We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coco Beach Resort Honeymoon Perfection”
Review of Coco Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coco Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Coco Beach Resort Honeymoon Perfection”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We went to Coco Beach Resort for our honeymoon during the first 2 weeks of October, and the words "perfection" and "luxury" aren't enough to describe this experience. The resort is gorgeous, with freshly manicured sand grounds, clear blue pools of many shades that are almost as gorgeous as the ocean, and architecture that is simply beautiful. We stayed for 14 days, and by the end we just wanted to live there. We were in Casita 1, and while this was hurricane season, there were only a few rainy periods and it was nice to just spend some time in the luxury of our Casita during those times. Other cloudy days opened up to sunny skies, and it was the most beautiful experience of my life.

The staff is amazing. Every single person behind the bar was awesome. They are so fun, and everyone is so accommodating - they define "above and beyond". Service is taken to a level beyond 5 starts at this resort. The recommendations for local food in San Pedro were amazing.. I am now a lover of pupusas, a dish from El Salvador that we had at Pupuseria Tipico Salvadoreno. Amazing. The best part is that the staff was genuinely kind, and we became friends during our stay. Darrell, you were the best, I wish we could have hung out in San Pedro one night as friends. I couldn't possibly ask for more from a resort staff. Our every need was met, and I have never had better or more courteous service on a luxury vacation.

The grounds are so well-kept they are breathtaking. I have photos that look like I was in the movie The Land Before Time. It is just the most amazing place I've been on earth. The ocean water is crystal clear and only 10-15 feet deep all the way out to the reef, so kayaking in the ocean is not only easy and peaceful, but you can see straight down to the sea floor. The pools are kept so clean that they are as worthy of photos as the ocean - thank you to Larry the pool guy ;) Also thank you for the sand art - Krista + Kevin :)

Our room was perfection.. I could live there. A few notes for those who are picky like me with travel.. the air conditioning worked perfectly, which we needed since the days reached 100 degrees. The beds are extremely comfortable, the kitchen has a water filtration system in the fridge, and is fully stocked with everything you need (glassware, plates, blender, etc.). It was always clean, and simply beautiful. I really wish I could just live in Casita 1 forever...

We 100% want to return to this resort.. my husband Kevin and I had such a good time, and being here made us want to live there and become locals. With a mother as a travel agent growing up I have been many places, from Aruba to Costa Rica to Hawaii, and everywhere in between. From the food to the people to the scenery, the only word I can think of to describe this experience is perfection. I cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krista H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,015
    232
    54
    19
    7
See reviews for
370
689
25
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed here for just over a week with a group of friends in a two bedroom unit. From the minute we stepped onto the dock the staff was incredibly accommodating and the resort was stunning. Amazing facilities and service and so close to the beautiful town of San Pedro, Coco Beach was the perfect getaway and one of the best trips my friends and I have ever taken. Highly recommend Coco Beach to anyone!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the resort offer incredible views while giving you added privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Petergrant_1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed five nights during Thanksgiving week at the 1-bedroom casita. From the time they greet you (after picking you up at the airport and helping you get on the water taxi) at the pier, take you to the reception and your room I was impressed. As time went by it only got better. The staff was very professional, friendly, knowledgeable and always happy to help. The bartenders were great. Breakfast staff was fantastic, greeting us on a first name basis! The place is beautiful: two extra large pools (although one was being remodeled to include warm water in the "swim bar", coffee shop, restaurant, bar at the beach and at the pool. Location is convenient, just a 15-min ride to town by water taxi. They also have snorkeling gear and free kayaks.

Room Tip: Casitas are great (up to four people, one bed and one pull-out sofa) and they also have regular cond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ManyPlacesToGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We just returned from a ten day visit to Belize, staying at the Coco Beach Resort on Ambergris Caye. We were moved from a room near construction, to a third floor two bedroom villa and had wonderful ocean and pool views. The location of the resort was great. We enjoyed snorkeling daily. The resort offers complimentary use of their kayaks and we used them every day to go out to the reef, tie off on one of several buoys, and snorkel for two to three hours. The water is WARM!! About 85 degrees or so. The visibility was good. We saw sting rays and eagle rays most every day we snorkeled. Try humming (they liked listening to "Away In A Manger"!!--"tis the Christmas season!!) and the eagle rays will come close. Jamal was in charge of the kayaks. Always ready with a smile--he was great!! We went on one tour with Searious Tours in San Pedro: Hol Chan Reserve and Shark Alley (nurse sharks and rays). Their $25 tour cost was reasonable and really fun!! The nice, beautiful restaurant (Cocoblanca) at the resort was VERY, VERY pricey. We would recommend Captain Morgan's for dinners instead. Much more reasonable. The bed at the resort was very comfortable. I think all the rooms probably have memory foam mattresses. Really nice!! The large swimming pool was great. They have an island with a water slide and various spots to jump off the island into the ten foot deep water. The ocean is MUCH warmer than the pool!!! Bring plenty of mosquito repellant. The mosquitos are a bit of a problem with all the rain the area is getting. We would highly recommend Coco Beach Resort. The service is great. The rooms are great. The location is great!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SanDiegoTahoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My husband and I traveled to Belize for our one year anniversary. Unfortunately we didn't do much research before arriving and didn't know that once we landed in Belize City we needed to purchase an additional plane ticket at the BC airport to get us from BC to San Pedro....so we ended up taking a 20 min taxi ride to a dock that took us on about an hour and a half water taxi ride to San Pedro where the resort finally picked us up and took us on a 10 min ride to our beyond beautiful resort. Upon arriving, we were taken aback by the breath taking sight of Coco Beach. We were greeted by the manager at the dock and were escorted through the property to the lobby where they had rumpunch waiting for us.

The property and staff made our stay wonderful. Jeff was our favorite bar tender. He remembered our names and drinks each time we were around. He also gave us many suggestions on places to go and things to do.

If you're looking for a beach that you can actually access this is not the place for you. They have turtle/ sea grass which makes the beach inaccessible. It appears to be slippery and slimy so we didn't even try. The only place we were able to get in the beach was Xtan Ha...it was about 15 mins away.

We also took a tour of the ruins - Lamanai *Beware* take lots of bug spray and be prepared to spend your whole day traveling. The trip goes like this- 10 min water taxi to San Pedro, 20 mins propeller ride to BC, hour- hour and a half to the dropping point at the river (it's literally under a tagged bridge that is a little scary), then about an hour boat ride to Lamanai. Once you get there it is totally worth it. Plus, the tour guide provides an authentic home cooked Belizean meal.

Other than that we took full advantage of the pool and swim up bar. We did eat at the restaurant at the resort but it was rather expensive so we tried to go to San Pedro for meals as much as possible. One of our favorite places was Palapa.

Had Coco Beach had beach access I would haven given this resort TWO 5 stars .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank NRVilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Coco Beach Resort for the first time in Belize and the resort. It was our 10 year anniversary and being world travelers, it was by far the best vacation. The hotel, food, staff, and location was absolutely phenomenal. The resort is spectacular, clean and new. The staff, island natives and other vacationers were so nice and welcoming, we felt like they were all family.

The diving was incredible, the food is out of this world and we felt safe everywhere went...which is a big plus. We are currently looking to purchase a condo so that we can become part of the community. We already have our 2014 plans for a two week vacation in the same location.

Room Tip: There are no tips - you cannot go wrong in any of the rooms/suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belizebound2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We just returned from four nights at Coco Beach (early November). Overall, a lovely place to stay and an enjoyable part of our vacation.

The property is lovely: rooms are spacious and comfortably appointed, the grounds are beautiful and the beachfront setting is very nice. The two saltwater pools are the highlight of the resort. Service was excellent, from the front desk staff to the bartenders -- very friendly, prompt and efficient. There was some construction going on during our stay, but we were put in a room a sufficient distance away so weren't bothered by it. Free water taxi transfers to/from the ferry dock or airport and the resort on arrival and departure were a nice plus. We did several days of diving with Tuff E-Nuff tours (on site dive/tour operator) and were pleased with their services as well.

Only major complaint is the food and beverage service. Coco Beach's restaurant and bar were a disappointment in terms of quality and value. We ate breakfast there one morning and lunch on two days and were really underwhelmed by each, particularly given the price the restaurants charge for meals. As with many resorts, too much focus on standard Western food and not enough local cuisine ... all overpriced and done with mediocre execution. Drinks were also expensive, small and weakly prepared. Had the food/beverage service on the resort been better we'd have been inclined to do our eating and drinking there, but we were inclined to leave the resort for meals, bringing our own food back for breakfasts and leaving for lunch and dinner.

In sum, Coco Beach is a lovely place to stay, but be prepared to buy a water taxi pass and head into San Pedro town for meals or explore other options within walking distance (the Lazy Croc is a great BBQ spot that's about a 15-20 minute walk south, or El Fogon is good for local food in town).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arodriquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
6.0 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
3.1 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 54 in San Pedro
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 54 in San Pedro
790 reviews
0.8 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
451 reviews
0.4 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 54 in San Pedro
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Beach Resort

Property: Coco Beach Resort
Address: PO Box 1 | San Pedro Town, Ambergris Caye, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye xxxxx, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#10 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Coco Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning waterfront Coco Beach Resort is located on the island of Ambergris Caye, Belize, 3.5 miles north of San Pedro Town and the island's only airstrip. Resort guests can expect a subtropical climate, Palm trees, Coconuts, and the island's most incredible free form swimming pool and swim up bar reserved for the exclusive use of our registered guests. Luxurious accommodations, great staff, complimentary kayaking, paddle boarding and weekday water aerobics, various food and beverage options, on call spa services, complimentary WIFI in public areas and onsite vacation planning/concierge service ensure an unforgettable vacation experience. A team of dedicated reservations professionals are available to plan your stay as well as your transfers from the Belize International airport to the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Coco Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Beach Hotel San Pedro
Coco Beach San Pedro
Coco Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing