See reviews for
361
676
25
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Coco Beach Resort for the first time in Belize and the resort. It was our 10 year anniversary and being world travelers, it was by far the best vacation. The hotel, food, staff, and location was absolutely phenomenal. The resort is spectacular, clean and new. The staff, island natives and other vacationers were so nice and welcoming, we felt like they were all family.

The diving was incredible, the food is out of this world and we felt safe everywhere went...which is a big plus. We are currently looking to purchase a condo so that we can become part of the community. We already have our 2014 plans for a two week vacation in the same location.

Room Tip: There are no tips - you cannot go wrong in any of the rooms/suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belizebound2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

We just returned from four nights at Coco Beach (early November). Overall, a lovely place to stay and an enjoyable part of our vacation.

The property is lovely: rooms are spacious and comfortably appointed, the grounds are beautiful and the beachfront setting is very nice. The two saltwater pools are the highlight of the resort. Service was excellent, from the front desk staff to the bartenders -- very friendly, prompt and efficient. There was some construction going on during our stay, but we were put in a room a sufficient distance away so weren't bothered by it. Free water taxi transfers to/from the ferry dock or airport and the resort on arrival and departure were a nice plus. We did several days of diving with Tuff E-Nuff tours (on site dive/tour operator) and were pleased with their services as well.

Only major complaint is the food and beverage service. Coco Beach's restaurant and bar were a disappointment in terms of quality and value. We ate breakfast there one morning and lunch on two days and were really underwhelmed by each, particularly given the price the restaurants charge for meals. As with many resorts, too much focus on standard Western food and not enough local cuisine ... all overpriced and done with mediocre execution. Drinks were also expensive, small and weakly prepared. Had the food/beverage service on the resort been better we'd have been inclined to do our eating and drinking there, but we were inclined to leave the resort for meals, bringing our own food back for breakfasts and leaving for lunch and dinner.

In sum, Coco Beach is a lovely place to stay, but be prepared to buy a water taxi pass and head into San Pedro town for meals or explore other options within walking distance (the Lazy Croc is a great BBQ spot that's about a 15-20 minute walk south, or El Fogon is good for local food in town).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arodriquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

My husband, daughter and I spend 5 nights at the resort. It is beautiful and the people are fantastic. The room was very nice and the housekeepers did a great job. There were a few drawbacks, though. 1. There are a ton of mosquitoes!! In the morning when we would open our door to the outdoor hallway the floor was littered with dead ones. There were tons of them by the doors to the rooms and along the outdoor stairwells. The resort has a great rock structure in the middle of their bigger pool with a water-slide, which is a plus, but the structure itself is filled with mosquitoes until you get up to the water-slide. 2. The food at the resort was very average and over-priced for what you get. Also a downside is that the restaurant is in the middle of the resort so you don't have any sort of view from the restaurant. 3. Our hotel room bathroom had a sewage smell coming from the shower drain. Although this is very likely due to the rain that had fallen, it did smell the room up. Perhaps this issue would be resolved in the high season.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so if you have really little kids, or don't do stairs well, be sure to ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Candice1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

My husband and I went here for our honeymoon and cannot stop raving about what a great time we had here. From the moment they picked us up via boat and we arrived at the dock to moist towels and a rum punch, we knew we had picked the right place.

The resort is right around 2.5 miles north of San Pedro, within walking distance to several other resorts and restaurants, and an easy golf cart ride into the city. The room we stayed in had a pool view and was very clean and comfortable. Every part of the resort, from the beach, to the two pools, and the restaurants, are kept immaculately clean and well-maintained.

We took advantage of the poolside service for cocktails and mediocre snacks throughout the day, but steered mostly clear of the restaurant on the resort due to the outrageous prices, and instead ventured down to The O, Capricorn, and Captain Morgan's for great food and beautiful views.

We took the complimentary kayaks out twice to the reefs and snorkeled in the company of plenty of fish, lobsters, coral, etc., and also took the sunset cruise one night to enjoy all you can drink rum punch/beer and fresh ceviche made right on the boat. The cruise offered the most spectacular sunset views of the island and was our favorite experience of the trip - worth the price!

I cannot say enough about the staff at Coco Beach. They are so friendly, welcoming, and eager to get to know you by name and interact with you on a more personal, but still professional level. I wish I could name them all, but a special thanks to Mac, Jeff, and Larry for being so helpful and nice during our stay. We're already planning a trip back for next year!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Car0Berry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester springs
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

I absolutely LOVED this place, Belize is beautiful, and San Pedro is as well. Everyone that we encountered was extremely friendly, and helpful. The resort is immaculate, and well taken care of, my only issue was the resort's restaurant was ridiculously over- priced, I are breakfast, with a Bloody Mary, which cost $40, US dollars. I did not eat breakfast there again. We went into town and bought groceries, and cooked in our beautiful kitchen in our room. I would like to give a big thanks to Larry, for going above and beyond his call of duty to make us feel welcome and being as informative as he was! I definitely recommend trying the restaurants along the beach, Capricorn, rendezvous, and The O, along with others we did not have time to eat at. Also, in San Pedro there are tons of great places to eat. Definitely try the tuff enuff guys for all of your excursions, they were awesome, and a lot of fun to be around, and extremely helpful and patient. I personally haven't been out of the country before, my husband has, but for my first time, I could not have asked for better! He also feels that this will be a trip we will repeat! Thanks to all of the staff at coco beach resort!

Room Tip: I would definitely get a room with a kitchen, saves money on eating out all the time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candace S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flowery Branch, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Just back from Coco Beach Resort and can't say enough good thing about this place. Amazing 2 bedroom suite right on the beach, close to the pool and bar. The staff and, in general, everyone we met on this island were very friendly and helpful. This made the trip worth it, but that wasn't enough. The food here is great, drinks are some of the best and service is over the top. I would recommend anyone thinking of going to Belize to check out Coco beach, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in room A1 just four step and a you are on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wegesin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
6.0 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
4.3 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.4 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
1.9 mi away
Matachica Resort & Spa
Matachica Resort & Spa
#8 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Beach Resort

Property: Coco Beach Resort
Address: PO Box 1 | San Pedro Town, Ambergris Caye, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye xxxxx, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#10 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Coco Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning waterfront Coco Beach Resort is located on the island of Ambergris Caye, Belize, 3.5 miles north of San Pedro Town and the island's only airstrip. Resort guests can expect a subtropical climate, Palm trees, Coconuts, and the island's most incredible free form swimming pool and swim up bar reserved for the exclusive use of our registered guests. Luxurious accommodations, great staff, complimentary kayaking, paddle boarding and weekday water aerobics, various food and beverage options, on call spa services, complimentary WIFI in public areas and onsite vacation planning/concierge service ensure an unforgettable vacation experience. A team of dedicated reservations professionals are available to plan your stay as well as your transfers from the Belize International airport to the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coco Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Beach Hotel San Pedro
Coco Beach San Pedro
Coco Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing